Sndbox Summer Camp Art - Task 02 : [ Showcasing Sketching Community ]

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1055.JPG

For this second task for the Sndbox Summer Camp ART week from @anomadsoul & @guyfawkes4-20, were asked to showcase our skills in making artworks related to Sndbox.

To answer this call, at first i was thinking to make some graphic artwork such the usual @sndbox or @creativecrypto challenges using sndbox logo and typography such the one i'd done for State of the Sndbox thumbnail competition few times back. But my second thought took my instinct to take a different path. I revisited Sndbox pages and revolt back to the fundamental of the existence of Sndbox as an "incubator for creative and communities".

Screen Shot 2018-05-06 at 8.24.39 PM.png

So i chose to show my best skill of my own that resonates perfectly with creativity and community; my current work and doctoral research, in the ART OF URBAN SKETCHING. I dont think i need to elaborate about it as much on that here as ive already explain it thoroughly on my first task.

A sketch in public.


How do you work under pressure? How do you like when theres a lot of eyes staring at what you are doing? Do you have the confidence to deliver up to the expectation of the crowd that is giving their attention while you are drawing?

IMG_0607.jpg

Well i guess thats the skill that i want to share with you guys here. :)

Earlier this week i was travelling with my family to Shanghai, China and I had the chance to visit the Tianzi Fang Market.

Tianzifang or Tianzi Fang is a touristic arts and crafts enclave that has developed from a renovated traditional residential area in the French Concession area of Shanghai, China. It is now home to boutique shops, bars and restaurants. - wiki

Well known among the arts and craft lovers, the market also a haven for those who appreciate architectural detailing and clever use of small spaces. Most of the buildings there are influenced by the French styles including the restaurants and cafes. Street foods, souvenirs, galleries are everywhere. It was like being a maze as after few minutes of walking through, you will lose the sense of direction. It does reminds me so much of Venice, rather than Paris for me. lol.

IMG_0749.JPG

The map guide of the 'maze'.

IMG_0745.JPG

Near the entrance there was this young man was really preoccupied on doing some cut-out portraits there along the street, and there were quite a number of people gathering around him. He was just minding his own thing delicately. I was inspired.

We went there on a public holiday so it was jammed packed with people.

IMG_0638.JPG

Nevertheless, i came in the are with one goal, to have a recorded sketch somewhere to highlight the sense of place of the market. I have already packed my table tripod and sketching tools, finding for the best spot for me to sketch.

Then I was lured to this cafe called Alley 'Caffe' and Bar. Yes its Caffee, not Coffee. lol.

IMG_0697.JPG

IMG_0658.JPG

It was a nice cafe with an outdoor seatings that i find exciting to sit down and observe the environment closely as well as to see how people will react with me sketching there.

IMG_0610.jpg

I sat there with my whole family for our lunch so i can spend more time for the sketch. There was this lady from the cafe were wearing a cordless mic were promoting the shop just behind me when i was sketching.

IMG_0604.jpg

She was the first person to spot me sketching there. She took some photos and continued promoting. Im not so sure what she was promoting about because she was speaking chinese, but after that passerby started to stop and start crowding behind me. Im pretty sure she was talking about me....lol.

IMG_0609.jpg

The sketch.


Heres the timelapse video of the sketch. :)

IMG_0672.JPG

8933adec-83c4-46fc-a17a-fc0c0d7644cc.JPG

Untitled-1.jpg

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Nice sketches. Awesome that u recorded it in video too

Thank you! :)

Was that your coffee or the water you used for your water color? They looked the same..😳

090454F8-0709-4604-BEBD-72134462AFC5.gif

Awesome job kymio!

thank you! :)

Great, I like the style and the context. I hope you had a very good time and will sketch some more. I actually have someone who I just introduced to Steemit. Not a sketch artist but might learn something from your post, @loredanaiuliana.

Great job, Malaysia is wonderful, I will visit. I know you were in China, and it's nice and I will visit, but I saw A LOT of talented people from Malaysia and I would like to see the country that has so many talented people!

Thanks! :)

U gonna own this quest definitely!

fingers cross! thanks! :D

Haha, good luck bro!

That's awesome you did that time lapse sketch video - I had to show it to my son, he enjoyed it :) I like the photos of the market too - it looks like a fun place to be, and the crowd was enjoying your sketching.

Aww thank you glad he did! say hi to him! :)

Very nice. Thanks for sharing the full process. I'm not sure I like the coffee staining of the sketch though.

lol..its not coffee stain actually just some watercolour. lol. thanks anyway! :)

I am really impressed @kymio ! You actually brought your gear along with you everywhere!

You know at first glance it actually got me wondered whether did you shade your background colours with your coffee....

But watching the video it doesn't show it. So that got me hanging with wonder.

Definitely a great upvote for your sharing.

All the best on the snd-box summer camp! I heard it's quite challenging!

Hehe yeah i always make sure in sketch-ready especially during travels! :p No its not coffee its just watercolour. intentionally to make it sephia tone lol. It is quite challenging, especially with all those other awesome talents here! Fingers cross, thank you! :D

That is indeed pressure with the fans around you. I think you handle it very well as your skills are amazing. I try so hard but that is something I cannot do draw. Beautiful work buddy.

hehe thank you! im sure with just needs few practice with the right techniques, youll be there for sure! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28