Sndbox Summer Camp final quest - Documenting the Work

in #sndboxquest6 years ago (edited)

Nearly 3 months ago (Steemit time goes by so quick) I got through the first stage of Sndbox Summer Camp quest. And then a couple of few weeks ago the Sndbox Summer Camp final quest was finally announced. The task was to work with other finalists in a project. My first reaction was The Apprentice!!! This used to be one of my favourite programmes, watching people who were so full of themselves, but were actually quite rubbish at doing anything at all. I enjoyed watching them bitching against one another, finger pointing, back stabbing, and claiming credit for the most minute task they did. I loved watching the programme, but vowed I would never get myself into one of those situations. Yet now, the final quest was conducted in the same format and I was wondering #willIbecomeabitch?


By Source, Fair use, https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?curid=29448953



The project that I choose to work on was Steem-Times, a Steemit newspaper. Although I didn't know the full details of it (there wasn't any to be honest, that's what we're supposed to do) I like the idea of someone summarising everything for me as there's just so much to read on Steemit and I honestly can't follow everyone. The other team members are:

@revisesociology – Sociology Quest, UK
@gabriellecd – Writing Quest, Venezuela
@warpedpoetic – Writing Quest, Nigeria
@superooo7 – Coding Quest, Australia
@karmachela – Art Quest, Indonesia

First things first, don't believe what you see on TV!!! What happens on Steemit life is totally different from real life, if you can call TV real life. I've seen some of the others around on Steemit before, but have never had any interaction with them, so we all took a little time to bond and get to know one another. I'm already working on a couple of projects on Steemit with other people, so have some experience in working in a virtual environment, but working with 'complete strangers' is something new. Luckily that wan't a problem at all. Everyone one was very civilised and enthusiastic, and chipped in as much as they could. @revisesociology even bought each of us a Steemit Basic Income, how's that for team harmony?

There were some good discussions over the first few days and suggestions about the broad direction. Since not everyone were involved in the conversations at the same time, and sometimes they span over a long period of discussion, I summarised the discussions every now and then. I personally find it easier to work that way, and it also saves people's time to scroll through all the conversations.
2018-06-09.png

Then we thought perhaps we should all get online at the same time to take things forward. I was still trying to work out where everyone was based, and I went online to check out their time zones. I realised there was a 14 hour time span within the team so I arranged a time based on people's availability and reminded everyone the day before, just to be sure.
2018-06-09 (1).png

All six of us turned up and the one hour meeting turned out to be around two hours. It was extremely fruitful as we all ended on the same page with a much more clear understanding on the direction and scope of what we wanted Steem-Times to be. Here's another one of my little summary after the meeting.
2018-06-09 (2).png

The next few days was all about finalising the white paper. The guys had started some sections already so I picked up the section on Rewards and Payment which was yet to be written. That was about how we would use the theoretical SBD100 to launch Steem-Times. We hadn't discussed the details for this, and we were running a bit behind (my fault as I got delayed in writing up this section) so I made an executive decision and wrote some ideas and promotion plans about how we would promote Steem-Times upon its launch, and to encourage people to read it in the long run. That's been incorporated in our white paper now.

Last and not the least, my final deliverable in this final quest was to write up the group post documenting the evolution of the project. The post can be found here.


Now that I've written my involvement and contribution to the project I'm starting to think did I just do a #willIbecomeabitch? So I've checked the mandate from @guyfawkes4-20 post which says "each one of you will have to make a post in which you’re talking about everything you helped with, documenting the work you put behind this idea, so we have a point of reference when we’re picking the winners." So I'm ok. To be honest I don't know how else I can present my involvement.

This has been an interesting two weeks working in the team, and even if we as a team don't actually get to produce Steem-Times, I sincerely hope some else will as I think its a great idea. So thanks to @guyfawkes4-20, @anomadsoul, @handsikhouse and @voronoi for all this.

Sort:  

I think you actually did a good job of not becoming a bitch, au contraire you were a pleasure to work with.

I actually taught one of the candidates from series 5 - Deborah 'The Ice Queen' - she wasn't a bitch in real life, forceful, but not a bitch -

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/tvandradio/the-apprentice/5437877/Fired-at-last-The-Apprentice-Ice-Queen.html

Thank you @revisesociology!! Likewise.

I remember her! She seemed quite a handful on TV, but I guess they all are to get to that stage!

I remember her asking LOTS of questions... the bitch thing was just a media construction.

what a way you guys organized yourself with the timing to be up at the same time that's so awesome

team effort!!! good luck to everyone!

Congratulations in finishing the final tasks! It was a busy period and I wouldn't take it personally if anyone becomes a bitch. And it looks like you didn't. Well done! :)

Thanks! Where's your final post? I can't see it anywhere and it's less than 2 hours to the deadline as I am writing.

Thanks for checking! I have just published it a few minutes ago. It took time for the video to upload in Dlive. Whew! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73