Going off-Steem with Steem

in #social-media6 years ago

Let me tell you something. If Steem is partly social media - and it is -, then this is the first and only social media platform I've spent any significant amount of time on.

Don't get me wrong! I've had accounts on other social media platforms. But I treated them as appendixes of my blog, or they were simply dead. One I closed - my personal Facebook account.

You can use them for business and build different type of audiences on them. For this use, they are handy. For personal use, they are horrible, in my honest opinion.

Besides the obvious that you are the product on a free social media platform, personally I have a limited stamina for social interactions. They drain me, most of the time. It's different with other people, who feel invigorated the more they talk or debate.

So I focus on Steem, which despite all odds (because of the social media part), I love.

On Steem, I focus on:

  • slowing growing my stake here, by investing and using the platform continuously. In this regard, on September 13th I reached my Steem Power goal for the entire year: 1500 SP. Granted, it was quite an easy goal, and the drop in Steem price and my consistency helped in achieving it much earlier than I thought I would have.

  • helping communities, DApps and other steemians grow, and offer support (including knowledge) as much as I can.

  • writing posts, commenting on other people's posts if I have something to say (after reading them, obviously), and replying to comments on my own posts, when there are. On Discord it is much more tiring to keep up with a conversation, especially on a public channel, so I generally gave up on this endeavor.

Adoption of Steem will be helped the more people outside the phenomenon hear about it.

I've brought Steem out to my list, my blog, and now to my new Twitter account, created especially for Steem (and possibly crypto in general).

I know a few steemians who have joined following my advice, but I think I should talk with them, because I checked and they are inactive...

Sort:  

its a tough platform if one does not have a consistent idea to present to build a following....

Yeah, especially the initial learning curve and the first months are crucial, if you go on little by little without an investment (or help - like a delegation).

I’m happy to hear that you bought few new people to our platform!!

Keep up the good work:)

Thanks Nathan!

Yeah, I feel I should've done more, maybe they wouldn't have gone inactive. It's not all lost since they are here though. First step was done!

Engagement with the Community will certainly help to build your stake as well because it will get people interested in what you've got going on. That of course and quality posting.

Yes, I agree engagement is important and I try to do it as much as I can. Thanks for your comment.

Congratulations @gadrian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @gadrian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.090 which ranks you at #22755 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 22757).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #258.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @gadrian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75