Students in private schools!

in #sndbox6 years ago (edited)

bigstock-Tired-office-man-sleeping-at-d-92484548.jpg

1


Private Schools

As you may know, I am working in a private school as an English teacher. It is sad to have private schools in a country as it means that public students are not good enough for students. There are lots of good and bad things about private schools that I observe all the time since I am surrounded by a lot of students. Today, I am going to talk about negative things created by students who are going to private schools.

First of all, I have had many students so far in my career. Even though I am just 26, I can say that I have seen many examples of students. Some of them have been really successful. However, I couldn't get the sight of positive effects on some of them since I started my teaching career, what makes them lower than others in private schools?


determination-to-succeed.jpg

2


Lack of motivation

When I think about my working place which is a language school, I see that some of my student consider the language school as a gym center. You may laugh at my statement, but it is true. Many people in different parts of the world pay money for the membership that they don't use in gym centers, it is exactly same in language schools.

All students start their education with lots of motivation, like praying for their teachers to teach them something. However, their motivation goes down gradually which affects them and teachers in negative ways. This happens in almost all schools, and it is really hard for teachers to handle with this problem. Talking to students may not be enough to get them back in track.


oxford-international-language-school-oxford_1489606823660.jpg

3


Determination

Students who are usually young are not determined in their goals. To make it simple, they don't know the worth of the time they are spending in language schools. If they are university or high school, they are not aware of their situation. Even though I have long speeches with them, trying to explain why they are going to language schools, they still seem lost during the lessons.

Students have to be educated about being determined to achieve their goals. If we talk about learning a language, we have to clarify the fact that it requires lots of effort. It is not achieved only by going to classes and listening to teachers all the time. Unfortunately, many students think in this way and they usually face with failures in their learning progress.


CTYP_news_Teacher_8721_LucyHawthorne.jpg

4


Teachers

When we think about our students' learning progress, it is important to objective about the issues. When I look at teacher working in the place that I am serving at the moment, I can say that some teachers are not motivated or enthusiastic enough to give their best for our students. In this case, students automatically feel dismotivated and it becomes impossible to help them in their learning process.

After all, I can say that eager students can easily achieve what they want in language schools if they promise to do what isn needed. When your students are eager and active in lesson to learn and achieve something, things become easier as well. I always make sure that I talk to my students in breaks from time to time to inject them the feeling of determination and motivation in learning language!


U5dqonZkFubZer84fPySQfd8uQ1R492_1680x8400.png


Education

If you have ever worked in a private school or know anything about them, you are welcome to share. I would like to see if there are more people who think in the same with me or disagree with me.

As a proud member of @Sndbox, I support @steemiteducation community since they work a lot to help people who put effort in creating valuable contents on Steemit platform. Thank you for reading and Steem on!


follow_teachblogger.gif

Sort:  

As a teacher, even if I didn't work in a private school, I understand your feelings. The teachers alwas wnat their students' goodness and success. But unfortunately if the students are not following the right ways on their education path, your efforts are being just a waste. They understand their mistakes unfortunately on the following years but sometimes it's being late for them..

That is true, at least I do my best to help as many student as possible.

Thanks for your heart to help pupils as a teacher in the private school. Regardless of where we are teaching, helping children with a genuine heart can be a great turning point for some of them. We may not necessary feel the impact but many years down the road when you meet one of them, you would feel the boost and everything you have done is really worth it. I have been in the teaching career for about 20 years and my ex-students who are young adults now are able to share their memories of the joy and fun that they had when I was their primary school teacher. Making learning enjoyable and make learning a lifelong habit even when these children go into their adulthood should be every educator's aim. We should be teaching for the long term rather than short term results.

no matter what happens, we are ready to teach :)

Hello @teachblogger, I like this topic, spend my whole life studying in private schools, not because I was wealthy, but because it was cheaper to move to the private because of its proximity, than to the public. There is an almost universal stereotype that says that private education is better than public education. There are elements that contribute to private schools having some advantages over many public schools: infrastructure, equipment, longer hours, greater involvement of families and, of course, in the selection of students. In addition, the socioeconomic level and educational level of their homes is one of the variables that most relate to academic performance. Thank you for your valuable contribution to education, may God bless you and fill you with abundance.

Regards....

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us!

When I think about my working place which is a language school, I see that some of my student consider the language school as a gym center. You may laugh at my statement, but it is true. Many people in different parts of the world pay money for the membership that they don't use in gym centers, it is exactly same in language schools.

Schools are indeed similar to gym centers. You pay the money up front, the benefits of the service is based on the work and effort from the students.

that is totally true, I agree with you about this example!

I think it depends on what kind of private school you're talking about... in many of them in the UK that fact that most parents who send their kids to such places aren't super rich I think motivates the kids to do well... for the 0.1% in the very elitist institutions some of them are so rich it doesn't matter what they do!

Personally I think private schools are not socially beneficial because they just hot house averagely intelligent upper middle class kids, which is unfair on the intelligent lower working class kids floundering in poorer state schools.

You are right in your statements!

Thank you so much for support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14