The watts are flowing

in #solar6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Finally with all the arrival of good weather the solar panels project is complete. A little too soon to comment on average production or even when break even. I will do that number crunching later when I have more data on how much I am producing.

One change that I didn't really pay attention to is that Time of use billing is history for those with this arrangement.

Time of use cost 2018
TOU.JPG

So instead of paying the higher rates, I pay at a flat rate of 7.7c for any electricity used over what I generate any time of the day. No more waiting to run the washer / dryer at night.

Sort:  

Well done @oldman28.
What was your cost of investment?
What kind of ROI are you expecting?
What incentive is available where you are?

For a 6 Kw system it is 25k installed. The installer estimate is 6500kwh a year average over the estimated 25 years life of the system and just short of $2k average saving per year.
That makes about 8% a year return. I think their number would tend to be more conservative. I will need a couple more months of bills to verify the numbers.

Thanks @oldman28. I will be staying tune for your results.

I think it is not a bad deal. Where is another "tax free" investment that pay @ 8% and have potential to increase yield as the mismanaged electricity system with lots of debt continue to raise prices. There is almost certain some politician would come along and throw in more green/carbon tax in to take back the highest electricity rate in North America crown.

You got a 20.02% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @oldman28!

You got a 23.15% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @oldman28! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17