Dreaming of a White Winter - here we go!

99C1C4F1-173A-4893-83CC-33EE833DD13C.jpeg

Feel that wind blowing today? There’s snow in that wind! While everyone around me raced indoors and reached for their winter woolies today - I wanted to roar back at the wind like an animal!

My wonderful husband bought me a new split board for Christmas last year - and I am so pumped for snow season! I always love that first really cold wind that signals the start of winter. As a family, it’s the time of year we all look forward to. Last year I got some of the best powder days I’ve ever had (not quite as good as this photo though!) - and I’m hoping to get some more this year!

I grew up at the beach and used to hate the idea of winter. To me it was that horrible time of year when all my friends stopped coming to the beach, and the sun went to bed too early. That all changed when I was introduced to snowboarding though - it’s like surfing a mountain.

The Australian Alps are one of my favourite places in the world. The mountains have such a special feel about them, and in winter they can be a blissfully silent playground. I’ve enjoyed snowboarding in the resort for years, but this winter I’m really looking forward to having go at getting away from the crowds.

I won’t be going too far away from the crowds to start off with (I’ll need to work my way up to that), but the split board will open up the possibility of new runs, without having to walk uphill through deep powder. Woohoooo!!

Expect snow photos soon people!!

Photo by Johannes Waibel on Unsplash
(Disclaimer - my snow photos will be nowhere near as impressive as this)

Sort:  

I'm scared for Europe's low 20s temps next week!

Haha - you’d be like the guy out of cool runnings - all dressed up in a beanie and gloves

You got that right!

You got that right!

I got it double right! 😉

Ok, how opposite can we think. I was so happy for spring. Wisconsin winters are long and cold. Have tried to find an outdoor activity to help enjoy and take the dreariness out. Nothing so far. I just cannot seem to dress warm enough to enjoy anything!

Jealous a little that you can look forward to snow! Not going to be taking up snowboarding at my age. Lol. Will await the pictures you collect. I'd say break a leg but maybe not for snowboarding, huh?

Steemit helped just a tiny bit this year, looking for and realizing the beauty in winter for pictures, etc.

Not only is the cold irritating and unpleasant, I am a sun person. The sun just can't get through enough and is out such a brief time in the winter by February I start feeling like I have some terminal illness or something.....tired and achy and blah.

Sun, summer and warmth.....maybe I should try skateboarding. Hmmmm.

Trying skateboarding sounds like a great idea! You're never too old - just need to take it easy. Our winters are much shorter than yours... and I don't live in the snow. I guess that helps with my appreciation of it 😊

Ah. The best of both worlds. You can visit the snow. Like that idea!

Been on several of the kids toys with wheels. Kind of liked the Swizzle, not sure of name, sorry. But has 3 wheels.......a little safety net for very young and the getting older. Lol

Haha - that’s cool. I like the idea of ‘the young getting older’

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30