Sndbox Summer Camp Final Quest: Life of Steem - My Experience

A8300AA0-3D65-4303-A9DF-BB84DBAE43C4.png

The sndboxsummercamp final quest is coming to an end. I think it was a really great way to assess the potential new sndbox members ability to work as a team. I only wish that things could have come together in a way that truly allowed my talents to shine. Luckily (or perhaps unluckily as I will explain in a moment), I was placed with a talented bunch of generally cooperative individuals. Here was the group that I worked with:

Mystery Project 2 (Project that promotes Steem)
@iamjadeline – Philosophy Quest, Malaysia
@vadimlasca – Filmmaking Quest, Venezuela
@catalincernat – Writing, Romania
@rubencress – Photography, the Netherlands
@mountainjewel – Homesteading Quest, USA
@maverickinvictus – Travel, Philippines
@artizm – Photography, Turkey
@whatamidoing – Sociology Quest
@travelgirl – Food, Australia
@dmcamera – Photography, USA

As far as working in a group to achieve a goal, this kind of situation is far from ideal. None of us knew each other. We all came from different backgrounds with little shared culture other than our time at steemit. Despite being someone who prefers to work without strict leadership, situations like this allow me to appreciate WHY people rely on the concept of a leader in order to achieve something: a shared vision takes a lot of work, a long time and careful scrutiny about who we choose to work with. We had no choice about which to work with and not much time or opportunities to get to know each other, but thanks to certain members hard work and positive attitude , things did come together in the end.

I love to work in a group but only when it’s a group I’ve developed a shared culture and a deep bond of trust with. I understand that sometimes we have situations where we need to work together despite not being able to choose who we work with. In these situations though, the urgency of the situation will help motivate us to put aside our differences. But as someone with strong opinions and an aversion to business culture, I found myself taking a back seat on this project, more than I would have liked. That’s not to say there was anything wrong with any of these people or how they worked, they were great, it was just difficult for me to find my place among them.

Under the right circumstances, I will often jump into what others would consider a leadership position, but for me I never look at myself as a leader, I am just trying to fill a role that is being unfulfilled in order to accomplish something. When I feel there is a need or desire for what I have to offer, I will take a more active role in cooperating to achieve the goal. When I feel a difference in our overall vision or when all the work seems to be taken care of by people who know what they are doing, I will take a back role, and if I feel the group is incapable or unwilling to work together I will abandon the project.

This group was more than capable, and they seemed to have a lot of agreement over how things should be done, and they seemed to work a little differently from me though, so rather than trying to push things in my direction and acting great overly important, I just shared my ideas and took a back seat and allowed them to see the overall vision through, just adding what I could. I find formal “brainstorming processes” and “business plans” to be fluffy and time-wasting, I’d rather get right to the point of things, but in a group of strangers, it’s not always easy to just get to the point of things. I find most advertising to be cheesy and would prefer to keep it as straightforward as possible, but I wasn’t about to force my views on the whole team when most of them seemed to be working together so well and getting things done. Different time zones and other projects were also things to work through.

Our biggest problem was that one member take off two days before the projects completion, taking the community account and some of our proposal with him, and so a lot had to be reworked last minute, but 3-4 members really came together to deal with it.

I am an “ideas guy”, I come up with concepts that can work, find problems that need solving and figure out ways to solve them. I can also write. Since the writing jobs seemed to be taken, all I could do was help with the concept of the project, to help illustrate why some thigh sensitive wouldn’t work and why others would and propose solutions to these problems. I came up with the idea for making a series of interviews with steemians about how Steemit and crypto has changed their lives. These interviews would serve as advertisements for steemit on other social media. I also came up with the idea for a contest where steemians would post the best of the best steemit posts on other social media and try to promote it. The winners would be determined by the quality of articles they chose to promote and their reach on other social media platforms such as Facebook.

I hope that for any future project I take part in, I’m able to get to know the group before jumping into working with each other and find a mode of working where everyone finds a role they are happy with and a truly shared vision. Working in a group is really about each member providing what is needed. Sometimes that means stepping back and allowing other people to just do their thing, but always being ready to help when help is needed. As an “ideas guy”, I will need to be careful to make it to the chat room on the very first day!

Sort:  

"Our biggest problem was that one member take off two days before the projects completion, taking the community account and some of our proposal with him, and so a lot had to be reworked last minute, but 3-4 members really came together to deal with it."


Sorry, where were you during the entire process? I wrote 80% of the entire proposal together with @Mountainjewel, I worked out the AIDA model and did a little brainstorm session with her and @Maverickinvictus, together with @Artizm we re-designed the graphics. All the crucial parts for early stage developing a project. It comes down to teamwork where you were no attendee of after many calls from @Mountainjewel and me.

Only these three members plus @IamJadeline did all of the work.

Don't give me shit when I gave you guys a solid foundation to work on, and if I am so shitty, why do you still use my ideas? You literally didn't do anything during that time, and now you're saying that you came up with concepts, solutions and the idea in "two"(actually 4) days after I have left? Quite the guts you have, son.

The "interviews" you magically came up with, were already written down by me in the format 8 days ago. Also, @travelgirl came up with that idea at a later point. The contests was an idea from @Maverickinvictus.


Further development of the Platform Promo
Zooming in on the professions that are active on Steemit
1)Create portrait-clips.
2)Create interviews with ‘famous’ Steemians


Go leech and benefit from others efforts, but in my opinion, you should not be part of the team at all. I want @Anomadsoul and @Guyfawkes4-20 to know that. I am not going to let some douchebag trash my name, while I was working 18 hours per day on my day-time job ánd the SNDBOX project at the same time, until the day that I left, and for that, I have a reason that is none of your concern.

I am really surprised that you actually popped up an article about the project.

Ok.

I didn’t trash your name, I didn’t say your name anywhere in my post other than listing it as a member of the team despite the fact that you quit. And I fully acknowledge that others did way more work than I did. I am literally giving you zero shit.

Sorry, but did you even read what you wrote?

The biggest problem with our project are guys like you entering the SNDBOX project that think that it is easy and free money. You didn't show up in chat, didn't try to connect with any of us, didn't put in feedback and didn't come up with ideas when it was needed, and here I read your article full of bullcrap, a summary of ideas and concepts crafted by your own team members, making it look like that you actually did something.

It is so easy to point fingers at someone. And it's fair that these fingers are pointed towards me, as long as it is with respect and with the truth, but more importantly, by the people that I abandoned, @mountainjewel, @maverickinvictus, @artizm, and @travelgirl have all the right to (Sorry, I have other things to take care of asap). But certainly not from someone who didn't do a thing during the entire time that I worked my ass off for this project and taking my own ideas and concepts claiming to be his own.

Once again, I didn’t point any fingers at you, even with you here pointing the finger at me. I’m not hiding the fact that I did minimal work on this project. I didn’t enjoy working on this project very much so I didn’t put any uneccesary effort into it when most of the work was done. Also, if I knew that this was what I was entering into when I joined the summer camp, I probably would not have joined because I don’t always like working with random strangers on projects that I’m not passionate about, this conversation I’m having with you right here is one of the reasons why, the other reasons I wrote about in this article. I did show up in the chat a few times to see what I could do and most of what I would have liked to contribute was already done, so I shared a few ideas and checked back in a few times after that only to find nothing in particular that I could add.

@sndbox has your complaints here for reference and my response. Is there anything else you want to say or can we drop this?

That's where you are wrong. You are not without a reason part of the @SNDBOX summer camp. It is because you have talent and skill in some specific areas. That being said: you could have added a lot of value and/or contribution, especially in the early stages of the project, just by simply showing up and join the conversation for example. Simply because you didn't like the project or the idea of working with people together in a project doesn't mean you could have at least tried to make a difference or be clear about it.

It's clear that I don't like people who present themselves like this and take credit for things other people worked hard for. it might be my own perspective, but I know others share this perspective as well. This is not done where I come from.

I did try. I was in different time zones and had lots of other things going on. I even though about pulling out of the project but I thought it wasn’t hurting anyone to stay around and see if I could add something, and I did, and it wasn’t just a little bit, I admit that.

I appreciate the more respectful tone. I really don’t see what I took credit for. I had some ideas and I shared them. That’s all I did. Did I take credit for anything else?

Also my mode of working is so different from all of yours that to take an overly active role would have created a headache for everyone, and once again, by the time I got there on day 3, it seems a lot of the concept was decided on already which is why I took the back seat.

We all have our own perspectives and that's okay.

But, if there's anyone who isn't a leech, who isn't just on Steemit to make quick money, it's @whatamidoing The only thing you need to do to discover that, is to read his blog posts.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99