Smoking can quite easily be beaten, with a little help from a presription drug and true authority

in #smoking5 years ago

Fourteen years ago, after having investigated The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, I received the witness that it was true and felt a compelling desire to be baptized in that church. ( I had been baptized in my old church about ten years prior to that, but soon fell away as I realized that there was no real God/Christ-like authority there; this applied to several other churches which I had also investigated during the past couple of years.) And so after finding the true church I soon felt a compelling need or, desire, to be re-baptized. The only problem was that, in spite of meeting all of the criteria listed by the church, I still failed one, and that was that I was still a smoke. I had, over the years, tried several of those common methods/aids, all to no avail. I then, whilst seeing my doc., mentioned to her how I needed to give the habit up and that I was not coming right, she asked me if I had tried Ziban/Zyban. I replied no, I had not even heard of Ziban. Well, she gave me the script (S 5) and I duly acquired the course of capsuled from the chemist. Due to the high schedule of the med., the chemist was permitted to issue one months supply only and he cautioned me to return before that course was finished to get the second monyth's supply. Well, after two or three weeks, I had quit without any problem and so saw no need to acquire the second course. (also expensive) Big mistake! I was smoking again within a couple weeks. I sheepishly returned to my pretty doctor, who was exemplary in her attempt to not admonish me, and got a repeat of the first course. This time, I returned to the chemist a week before the course was finished - even though I no real desire to smoke - and got the repeat. I have, for the past fourteen years, had absolutely no desire nor even a thought of having a cigarette. I do also believe that my new found motive played a big role as well but, the Ziban definitely removed the craving altogether. I was then, of course, baptized and have been enjoying a much healthier and fulfilling life ever since. Just remember though, for those who try, to collect the second script in time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rockyozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rockyozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87