📀🎸 Summer Nights & My Radio

in #song-challenge6 years ago (edited)

Following on from [this post](https://steemit.com/song-challenge/@connecteconomy/promo-steem-summer-song-challenge-steemit-vs-facebook) by @connecteconomy about the 30-day #song-challenge, here is my entry for today.

DAY 3

A song that reminds you of summertime

I sat and thought about today's #song-challenge after I got home from a couple of hours driving in the rain. Ironically, it's cold, wet, and wintery here in Melbourne (Aust). So it was a case of kicking back with a glass of wine and imagining my favourite summertime moments.

What came to mind was Summer Nights by Van Halen, off their singularly-awesome 1986 album 5150.

R561445714163537464913.jpeg.jpg
 
Listen to the track on Spotify here

1986 was an awesome year, I have very fond memories of that summer. I'd finished primary school, and was heading into high school. I'd started to develop my own musical tastes, and had started purchasing albums (vinyl records in those days). Thanks to some fellow class-mates, I was also starting to listen to some heavier material, although not quite into the hard rock / metal yet.

Van Halen was one of the bands I got into early. My cousins in Queensland had been into their previous album 1984. Every year we always travelled to sunny Queensland for the Christmas/New Year summer break.

One day we were driving alongside the beach on the Gold Coast, and as synchronicity would have it, this track come on as I was listening to my Walkman (do you remember those?). As we drove, my burgeoning pubescence was mesmerised at all the beautiful girls in bikinis.

Ever since then, this song is anchored to that memory, and to the sheer beauty of women basking in the sunshine, surfing, and "summer nights' eating pizza and listening to my cousins' albums.

 

Summer nights and my radio
Well that's all we need, baby, don'tcha know?
We celebrate when the gang's all here
Hot summer nights, you're my time of the year

 


A STEEMIT ORIGINAL
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Petah Raven from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61122.11
ETH 2972.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66