The Book of Cecelia

20190525_112710~2.jpg

When I learned that my dear niece was hospitalized, I quickly made her a leather covered journal for her 15th birthday.

20190525_112815~2.jpg

I think it is so important for a young girl to have something special to call her own. This journal is marked "Vol. 1" to inspire hope for the future.

20190525_112811~2.jpg

I crafted this cover from milled vegtan cowhide lined in pigskin. I stamped, dyed, and stitched it all by hand.

20190525_112744~2.jpg

I was so happy that, as it turned out, a leatherbound journal was something she'd been asking her parents for for some time!

20190525_112753~2.jpg

This was my first attempt at making one of these covers for a hardbound sketchbook, and I really enjoyed it!

It feels good to create something for a loved one, and I hope Cece will treasure her private thoughts forever between its covers.

Love,cat
@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Wow, that looks amazing! I think your niece will absolutely love and treasure your beautifully hand made gift to her.
I hope she gets well soon!

Thanks so much, @paradigm42 for your kind thoughts and thoughtful kindness.
She really seemed enthusiastic about her personalized journal, and showed it off to everyone during our short visit. I too hope she gets well soon, so to speak, since imo her condition is more a response to her environment than from any disease or disorder. However, her story is her own to tell, hence the nature of this gift! Ah, youth, it is not WASTED on, but instead BURDENS the young!

Ah, I can certainly empathise with what your niece is dealing with to some extent.. I hope she is able to find her center and best practices for dealing with her environment soon if that is what you are refering to.
I am glad she truly appreciated your lovely gift. I'm sure it will be a big help on her journey to finding her way to a better place of mind. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76