The Beginning of Triangle Shaped Neighborhood Block

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

For me, this building is full of memories and not just a beginning of triangle shaped neighborhood block that stretches behind it, and this was one of the first shots that I took with my Samsung Galaxy S9+ smartphone a few months ago when I got it.

The Building on Burza Square at Zagreb, Croatia

The building is located on so-called Burza (Marketplace) square, just about two minutes walk from the main (Zagreb) city center square. It was designed by architect Viktor Kovačić, one of the greatest architects of modern Croatian architecture, and was built in 1927.

Back then, the idea of the architects of physical planning was that the building together with its twin-building across the street on its left side would create a monumental door to the new Zagreb.

Today, we call New Zagreb the southern part of the city across the river Sava while this area is considered as a core center. Therefore, it's hard to imagine for us today that those twin-buildings with a street in between them might create the entrance to some new Zagreb, the area behind it that was almost entirely unpopulated at that time or even just a corn fields (as my Granny told me once).


Marketplace Square at Zagreb, Croatia

At the time when I was a little girl, a Ministry of Education, Sports, and Culture where my mom worked has been located in the building. The triangle shaped water fountain hasn't been there at the time. It's a more recent decorative addition of city authorities. But despite that, I loved that building.

I loved the creaking sound of the parquets in its long halls in some parts covered with long carpets. I loved to run through them although I was strictly forbidden to do so by my mom. But, it was so tempting for me that despite the possible consequences I grabbed every chance when she was not paying close attention. I was only 4 or 5 years old.

Another great thing for me was the numerous doors placed on both sides along those long corridors. Each of them was, to me, the entrance to some undiscovered mystery world. And, of course, I had to open them and find out what's behind. I loved that scrooping sound of the door opening that would reveal that hidden mystery to me.

Do I have to say that my mom was furious when I was doing that, apologizing to the colleagues sitting in those rooms behind the doors, along the way, trying to catch me?! Through time I got quite skilled and fast, so it wasn't an easy task for my mom. And of course, I would get penalized afterward, but it was worth it.

But in that building was another thing I was most fascinated with. It was the old wooden elevator with the special two doors (inner and outside one) and those so tempting to be pushed small white buttons with some fancy font black numbers above. I was rigorously strict forbidden to use it alone.

In contrary to the ban for running through the corridors, this one I took seriously. But longing to make the ride, I was able to stay in front of it for hours. I was watching it going up and down and waiting for someone who would stop at my floor or come to take a ride when I would beg that someone to pick me with on some other upper or lower level where I would repeat the whole process all over again.

Divider

These are just some fragments of the picture that I tried to paint for you trying to describe why this building is so special to me.


(I would like to use the (second) above photo (the vertical one) as my entry for the following @juliank's photography contests #smartphonephotography, #architecturalphotography, and #streetphotography.)

Categories:smartphonephotography
architecturalphotography
streetphotography
F-stop:f/2.4
Exposure time:1/300 sec.
ISO speed:ISO-50
Focal length:4 mm
Max aperture:1.16
Camera:Mobile phone: Samsung Galaxy S9+
Camera Model:SM-G965F
Location:Zagreb - Croatia

Photos source:
My own photo, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S9+ mobile phone. ~ © 2018 AMS - steemit.com/@ana-maria ~ All rights reserved!


Posted on Saturday, August 11, 2018


SteemitBoard Ana-Maria Personal Badges

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.85$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-11T09:49:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 50.00/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 11
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post has received a 8.26 % upvote from @boomerang.

I think it is great they keep buildings like this in good shape. Making it even a more interesting spot by adding the fountain shows they really care about their old buildings. Great shots.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17