A (Smoker's) Paradise Lost

in #smoking6 years ago

shmokin.png

For the second time in a little over 12 months, I have given up smoking. The first attempt went OK, however my girlfriend also smokes and seeing as I gave up out of the blue, I didn't really expect her to do it with me.

On top of that I was fairly relaxed about the whole thing, I thought I would smoke the odd one now and again, but the day-to-day smoking would stop.

So this time around I am going to make myself a little more accountable and document my progress and hopefully pass on some great tips for others trying to give up as well.

Type Of Smoke

Before we go on you have to realise that the type of smoke I'm talking about is cannabis sativa, otherwise known as hashish or marijuana, maryjane, solid, skunk (though I don't smoke that!), weed, pot, chocolate and a myriad of other names that it delights me to remember!

This is important because I don't smoke tobacco on its own, and thus I probably smoke less than somebody else who considers themselves a regular tobacco smoker.

Healthy Living

Funnily enough, my number one reason is not what it should be, HEALTH!!!

I am blessed/cursed with a metabolism and athletic prowess that I nurtured throughout my early years. I played competitive sports right up until my mid 30s (circa 10 years ago) and in the last couple of years I've started going to the gym again.

Ergo I am fitter than most of my peers, and look around 10-15 years younger than a lot of guys my age (and it's not all because of my full head of luscious hair!!), in fact I'm a lot fitter than guys much younger than me.

I even creamed an entire field of younger dads, at the dads' race at the last sports day.

Okay, so I'm saying all that not (just) to boast, but to illustrate that when it comes to health, I'm a ignore-it-till-it-happens-because-I'm-probably-fine kind of guy.

Day Zero

Yesterday was the first day, it apparently takes 72 hours for nicotine cravings to go away.

I'm ashamed to say I cheated, I saw a friend of mine after meeting up with another (non-smoking) pal. After leaving her I saw my mate and went back to his house, I then discovered a tiny blim of hash in my shorts pocket.

Uh-oh! Sure enough I wrapped up a little doobie, using the hash and a bit of my friend's weed.

The Deflation

I felt pretty low after that, I couldn't even manage 24 measly hours . . .

Oh well, prone to look on the bright side as I am, I realise that this is the perfect motivating tool. There is NO WAY on earth I am going to smoke today.

Techniques

Last night I decided to look at various techniques for giving up smoking. A part of me realises that I should have probably done this before attempting to give up, but hey, that's the kinda guy I am.

Nicotine Patches/Nicotine Gum

Well as I mentioned before, I choose to smoke hashish, however I'm not so naive as to think that just because I don't smoke 'straight' cigarettes, that I'm not addicted to nicotine.

However my addiction is probably not as bad as somebody who smokes a pack of ten everyday. Therefore the thought of introducing a slow-release nicotine mechanism into my own biological system, just doesn't seem right.

Hypnosis (Self or Otherwise)

I will look more into this, self-hypnosis really interests me, and in fact if you read my Incredible You! series, then you'll notice various techniques that fall under the banner of self-hypnosis.

Timing

This is the best advice I read, and I'm glad I followed it before reading!

Essentially you should earmark a specific time for when you are going to give up. So for me, I spent the eight or nine days before knowing that last Monday would be my final one as a smoker.

Cravings

Cravings are tough and whilst I don't really crave to be stoned anymore (except on a Sunday morning when I want to go back to sleep), I definitely get smoke more urges. I have found the best way to deal with these is to acknowledge them and to look at a clock.

This has the effect of quantifying your craving, usually down to a couple of minutes. Without this technique it would feel like I was constantly craving, and it would soon become unbearable.

Death Clock

According to the wonderfully titled Death Clock, I can add roughly another 6 years to my life by quitting smoking.

I personally see a lot of fun in the Death Clock, however if you are the sort of person to take these things seriously, then please steer clear of it, as it will only depress you.

By the way the clock says I'll be about 89.5 if I stop and 83 if I don't. However it doesn't take other things into account like diet, exercise, type of job, genetics, family history, etc. etc. Ergo I know that I will live
for at least another 30 years past that.

Yeah, yeah, I know, but I will OK, I've had two great-grandparents live past 100 and I intend to join them!

Summary

I may or may not write about this again, I just thought it would be a nice read for somebody going through a similar trial, or even thinking about it.

I'm off to the gym now, the craving that I've had for the last 2 minutes or so is wearing off and I'm raring to go!!

Big up the non-smoking Steemians!! (...heck, and the smokers too, I love you all!).

WHAT ABOUT YOU; HAVE YOU GONE THROUGH A SMOKING/NON-SMOKING TRIAL RECENTLY OR OTHERWISE? OR PERHAPS YOU'RE THINKING OF GIVING UP OR HAVE GIVEN UP UNSUCCESSFULLY IN THE PAST? AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Death Clock

Title image: Diana Ashe (no really, that's her name!) on Unsplash

Cryptogee

Sort:  

Yes! I quit smoking cigarettes last August, coming up on a year. The key for me was to attack the habit. I took a week off of everything and made a new habit (hiding in my room). Then, we moved into town and I got an office job. Basically I flipped my life upside down for a few months, then gradually restored certain things as it all shook itself out.

By the time I had some smoking visitors, I was able to agree with myself when I put my foot down about smoking.

Blessings to you, and remember its not about yes or no, its about who's in control.

I concur that hiding in your room, away from the shop and friends that smoke, certainly helps!

G's 'problem' with that is that his missus smokes. Not sure how positive hiding would be here 😂 @cryptogee - any chance of teaming up on this one?

Haha, yes room hiding can be very effective! Although as you point out AB, the missus might put the kibosh on that one... I should have mentioned in the post, she has joined me and has given up too! :-)

Cg

Well that's excellent news!

To be honest I didn't fancy your chances with a smoker in the house, and I'm glad to hear your other half is on the wagon too. Good luck!

Ya, impossible with a smoker in such close proximity, we're in it together though :-)

Cg

I've never failed at giving up something that I decide to give up. Not once.
100% success rate so far...

oh,.... I have never decided to give anything up, either.
😂

As a friend said to me once, 'I've given up giving up, it's going really well' :-)

Cg

good luck! it's really just about self control and reframing how you see smoking. is hrd to quit when you see it as giving up, you need to really despise it and you'll never want it...

Thanks man, it is a bit easier this time, because whilst I still love getting stoned on a Sunday morning, I hated the fact that I had no willpower and that it was getting in the way of my success.

So maybe once I'm a billionaire I'll start again! :-D

Cg

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You’re actually allowed to compete in your kids’ sports day? The school my son goes to won’t run parent events due to insurance issues. Too many injuries during the egg and spoon race I guess

Yup, though I think I'm banned for elbowing the 8 year old's out of the way in the sack race! Lolz, just kidding!!

The fact is I live in England, so people just laugh at you when you say you'll sue them for an injury that's clearly your fault. You have to lose an entire limb before you can think about maybe getting a few grand in compensation :-D

Cg

Yeah I’m English too, which is what surprised me about our son’s school.
I can imagine the adult events getting pretty feisty. There is always that simmering layer of competiveness between some parents even on an average morning dropping their kids off in the playground so an actual sports event must lead to emotions boiling over from time to time.
Anyway, good luck with quitting smoking, imagine how easily you’ll win the parents’ race next year - they’ll probably name the gym after you and if that isn’t incentive to quit, I don’t know what is :-)

What??? That's crazy! It must be a fee paying school no?

I really hope this isn't a sign of things to come, sure it's competitive and sure you might injure yourself, but hey apart from a roll of the eyes from your partner that should be the end of it!

Haha, yes well I'm hoping they actually have the race this year, last year there wasn't time, so my crown is actually from 2 years ago, lolz :-)

Hmm, a gym named after me, I like the sound of that hahahaha

Cg

Nope, regular local infant school.

In fact they decided to delay this year's event because it had rained the day before - completely fine and dry on the day itself. There was a concern that the grass was too slippy - it's England in the summer it's gonna rain!

We are generally really happy with the school but they do seem to have a bee in their bonnets when it comes to sports day. Perhaps a previous incident, who knows?

Maybe I'll get the chance when he moves to Primary school proper. Best get in training ;-)

Ah ok, I didn't pay attention properly earlier, that explains it, an infant school kind of explains it, they tend to be a bit more protective over them.

Once you get past reception in primary the gloves are off! :-D

Cg

suerte al dejar de fumar

Gracias, necisitarle :-)

Cg

Good luck as you continue to move forward on your journey. Giving up anything that has become a natural habit for you over there years can be hard. I don't smoke, so I can't give you any advice in the respect, but I can give you encouragement and tell you it sounds like you are doing great!

Thanks man :-)

Cg

Lol @cryptogee. Over here we call it kpo, kpom, igbo.

I have quit smoking several times and it gets harder everytime. As for Mary Jane, I don't smoke her no more, I either chew or drink nowadays. I don't know if that makes it any better.

I think anything is better than setting fire to something and inhaling the smoke :-)

Cg

I've recently quit caffeine, been clean for almost two months now. Probably nothing compared with the combined nicotine/THC "package", but I still feel it as an achievement.

I want to try (minimum) two months without (significant) artificial sugar as well as (minimum) two months without alcohol as well, but so far I haven't succeeded.

Social pressure is maybe the worst. I decided to quit sugar starting at a specific date, the next day we suddenly got invited to some neighbours for cake ...

Good for you for trying, you will succeed one of these days!!

Thanks, it's turned from 5 minutes at a time, to an hour, to a day; I will do it!! :-)

Cg

my fingers are crossed for you :-))

Thanks, got through a tough day of temptations yesterday... :0)

Cg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16