SndBox Summer Camp - Final Quest with Project Giving

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

First of all, I would like to thanks for the opportunity of having a experience like this one, working with in such an valuable project with awesome people, but this is only possible thanks to the summer camp courtesy of @anomadsoul , @guyfawkes4-20, and of course @sndbox with its founders @voronoi & @hansikhouse. So thanks to all of you guys for allowing experiences like this one to happen.

A few weeks ago the final sndbox quest started and I decided to participate in Project Giving because I believe it has a very noble goal which is nothing more than leveraging the Steem blockchain to provide help to communities that need it all around the world.

Living in Venezuela I can say first hand Steem has the power of really changing people's lives, especially in countries where there are a lot of economic difficulties and earning a good living is something not even professionals are able to do.

Because of this, seeing this project coming to life is a very nice experience and I am hoping to keep participating in any way possible because I know it has a good potential to make changes for the better in well deserving places.

When doing charity projects one of the most crucial and difficult things to accomplish is to receive recognition and support, because without any of those the project won't be able to achieve its goals.

Therefore, one of my recommendations was to support the use of Fundition.io mentioned by @travelling-two as a way of getting support for the project. Since not everyone knows how to use that website, I thought it was a good idea to share a tutorial I saw from @gmichelbkk about how to use it.

Later I noticed there was a rule we were ignoring, and that was the hypothetical use of 100 SBD and what would we do with it?

Being a charity project the only idea that seemed logical to me, especially because we didn't have any cost at the time, was to use those SBD to increase the amount of help we could provide to the local initiatives, and we need to keep in mind 100 SBD can have a huge impact if they are invested in a proper way. There is an initiative in Tanzania that was found by the project founder @tristanoliff , and since the poverty in that country is overwhelming, it should not be difficult to have a considerable positive impact with that amount of money.

Being Venezuelan and seeing for myself how the worst economic crisis in my country's history is making a lot of people suffer every time I go out in the city, I decided to look for Venezuelan Steem initiatives that we could support, and there is a highly active Venezuelan doing constant charity work, which in my opinion, is something that could also receive support from this project. The user in question is @malos10.

People need to understand that donating food in Venezuela is not just about getting enough money, it is also about getting enough food. In most places there is food scarcity and buying high quantities of food is a bit difficult. Besides, there is also the insecurity factor to take into account. Either way, since one of my responsibilities in the project is to be a researcher, I will continue my search of both local and international initiatives we can support. I have also been thinking about doing some charity related work, but since the logistics (finding the ton of food) are not easy at all and will require the participation of several people I don't have a timeline or anything like that as of yet, but the idea has been in my mind for a few months.

Regarding initiatives from all around the world that could be supported by @projectgiving, I am currently in talks with @ponpase hoping to figure out what type of help does his community currently needs. I hope we are able to work along him in helping the people from Indonesia.

Sort:  

Interesting nd Good work @dedicatedguy

Thanks for your kind words!

gracias amigo por apoyar todos estos proyectos de ayuda ojala mas personas se unieran en esta situación tan dificil

Awesome man. I so much love this as this is one of my goals. I’m from Africa, Nigeria to be precise. The government and economy has no good direction and it just keeps getting worse. I believe steem has the potential to change lives especially in countries with bad government and economy.

Keep up the great work man! I see massive success in this project 👍🏻

I really appreciate your support to this new project!

My pleasure! 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

The ultimate goal of any true charity is planned obsolescence; that is, to fill the need or solve the problem so thoroughly that it makes the charity no longer necessary.

How is this done?

Simple. SUSTAINABILITY (the give a man a fish principle).

That's why more focus should be given to Mission-Roadmap-Vision BEFORE execution.

Unfortunately, the bulk of charitable organizations take on a life of their own and insidiously setup conditions for its own survival...

Good luck.

Namaste, Jaichai

I see your point I am completely agree, it is much more important to teach how to catch a fish than to simply give it away to someone that needs it.

Cheers!

So glad to see you helping to give to those in need with the help of Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73