Venice Beach Canals

The Venice Beach Canalsdate back to 1905 after developer Abbot Kinney visited Venice, Italy. Venice Beach was originally named Venice of America

Yesterday afternoon was time for a much-needed haircut. A beautiful day here in Southern California, so I decided to reduce my carbon footprint and bike it there. On my way I passed the Venice Canals. Venice Beach is known for many things including being the mural capital of the world, street performers, strange street names like Ozone, culture, musicians, shops, fortune tellers, surfers, basketball, skateboarders, muscle beach (Gold’s Gym, Arnold Schwarzenegger), gangs, homeless and the Canals.

Eastern Canalfacing South.

VBCanal1.jpg
Click image to view full size.

Eastern Canalfrom the bridge facing North.

VBCanalB.jpg
Click image to view full size.

Carroll Canalfrom the bridge facing East.
VBCanalA.jpg
Click image to view full size.

After my haircut, I came upon the actual Venice Beach Clownthat performs on the boardwalk biking to work.
Clwn.jpg
I tried getting a closer shot, but he thought (correctly) that I was following him and sped up.

Please visit @phortun and @liltammy who have great blogs on Venice Beach/Santa Monica and many other interesting places around the world.

Thank you for visiting and please comment
(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit).
(© 2018 @armentor. All rights reserved.)

Sort:  

I'v seen that clown with you! Too fckn funny!!! Great shots of the canals... don't you have better ones? Oh... and ur haircut looked great last night.

Yes that is the one that was by the VBL games this past summer. He has been performing there for maybe a decade. Very impressed how he reduces his carbon footprint by biking to work ;)

Only in VB do you have a clown being green. He prob gets his coffee from groundworks coffee!

Wow, I didnt even know about these canals! It looks very... well... Venice-like :D Beautiful place. And thanks for the nice mention my friend! :)

Its quite an interesting story about Venice Beach. There were many more canals that were filled in during the late 1920's mostly because of the automobile (also difficult to maintain). If you recall when visiting Venice that sometimes there were random wide roads for no particular reason, those were likely canals that were filled in. Check this out Original Venice Canals

Wooow. I had no idea. I just always wondered why they named it Venice. Now I know :) Thanks!

I never knew of this @armentor and it seems that it is a good place to have a boat ride and enjoy the beautiful scenery because of the neatness of the canal.

Yes it is quite interesting and many don't realize how these canals and Venice Beach got its name. There were much more canals but were filled in with dirt during the late 1920's mostly because of the automobiles.
Check out this links in my blog above and this Original Venice Canalslink for some of the history.

Wow!! So beautiful and mesmerising place with awesome photography @armentor💙❤💙

Thank you!

I would love to kayak there!

Of course you would!

Amazing place! :)))

Thank you. I'm fortunately to live in this a weird, beautiful place.

Oh, you woke up in European Venice? :D Yeah, we have to came back, how could we miss this place.. ?!
And also like your paparazzi photo, it makes me laugh :D
Thanks a million for mention me in your post, @armentor;)

You're welcome. Many miss the canals as they are kinda hidden and there is so much more to see in VB, SM, Malibu, LA, Hollywood..... not to mention the traffic!

now this is a morning view one should have, waking up :D 💥🐉🐉💗hm Ozone as my adress? nja no tnx ha ha
Anywaysers, great pix set & happy you got a good haircut :)

Thank you! And yes the haircut came out great :)

Imagine living nearby it would be a dream come true so nice to see this place through your blog post :) excellent shots :D

Thank you! I'm fortunate to live is such a place and enjoy sharing what nature give us.

Wow.... Very lovely post...and... Awesome photography..my dear lovely friend armentor...love you 👉😊

Thank you very much for your kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21