First Snake of the Year on Fleming Family Farm!

in #snake6 years ago

Gorgeous Gopher Snake!


A bit of excitement this morning. My oldest boy J came running towards the house in full freak out mode. It would seem that he had nearly stepped on this gopher snake which caused the snake to go defensive and possibly strike at him. I haven't gotten a solid answer on whether it struck at him or not. He has not seen many snakes since our area doesn't have a plethora of them.

IMG_20180514_111109506.jpg

The snake was curled up hissing and shaking in the shade of a Pine tree when I got to it. It was pretty agitated seeming and it struck at me once as I walked towards it. Gopher snakes and Garter snakes are the only two types that I have seen and caught on the farm. In the area I have caught a few rubber boas, but the only other snake I know of possibly near by would be rattlesnakes but they tend towards the basin to the west.

IMG_20180514_110704473.jpg

The x marks where the snake was. On the edge of the boys play area. I am more concerned that they don't step on it and hurt it than it harming them. At the top of the image is the trampoline and about 50 ft beyond that is the creek.

IMG_20180514_112029662.jpg

I used a stick to distract the snake so I could pick it up. It is a 3 foot long snake and is solid and healthy looking. The hissing continued unabated for the whole time I had it in my hands.

IMG_20180514_111054837_HDR.jpg

This is the snake hiss video. It was really cool since the entire snake's body would inflate as it hissed and it was curled around my arm.

Both boys got to pet the snake and feel the snake skin. They both were fairly apprehensive but warmed up a good amount once I had a hold of it, despite the snake protesting. Luckily I did not get musked from it. I am not sure if all snakes musk, but I know Garter snakes musk like crazy.

One of the coolest sensations while holding the snake was the tip of the tail kept a constant quivering shake, kind of mimicking a rattlesnake. But the tail felt wild on my arm as the snake wrapped around it.

IMG_20180514_111126561.jpg

I carried the snake to a spot above my garden under a patch of Chokecherry bushes. It is nice lush grass with lots of places for it to go off to that are nicely hidden. I have been having some trouble with gophers so I am hoping this is a good sign for the growing season.

IMG_20180514_111756023.jpg

The snake hiss is so cool. After I let it go it curled back up into defensive position and continued to hiss. I gathered the boys and we left it to wander off into the undergrowth, all the while it continued to hiss.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

This is so cool. Glad the boys got to see and feel the snake. Makes them less fearful of nature. He was hissing because he felt threatened. They can alsoproduce an awful smelling musk. Don't ask...

I'm seriously surprised it did not musk me as pissed as it was displaying. And I'm stoked that the boys got to see it and calm down from freak out mode to calm and interested and petting.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T19:42:36
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 31.05/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Good looking snake!

Excellent!


I have yet to meet that species, but they somewhat remind me of the Fox Snakes we had up in Wisconsin. Maybe if I get out that way one day....

Well we DO have a pretty good number of the homesteading community in the inland northwest so you could always do a whistle stop tour sometime!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27