Smart Media Group : Studio Update

in #smartmediagroup6 years ago (edited)

IMG_3111.JPG

: Smart Media Group Studio Tour :

Welcome to my Smart Media Group studio update. I'll jump into my current gear list and setup I'll be using to craft my upcoming songs. My home studio has evolved a lot on the last 2 years, I'm really happy with the current setup and the expansions it can bring in the near future. Enjoy the tour !

my seporatar.png

: Novation Impulse 49 :

IMG_3115.JPG

The Novation Impulse 49 is the main controller of my setup. Allowing full customization of the knobs, buttons and slidders. The keybed can even be split into 3 zones for playing multiple synths at the same time. The Impulse 49 gives me FULL control of all my hardware and software synthesizers. Allowing multiple presets to saved and recalled quickly, it's perfect for live shows or bedroom setups.

my seporatar.png

: Roland Boutique JU-06 & SH01-A :

IMG_3118.JPG

My dual Roland Boutique stand houses the JU-06 and SH01A. The remakes of the classic 80's based Roland synthesizers that took over the electronic music scene. These remakes to amazing work of bringing retro sound to modern producers. The small size allows extremely easy portability.

I'm a huge fan of the Roland Boutique line but feel I choose the 2 best Boutiques for my music. The JU-06 shot up in value after being cut from production and I feel the SH-01A has the same potential. Many of these Roland Boutiques are limited to a 1 year print cycle, so grab them while you can if your interested in one.

my seporatar.png

: Korg Minilogue :

IMG_3129.JPG

The Korg Minilogue is the brainchild of Tatsuya Takahashi, who created the Korg Volca series. Korg came in with a killer analogue synthesizer for the price tag. I recommend external delay and effects, the internal delay is a tad noisy. Once you get some clean, external effects on this monster it really takes off.

Having the majority of the controls on the front panel is really big for live performance, I tend to play the Minilogue live over prerecorded sequences.

my seporatar.png

: Korg Microkorg :

IMG_3117.JPG

Korg made a killer synthesizer for the price tag when creating the Microkorg. People have a love or hate relationship with this budget synthesizer but the fact it's lasted 20 years of productions means it's stood the test of time. The Microkorg can be found on stages and in studios around the world.

The diversity and sound quality of the Microkorg is hard to match for the price tag. The Microkorg is my go to synthesizer for bread and butter or pad sounds but it can really be used to create almost anything you want for your music productions.

my seporatar.png

: Teenage Engineering OP-1 :

IMG_3123 (1).JPG

Teenage Engineering OP-1 is a swiss army knife synthesizer, sampler and multi track recorder. Sporting multiple synthesizer engines, effects, sample engines, 4 track recorder and 10+ hours of battery life. The Teenage Engineering OP1 is a true portable powerhouse.

It's unique and quirky work flow is refreshing in a world of remakes and clones. I like how it stands alone and doesn't try to copy th paste in any traditional sense. I tend to use the sampling capabilities in my music and jams.

my seporatar.png

: Korg Gadget iOS :

IMG_3130.JPG

Korg Gadget has become my main sequencer and creates the center pieces of my music. I made my last 2 albums 100% on Korg Gadget with a few dashes of the Microkorg. My next album I'll start to mix Korg Gadget heavily with my hardware to create a broader mix of sound.

Korg Gadget is a powerhouse groovebox and I'd argue it's one of the most powerful music creation devices I've ever touched. The variety of Gadgets, effects and pure sequencing power makes Korg Gadget perfect for newbies and exprienced electronic artist.

my seporatar.png

: Yamaha MG10XU :

IMG_3119.JPG

Yamaha MG10XU is the mixer than brings my audio together and allow me to mix my live streams. This is my first hardware mixer and I'm impressed with quality and sound. I enjoy the built in effects and get no extra noise from the inputs. Yamaha created a great product at a great price, great for bedroom musicians and performing artist.

my seporatar.png

: Scarlett Focusrite 18i8 :

IMG_3125.JPG

The Scarlett Focusrite 18i8 is the final stop for all my audio connections. Focusrite created a top notch product which allows me to hook up all my hardare, midi and iPad together. I use the Scarlett 18i8 and Apple iPad Pro to multi track all my audio via Auria Pro.

blackAir2.jpg

my seporatar.png

: ESQ1 & CZ3000 :

IMG_3127.JPG

Both these amazing 80's vintage synthesizers need stands. I plan to invest in stands very soon. I miss playing with them on a daily basis.

: Thank You :

Thank you for taking the time to check out my setup, I hope you enjoyed the little tour. Please feel free to ask any questions you might have about my setup or music. Your support is amazing and has changed my life forever, I can't thank the blockchain enough for this life changing technology.

my seporatar.png

: Discord Links :

Smart Media Group Join Smart Media Group today and connect with other fellow Steemit based artist and musicians. Many are full time blockchain and pushing the limits of the technology.

SMG Discord - https://discord.gg/NZx5gC3

Nothing But Dirt Join Nothing But Dirt is a Steemit based record label for electronic artist and musicians. Feel free to join today and connect with fellow synthesizer heads.

NBD Recods Discord - https://discord.gg/Em8Dj4F

my seporatar.png

DQmbDJgVnmS7VfGNZY73eYFt4TWGJJhsDBiRAtmurYR9X7f.png

Sort:  

Looks like a good time. :) Interesting that you record to iPad, is that what you use for all of your media production?

Yes, iPad is always used to capture audio when recording any audio at this point. Thank you for taking the time to check out the video broskies.

You betcha. That's cool, I've gotta admit it still kinda blows my mind that you can essentially hold a studio in your hands these days. :)

great setup worthy of a great artist.

Thank you very much for the awesome words my good friend. You stay safe.

most welcome brother :)

You are doing well with your studio. You shred some photos of the studio. The photos are really amazing.

Thank you ! Glad you enjoyed the post and photos. You have a amazing day my friend.

Really inspiring setup. So many toys to play around with!

Thank you ! Glad you enjoy the setup, it's very fun =)

Wow buddy. You have done great!
Looks fantastic.
That's how I roll
I will find peace someday.
Sick sounds bru.
1.jpg

Even with all my gear , sometimes he most simple setups will bring th best music. The person makes the music, not the gear. Love the simple setup !

I have advanced to an interface now and use Studio 1 which is my daw.. I cant even loop a drum beat with the drum sample pack I bought.
The beats don't match with the 4 count when I paste them ..
I am secretly dying inside my friend. I crave the knowledge and set up you have. :(
Will push on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89