I have a question about Snax Broswer Extension Permissions

in #snax5 years ago (edited)

SNAX.jpg

So, I recently came across Snax an EOS Blockchain fork, that has a browser extension that one needs to install, to monetize their social media like Twitter and Steemit.

But when I read the permissions the Snax Chrome browser extension asks, during the installation process, It raised a doubt in my mind.

As I have highlighted in the image above, the Snax broswer extension asks for "Reading and Modifying data one copy pastes".

So my question is, with this permission, can Snax Read User's clipboard data?

Like if you are copy pasting a password, can Snax read that too?

Then I did a small google search and landed onto this discussion
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic/sessionbuddy-discuss/ZJp9G44MCsc

where a developer is responding to a user who has a similar doubt like me but with a different for a different browser extension.

The developer states that, till the time the permission says "modify data you copy paste" all is OK. The extension cannot read your clipboard.

But, if the permission says "read and modify data you copy paste" then the extension can read your clipboard data.

and here in the case of SNAX the permission says "READ and MODIFY, data you copy paste"

Can someone tell me more about this?

is Snax extension safe or unsafe?

Thanks in advance

@prakashghai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13