I Made $ From Recycling! - SoCal LifesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #socalsteemit5 years ago (edited)

Confession Time

Blogging isn't the only new hobby I've adopted recently.

I know, crazy right? Utterly shocking.

It's like ever since I got into crypto I've been in the mindset of collecting things. Combine that with a growing imperative to earn money in ways other than my job, and well... we have a marriage made in heaven. 👍

The local recycling place I use is called rePlanet a quaint little operation usually manned by a single operator. They work hard and do great work 👌

Why does recycling scratch these two urges? Simple.

  • Collecting -

At the Hotel we have 3 bars and a restaurant. When I say there is never a shortage of recycling to collect im not kidding.
Convincing the manager to let me take it home though, that's the tricky part.

There's a certain (OCD?) satisfaction I get from it. Bagging up bottles of similar sizes, cleaning and arranging them. Separating plastics from aluminium and glass.

Spending a couple hours progressing my haul is a very zen, almost meditative experience for me.

I used to get that feeling from sorting Magic The Gathering cards.

Ready to go 👌

All processed and ready to be weighed

  • Earn Money -

California has a state wide recycling redemption program which incentivizes people to recycle. They do this by offering a cash rebate for each item that gets redeemed.

The rebate differs depending on the size and type of item, and it typically ranges from 5c to 10c.

Here's the pricing taken from the government website.

source

It might not sound like much initially. I wouldn't advise trying to sustain yourself from this, though I'm sure some do.

After enough collecting it really adds up. Over 6-7 months of casual collecting whenever I could remember, I have made around $70 overall.

Today's earnings were a modest and acceptable $26 and some cents.

😁

Thinking I might grab a coffee for the wife and I.


Selling my Playstation and trying other hobbies was one of the best decisions of my life. I've been able to expand in ways and do things I never even considered.

If you're looking to make a bit of extra cash while helping the environment - why not give it a go?

This is one of the reasons I love living in Southern California.

Take care everyone 👋

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Congratulations @johneyreacko! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

I, too, find recycling rewarding experience, also somewhat because of the culture lining up at the rePlanet. (Btw, I have noticed rePlanet locations shrinking constantly all over my town. What gives?) Thanks for a thoughtful post!

Thanks, I appreciate it. Yeah the people there are generally great. Im getting to know some of the people who frequent the replanet. Cheers again

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has received a free upvote by @OnePageX
OnePageX.com is the fastest way to convert STEEM and other assets to over 140 cryptocurrencies!

Great Rates, Low Fees & Fast Crypto Exchanges!


Check out our most recent news update.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24