Home Away From Home | Of ULOGs, Travelogue, Life & Photography

in #smartphonephotography6 years ago (edited)

Hoàn Kiếm, Ha Noi
Vietnam 2015
ULOG Series #005

"Never have I once thought that I'd be spending more than a month in a foreign country like you. But you have become my home away from home. You have welcomed me with so much warmth and comfort yet I can sense your subtle hostility. You have mystified me in so many different ways, humbled me, challenged me. Oh VIETNAM, no wonder my father speaks fondly of you. I will never give up, I will unravel your mystery. "

These were my very words when I first set foot in a country I have never even dreamt of visiting. However, with my flaming urge to wander this beautiful world, I found myself responding to an invitation of a Philippine friend who at that time was working as an ESL teacher in Vietnam.

cyclo1.jpg

The cyclo. I rode one and was charged 500,000.00 VND - LOL

Prior to the trip, I did an extensive research and also considered accounts of travel bloggers and vloggers alike. Hanoi can be very overwhelming at first, as they say - make or break, hit or miss! As the trip was approaching, I started reading horrible things about Vietnam, especially the Northern parts. Other travel bloggers were either in love with the country (That Backpacker, Legal Nomads), or listing it as definitely not their favorite destinations (Nomadic Matt, Chasing the Unknown, Alex in Wanderland). According to Anna of Anna Everywhere, she won't be visiting Hanoi, ever again.


pix3.jpg

Cộng Cà Phê, 101 Vạn Phúc, Liễu Giai, Ba Đình, Hà Nội

Truth behold, my first impression wasn't all that positive, in fact, I became depressed as the days went by. The rocks of reality hit me hard, I was in a foreign country and I had to somehow deal with the culture shock and language barrier. For a while there, I thought it would just be a walk in the park because I am just another Asian in another Asian country. After a 2-month love and hate relationship with Vietnam, I decided to give it another try. But first, I had to go back home to the Philippines and contemplate.

So Why Did I Come Back To Vietnam?


pix5.jpg

Winter, Hoàn Kiếm Lake

While there is much criticism on this place, still I have had an overall fantastic 2 month-experience nonetheless. Plus, I wanted to experience life in a way most people never will. I know Vietnam's got a lot to offer, so I made a list.

  • Awesomely breathtaking UNESCO World Heritage Sites
  • Delectable, mouthwatering & affordable Vietnamese food
  • Fresh herbs, lots and lots of herbs at dirt cheap price
  • Beautiful city parks
  • Fashion and art
  • Fairly fast Internet connection, reasonably priced data packages too

But what really piqued my interest and pushed me to move in this remarkably good of a country - COFFEE & PEOPLE. Don't get me started on coffee, just like what I have said on my previous blogs, I smell caffeine, I breathe caffeine! If ever I’d get sick and be confined, I’d tell the nurse to let caffeine run into my intravenous veins. Vietnam is just definitely coffee heaven.


kape.jpg

All through the country, one can find modern and traditional quaint cafes serving strongly brewed coffee at rock bottom prices. From a coffee lover to another I highly recommend the following:

  • cà phê đá - Vietnamese iced coffee
  • cà phê sữa đá - strong dark coffee + condensed sweetened milk + ice
  • bạc xỉu - condensed sweetened milk + ice + lit bit of coffee
  • cà phê trứng - egg yolks+ sugar + condensed milk + robusta coffee
  • sữa chua cà phê - yogurt + a splash of condensed milk + strong Vietnamese coffee + ice

And my all time favourite (drum roll please) - cà phê cốt dừa, rich coffee with condensed milk and coconut milk and ice.


CongCapheNguyen-1.jpg

My first cà phê cốt dừa

If you are interested in getting that one of a kind, amazing caffeine jolt, visit Vietnam to get your fix. FYI unlike any other, Vietnam is the second largest producers of coffee in the world! Need I say more?

Moving on, the very reason I stayed in this wonderful country up to this very moment is, its people. I know for a fact that this country that has hosted me for 3 years now (well 3 years this 16th of June) has a very low return rate. Vietnam can be a very challenging country to travel, yet if you take time to really appreciate it, this country will love you back tenfolds! I am lavish in my praises, YES! I have met a lot of amazing humans in this country and I admire them all for their TENACITY, RESILIENCE, and CAMARADERIE.


HN2.jpg

Dear Steemians, I hope these photos were visually entertaining to you all. In closing, “If in our daily life we can smile, if we can be peaceful and happy, not only we, but everyone will profit from it. This is the most basic kind of peace work.” ― Thich Nhat Hanh

This is my photo entry for @juliank’s and @photocontests #smartphonephotography challenge.

Sort:  

Hi @fotografia101, you have received an upvote from Adam.Tran. I'm the Vietnamese Community bot developed by witness @quochuy and powered by community SP delegations.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-10T04:59:42
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 292.50/200.00
Total Photos: 45
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Ang ganda ate @fotografia101! Parang gusto ko na tuloy baliin ang pangako kong hindi lalabas ng bansa hangga't hindi ko napupuntahan ang lahat ng isla ng Pilipinas.

Huhu @romeskie Ang busy Ng buhay ko ngayon kasi Steemit Meetup dito.

Kaya pala hindi kita gaano nakita nang mga ilang araw. Sana mamaya makasali ka pa rin sa pinoy henyo. :-)

Uu nga pati discord Waley na. Pagkatapos nito. Kusina Sunday pa ngayon? @romeskie

Excellent post, my friend! Very informative and nicely written... First and fourth photos are my favorites... And i'm a coffee lover too!! You have to come to Venezuela our coffee is great!

@tupamalo in the near future, I will. I love to explore South America but I need to save first. The culture is so beautiful. Muchas Gracias my friend. Have you got your photographer's role already?

Well, you know you already have home, family and cameras in Venezuela when you decide to come... I'm not photographer yet

We felt similar about Vietnam. Our plan was to stay for 91 days but we ended up there for 6 month Are you still there?

Yes, I am still here in Vietnam @for91days

Intrigued more about Vietnam.. Can u host me if I visit Vietnam? Hehehehe..

Sure - it's a picturesque city I tell you. @wdoutjah

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

So there are many things wanna say. Firstly that rickshaw guy was bad lol.
From your perspective I suddenly think probably for expat in VN their either “hate-to-die” or “addicted-to-die” right? Lol I guess you had the transition in between. You experienced it all lmao!
You too experience something I have never done even I’m a local. Maybe now I don’t deserve a Viet passport :P
Your photos were great, as always!

You are so lavish in praises @adam.tran, I now declare you my true internet friend. LOL. A friend told me once, if you love Hanoi, Hanoi will love you back, true to his words - am in love with Hanoi. I love my country - yes! But there are things I can get here that I cannot get there. I wish Cong Caphe has a Steemit account, they would see that I have been using all their branches as my office. LOL.

Lmao soon ! They, I mean many of them will join ! We will see, let enjoy the calm before the storm hitting :D

Nice shots! Vietnam is on my bucket list and you've just made the yearning to go stronger!

@rayshiuimages it's a very picturesque country.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27