Spanish Workshop in Our Youth Center / Flashback to my volunteering days!

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

STA_9279.JPG


Culture

As an educator, I have to admit the fact that I still miss my volunteering days. When I think about those days, I feel like I have improved myself a lot and learned lots of techniques in teaching. If you are a loyal follower of me, you have probably seen my previous posts about workshops we have done during my volunteering in Slovenia. Today, I would like to tell about our Spanish workshop.

Cultural workshops are the best ways to create awareness among children and teenagers. When they learn new cultures and get to know people from other countries, they understand that the world is bigger than they think and diversity is great. My Spanish friend decided to pay a visit to our youth center in Slovenia and of course she had some plans to present an interesting and educational day for our members!


STB_9304.JPG


Quiz

If you want to make your presentation more appealing, you need to create some activities to help children join the presentation. We decided to have a quiz about Spain which is one of the most interesting countries in the world. When you have some activities with children and teenagers, you may need to surprise them with some rewards and you will see what we did in this exercise later.

To get their attention into the presentation, we started talking about Spain, asking them some general questions. Boys were generally interested in football and some of them even worn the jerseys of some famous Spanish football teams like Real Madrid and Barcelona. It might seem strange for adults who are not involved in teaching life, but actually it was a good sign to see if they were interested.


STC_9263.JPG


Food and Language

These are the most popular things that you have in your presentation. As we all know, Spanish language is really popular in all world. When we had a Spanish volunteer in our youth center, we didn't want to miss the chance of having some language games with our members together. We asked them to write what they know in Spanish language on some papers and we even put them on the walls of our center.

When they were done with their writings, we put them in pairs and helped them to practice their Spanish language skills. By doing this, they surely learned at least a few words in Spanish which shows that we achieved something. When teenagers and children learn something in early ages, they never forget them and these workshops help them to be more successful in their education and social life.


STD_9283.JPG


Reward

After talking about the diversity of Spanish cuisine, my Spanish friend decided to take a package of Spanish chocolates out of her bag to surprise our members. They were quite happy with the reward after answering some questions about the country and practicing Spanish language with the help of my volunteer friend. In the end, it was another efficient day for me and my children in youth center.

When I compare the days that we have workshops with some other days when they come to do their homework, they are more interested in learning about cultures. They may not have opportunities to travel and meet some foreigners in their daily life, so volunteering and education create an amazing atmosphere for them to learn new things!


U5dqonZkFubZer84fPySQfd8uQ1R492_1680x8400.png


Education

I am going to continue to share our workshops on my page. You are welcome to check them out and tell me your opinion. I would love to get your feedback about my work.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

I love your initiative to help in a youth center, that speaks very well of you and I congratulate you, today it is difficult to get people who are willing to help collaborate, as for your Spanish class, I found it very fun I can assure you that the members of the class loved the Spanish chocolates. Keep it up I predict you a lot of success in life. Regards!!

Thank you so much, @lasocia. I am trying to do my best :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76