Exploring Los Angeles: crazy diagonal crossing in Santa Monica

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

When I figured out today´s theme for the #smartphonephotography contest hosted by @juliank is "crosswalks", I knew immediately what photo I would go for.

IMG_20180317_111111.jpg

Click on the image for full view

This is easily the craziest crosswalk I have ever seen (and walked on). As you can tell by the sign in the left, this place is located in Santa Monica, just before the entrance to the famous Santa Monica Pier.

I had never really seen such a complex and unusual crosswalk before and since I am a curious person, I had to google what it was. I found out this type of crosswalk is called diagonal crossing but it is known by many other names too, depending on the country or region. Some other names of this crossing include pedestrian scramble, scramble corner, x-crossing, barnes dance etc.

What makes this type of crosswalk different from regular, non-diagonal crossings is that with this crossing, all vehicular traffic is stopped temporarily, allowing pedestrians to cross the intersection in every direction at the same time. When I saw the masses of people start moving in all directions, it looked a bit chaotic to me but I think it can actually work pretty well.


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Pretty cool. I almost didn’t recognize the entrance to Santa Monica Pier. This was one of my hangout spots as a teenager. That's a different look Great photo

Thanks! Growing up in this area must have been awesome :)

I just watched a YouTube Facebook video about these and how they are safer. But man, that paint job would give me a headache! 😵
(I just went looking for it on YouTube and I was mistaken, lol)

I believe these crosswalks can really be safer as with them, the whole car traffic stops for a while so that everyone can cross the street safely but they just look crazy! And yeah, I wouldnt want to be the one to paint them! :D

Nice insanity ;-). I can live the confusion of Czech drivers if they would meet something like this :-D
Pěkná šílenost ;-). Dovedu si živě představit zmatek českých řidičů, pokud by něco podobného potkali na našich cestách :-D

To jo, byl by to dobrý aprílový žertík nebo scénka pro skrytou kameru :D

Chodci by to nějak zvládli. Ovšem řidiči by asi byli lehce (spíše hodně) vyvedeni z míry ;-)

Didn't see or notice that funny crossing when I was there. Haha :)

Haha, I think because there are so many other things and attractions to draw you attention in Santa Monica :) Thanks for stopping by!

That certainly does look chaotic @phortun. I@ve never actually seen a crossing like that. But, if it works, it works.

Great entry for the smartphotography contest! 😊

Thanks Gillian :) You dont have these in the UK? Cause there are some British names for these too :)

I've never seen one @phortun but that doesn't mean there aren't any. 😁

Vypadá to jako pěkný chaos :-) Veřím, že řidiči určitě zpomalí, když to vidí :-)

Jo, bylo vidět, že jsou na to zvyklí :) Ani chodcům to nepřišlo divné :)

To v ČR by byli v šoku :-)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-12T08:27:45
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1593.56/1600.00
Total Photos: 135
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations @phortun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30