Making Christmas Cards / Flashback to my volunteering days!

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8067.JPG


Art

As you may probably know, I have been posting about my experiences that I have gained during my volunteering in Slovenia. It is nice to remember those days by expressing my never-ending love to volunteering and working with children. Even though I am still working as a professional teacher with lots of students around myself every day, I can say that volunteering is still a part of my life.

Today, I would like to show you some examples of art that our children have created in Slovenia. When the Christmas time came in 2015, it was time to find something which our members can be busy with. As Christmas is more about trees, lights in cities, new year and candies, we decided to have the activity of making Christmas cards which can help children to improve their artistic skills.


IMG_8302.JPG


Creativity

In my opinion, all children are valuable and talented. They just need someone who can show them the way to success. If you don't know how to lead your children in their learning process, they are likely to fail and it doesn't show their fault, it actually shows your fault since you have not managed to use their capacity in a positive way. Art is in their heart and it needs to be revealed.

We gave lots of colorful papers and pencils with some glue etc. The theme was obvious. After having a short talk about their plans for Christmas and asking them what they know about Christmas and new year time, it was time to take action. We asked them to be free as much as they want, there is no limit or boundary in imagination. Thus, if you want your children to be self-confident, you should let them do whatever they want.


IMG_7927.JPG


Imagination

When you have art activities with your children, you help them to widen their world and activate the cells of art in their young bodies. When they had the task, the created lots of amazing works. There are some examples in this post, you are gladly welcome to check them out. For us who are educators, all the works were amazing, because each child is unique and needs to be appreciated.

Our members helped them a bit to show them some different examples so that they can apply in their own works. As they knew that I am from Turkey, they also tried to create one cute postcard for me which shows some design about Turkey. It is really important to be working with them so that they can feel safe and more confident with your presence.


IMG_8070.JPG


Exhibition

As I said before, each art work they create is unique. There isn't no negative feedback as long as they work hard. There is core of art in each child's heart and some wrong comments might kill that core in their heart, so there is no place for competitions which can make some of our children feel down. I think, competition usually leads to unwanted things in learning process.

The last part of the activity was to put their works on the walls so that they could see them every time they wanted. By doing this, you can help them to feel like they are all precious and their works are amazing for everyone in the community. It is an essential things to remember that children always love compliments and they need to be praised with them!


U5dqonZkFubZer84fPySQfd8uQ1R492_1680x8400.png


Education

I will continue to write about my experiences as a volunteer and teacher, so you are welcome to comment my posts and tell me what you think about them.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

What an informative and lovely read. Art is truly one of the ways to get their creative juices flowing. As long as a child works hard, there's no reason for them to fail. I completely agree with that.

Aren't you overworked though? Being a full time teacher and a volunteer teacher can be too much. When do you find time for yourself and your family?

I am not a volunteer at the moment.

Art classes (along with sports) tend to be the most fun for kids, because they have more freedom to do what they want compared to other classes.

The art you showed in the first 2 pictures is really cute.

Cheers!

Our imagination is limitless and doing this kind of thing will enhance someone's art skills specially the children.

I totally agree with you :)

That's nice @teachblogger, I really liked that you took into account the art theme for these days, it's nice to see, as they teach the steemains. God bless you, and thank you for your support.

So good of you to do such amazing volunteer work!

Thank you so much :)

thank you so much for your support ! :)

I thought you are from here when I saw the first pic and what is on it. Because I understand what it says... Ahhh anyway, I love creativity and volunteering! Combination of those 2 things is perfect.

Have a great day man!

Hey, where are you from? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79