The most Venomous Snake in Africa - by @mambaman

in #snake6 years ago (edited)

5.jpg
Photo by @mambaman

Africa's most venomous snake. Not to be confused with Africa's most dangerous snake - that title rightly belongs to the fearsome Black Mamba.

The Boomslang (African Tree Snake) - you need slightly less venom to kill a man than the Black Mamba but you are far less likely to be bitten by a Boomslang than a Black Mamba.

This Boomslang in the picture is bleeding as it was being attacked by a bird - a Grey Headed Shrike. This is quite ironic as the Boomslang includes birds in it's diet!

The Boomslangs other prey are lizards, chameleons in particular.

Boomslang come in various color variations:

Brown are often females


img source

Green and black are often males


By William Warby from London, England - Boomslang SnakeUploaded by berichard, CC BY 2.0, Link

The also come in almost black.

img source

Juveniles have the most interesting colouration.

img source

Sort:  
Loading...

There is nothing beautiful than nature

I'm very scared of snakes, so it's interesting to watch them only on the photo

Boomslag Snakes looks so beautiful but too much dangerous, I am also geel Scary from Snakes.

unnamed (1).gif

In the most cases snakes don't do anything to you. They are afraid too. But if they feel threatened they attack.
I follow you now :)

the most deadly snake is a coin that drops value on a day trade when you turn to bite a sandwich lol #humor

im going to just assume you let your elbow drop on the keyboard by mistake lol #humor

followed

Boomslangs are really cute with large eyes, they shy away from people and strike only when provoked. They puff their necks to warn its victim. That even made me like them

You always hear about The Black Mamba, but I have never heard of the Boomslang snake. Its really an amazing looking creature with the the large throat area making it look quite different from other snakes I have seen.

@gavvet, I'm not to be confuse but I get most advance knowledge from you with this title and contents. Now I know boomslang is a most venomous snake. I'll check it more from web. Boomslang has colorful looks. It gives from nature for their attacking mode. Thank you for educative information.

That's very informative post @gavvet. I've heard before black mamba. But never heard Boomslang. My brother follow world geographical project. I think he never heard also Boomslang. I hope to share to him. Best updating.

Very nice work @gavvet. I've set up an automated upvoting bot to reward authentic content like yours on steemit and have added you to the list.

I only knew about black mamba. But Boomslang? Wow amazing... I'll have to do more research about this snake... Beautiful and dangerous.

It is about writing..
It is about reading..
It is about knowing people and their side of the story..
It is about learning..
It is about finding a path to follow..
It is about keeping yourself motivated to write better..
It is about broadening your thinking..
It is about spending your time productively..
It is about making you think from a different perspective..
It is about writing without any expectations of UPVOTES..
Excellent post good analyses thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85