Ulog Reflections | My experience in Sndbox Summer Camp | Life of Steem

The deadline is already over, the projects have all been submitted and the once vibrant and talkative channel has grown silent as each person returns to their lives before @anomadsoul and @guyfawkes4-20 created the Sndbox Summer camp and gave a chance to someone like me to try and get a spot.

image.png

Sndbox Quest 1: Travel, Food, & Homesteading

It all started with the first Sndbox quest and I was contemplating on joining the quest because aside from Food I wasn't a Travel or Homesteading writer. Then there was the fact that I was going on vacation that week and would have a maximum of four days to complete three challenges.

Oh yes, the first quest had three parts. An analysis of a Sndbox member who was doing one of the three topics, write a post about one of those three topics and lastly create a dtube video on why I want to be in Sndbox.

The third part was almost a dealbreaker for me as I am extremely camera shy! Yet my thinking was since this is the first one I should try and if I fail then there are other quests that I might join. Try and try until I get in!

This contains all the parts I did for the 1st quest, even the dtube video! I have never written a travel post before this and I was lucky to be one of those people that got picked for that quest!

Sndbox Quest Week 1 | Compilation of all three challenges for the Travel, Food & Homesteading

The Waiting Game

That is the thing when you finish right away, the waiting game can be nerve-wracking but in the same time also comforting because you are halfway there.

With each quest done we were all thinking about what would be in store for the final quest.

Final Round Fight!

image.png

Creative Commons

Last week of May and Summer camp started. This was it! Erik sent invites to a mysterious Discord channel that would have all the previous contestants that were picked from the various quests.

Then things got weird as there talks of getting volunteered as tributes and talks of skinny dipping in a Sndbox bought island!

When the dust and jokes settled it was announced that people would be grouped together and work on several projects.

  • Speak Freely TV
  • CELF - Steem Powered art and culture
  • Alexandria´s library project
  • Steemit´s first NGO
  • The Steem Times - A blockchain based newspaper - No leader yet
  • Mistery Project 1: A project idea by one of your fellow campers
  • Mistery Project 2: A project idea by Sndbox
  • Free Project: A project that can be developed from scratch by those who decide to join this team

Mistery Project 1 was supposed to be my own project for @giftinkindph Introducing Gift In Kind PH | Bringing hope to children through education but it was already running for 12 years and was also very similar to the Steemit First NGO project.

I could have chosen that project since it would play to my strengths but like the travel post I wanted to do something that I haven't done before and had chosen Mistery Project 2 which would be a project idea of Sndbox.

Mistery Project 2 Steem Workshop

The idea here by Sndbox is that they would like a project plan done on how Steem can be promoted and explain what Steem does.

We had 10 days to brainstorm, create a plan, budget and create concepts and graphics.

My first post on the meeting was written here in this post # Ulog Reflections | Sndbox questing and being Charlie Brown

I talked about the initial brainstorming sessions and some of the anxiety that I felt surrounded by very talented people.

To be honest my anxiety levels have still not subsided but seeing that I am on a good team with a healthy mix of talent and skills gives me some comfort that everything will be all right.

I might not be as talented or have the confidence of most of them but one thing that I know that I can do is support and fill whatever role needs to be done. I have always been that kind of person that can adapt and support so that others may become the best version of themselves.

I am an enabler that hopefully will make our project succeed as it is the duty of each Steemian to promote and make Steem better.

Our little project aims to do that. See you in the next sndbox update.

There have been a lot of challenges in particular time zone issues and some of the tasks that needed to be done.

There were some issues but I am pretty glad that the team bonded together and was able to finish the project and put it all together and we are happy with the results.

videotogif_2018.06.08_03.59.28.gif

I wrote about it in the 2nd update post Sndbox questing and updates | Promoting Steem

One of the things we needed to change was the name of the project. The concept was to cover everything about Steem and not just Steemit so it should be all-encompassing and envelop majority if not all condensers.

We also wanted to cover all the different topics that brought us together.

I was thinking that we should celebrate what we do and what we are passionate about and what we live for. So one of the ideas I floated was Life of Steem.

It would cover all that we do in writing, traveling, making films and music, doing art and being homesteaders. It would cover things that we do in Steem using different platforms.

It would also have synergy with the I Verb videos that I developed. These powerful, short videos would invoke feelings and would be inclusive because the underlying idea was everyone has something to offer with value. This would be used to take promotions on a viral level.

It was a good fit for the project.

It was all placed together in this post

https://steemit.com/sndboxsummercamp/@iamjadeline/sndbox-summer-camp-final-quest-mystery-project-2-the-project-that-promotes-steem

Life of Steem

We are a group of select individuals from around the world with various expertise and a diverse set of skills. Together we stand at the juncture of the old paradigms to herald the arrival of a radical and transformative new technology that is the STEEM blockchain. Here we act as gatekeepers translating the STEEM ecosystem making it accessible and easily understood so that everyone can have a chance to do what they love, and at the same earn some STEEM and/or SBD.

The project is doable and can be seen something that we can continue if sndbox chose to support it.

PM_line_2.png

I have to admit I kinda miss the hustle and bustle of the Discord group as the last three days of the challenge as I was off and doing my charity project # ULOG Charity Diary | Gift In Kind PH goes to Banawen Primary School | June 9, 2018

Although it rained so much in Banawen so we were not able to go there but the good thing was we were able to go to Sagpat Elementary School which we will be posting once I finish my video edits.

It was such an awesome experience and somehow Sndbox always has the great timing of when I will be out of time lol!

I am so proud of the Life of Steem team and the project that was created. It shows how much we can achieve with cooperation and collaboration even with different timezones, talents and likes.

I think that is what Sndbox is really after to make us be able to work with different people and still succeed.

Now that it is over I look forward to working with the others on their projects and help create a better platform for Steem.

Thank you for being part of my journey.

Sort:  

Cool... lots of project @maverickinvictus. Your creativity is not so different with Terry @surpassinggoogle

Thank you it was an awesome project to be part of and I met some pretty awesome people.

I didn't know you were involved in the Sndbx Summer Camp. How did I miss that? :) Well, good for you, and now there's a working project you helped to create and name.

Maybe you should consider slowing down just a bit, you know, so you can maybe concentrate really well on a couple of things, instead of concentrating on 14 billion things. Okay, sorry. 13.99999999 billion things.


Screen Shot 2018-06-13 at 7.21.43 PM.png

So would you mind elaborating on the newspaper? How did it end up on the list of projects without a leader? And do you happen to know what the idea behind it was. If not that's fine. I have a certain affinity for anything that calls itself a newspaper. :)

Hey Glen no worries sometimes I still can't believe that I was part of it myself.

Yes knowing that you were in the newspaper industrty the project might appeal to you and here it is so that you can read up more on this and maybe become involved with it.

https://steemit.com/sndboxquest/@steem-times/the-steem-times-white-paper

Hahahahha yeah I am removing a lot of the projects and as soon as I finish one, another pops in but learning to say no or push back on deadlines hahaha

You got a 2.64% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @maverickinvictus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87