The Starting Lines: From Zero To Hero.

in #sndbox6 years ago

Every story has a beginning. Every big story usually starts with something small, that small thing that sparks the way towards more opportunities and the rest are histories. My art journey starts with this piece of artwork, that opened up the portal to the land of opportunity for myself where i'm standing now.

rantai art.jpg

Travel Journals.


I was an active urban sketcher since back in 2008 when i started my architectural studies and my interest in sketching flourished when i started studying abroad in Manchester, UK where i've got the chance to travel around the world and kept journals of my travels through sketches.

forpamphlet3.jpg

Because of my consistency of sharing these photos of sketches through social medias, i've gain so many followers and well known for my travel sketches. I sketch everywhere i go;

From on top of the Eiffle tower in Paris...

...or even into the deepest jungle of Wales.

Photo 17-09-2016, 11 06 44 am.jpg

I will always be sketch ready with my fanny pack with all my tools to get into action for a lightning 15 minutes sketch. My sketches usually only take maximum 30 minutes as don't want to miss a lot of things in my travel too. Taking too much time sketching can lead to reluctant to do it as i might waste a lot of time while at it. For me its just enough to get a glimpse of the environment so that i can remember the place and give myself a solid concentration on the subject of the place i visited.

Spinningfields Manchester, UK. Some from the many example of my sketches.


The First Exhibition.


After 2 years abroad i have to get back to my homeland Malaysia for a year out to work before furthering my Masters, i have already completed few collections of filled sketchbooks from a lot of places ive been.

IMG_0364.PNG

assorted01-01.jpg

This artwork titled 'Urbansketching Assorted 01' was my first ever artwork to get exhibited in an art show. It is a series from some of my most memorable sketches chosen from the pile of sketch photography that i took as soon as ive done my sketch. The significant of these series of photography rather than the scanned version was because i wanted to emphasise that these sketches were done 'there and then' as in live sketch, rather than referring from photographs.

Photo 21-03-2014 12 09 10 am.jpg

These artworks were printed on 3 panels made of aluminium, with the size of 3ft x 3ft of each artwork with a tint of colour to create a feel of contemporary style to it. It was really an experimental piece as originally wanted to print it on canvas but instead, the printing company (which owned by my friend) suggested to try out the new material. And im really glad i did. :)

rantai art 02.jpg

Submitted to an art collective exhibition that focus on promoting amateurs and newbies artist, called the Rantai Art Collective, my artwork piece was selected to be exhibited part of the 2 days event. Being one of the most flashy piece, it attracted so many people.

rantaiart 03.jpg

It came out in the local television morning talkshow..

Photo 31-03-2014 1 08 35 am.jpg

And ive got interviewed by the news..

Photo 21-05-2014 10 00 30 pm.jpg

As per demand from some friends, ive also printed out few limited miniatures of the pieces for sale, it was overwhelming and sold out.


The call from the National Art Gallery.

As the words travel fast, few days after the end of the Rantai Art exhibition, a friend called to tell me that the National Art Gallery had just opened a call for the annual grand Open Show of the year where they gather artworks across the country for a 4 months exhibition. Without thinking so much, i just submit my application with my 30 minutes CV and photos of my artwork.

Honestly, i was just trying my luck without any expectation at all as it was just my 2nd time sending in for exhibition plus, its for the freaking NATIONAL ART GALLERY of MALAYSIA. Who am I kidding right? lol.

balai seni visual 04.jpg

Few weeks after the deadline was closed, i received a call from them telling me my artwork was chosen. I couldnt believe myself...and i thought they must be having to take everyone who applied maybe because it was not many people applied? Or they actually just wanted to encourage newcomers? But when i attend the awarding ceremony, i couldnt believe my eyes that my name were put inline with so many legendary artist in Malaysia! These people are all professionals and well known artists such as Shukor Yahya, Abdul Ghani Ahmad, Johari Ibrahim, Imuda, and many more.

balai seni visual 03.jpg

And thats how with just 2 exhibitions away, i experienced a jump from zero to hero.

From that day onwards, things were going uphill. More and more opportunities opened up for me.

And i started to believe, miracles do happen. :)

selfportrait.gif

Untitled-1.jpg


Footer_kymio.png

Sort:  

From Zero To Hero, Amazing.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Is funny because I enter to this post for the title and the clear reference to Hercules -Favorite Movie Ever- but i got amazed for the storie and the talent.

I feel so glad that you could achived all that, is a great work and finally is in the place that always supossed to be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72