📀 Taking #song-challenge next level - SBI up for grabs


We've all been enjoying the 30-day #song-challenge which @connecteconomy first mooted in her original post. But now, let's take it up a notch and turn this into some serious love for the soundtrack to our lives. I'm offering SBI rewards to great quality content.


The #song-challenge ultimate mixtape

Do you remember the days of making mixtapes? This is what we did before the days of playlists on iTunes and Spotify. We'd sit and record our favourite songs from radio or LP's, and then listen to them so many times the tape would snap.

Ever wanted to express yourself in music? You'd make a mixtape. Wanted to let a girl know you liked her? You'd make her a mixtape. Going on a road-trip? You'd make a mixtape.

While the #song-challenge has been fun, I have to say I've been disappointed that some folks were simply pasting a youtube clip of a song and posting that.

Music is so much a part of our lives, and we have memories anchored to our favourite songs. These are the soundtracks to our lives, and inspiration for telling a story and sharing a part of who you are with the Steem community.

So I'm creating a 'contest' to further inspire you to create some quality posts while building your ultimate mixtape.


Let the music of your life
Give life back to music
- Daft Punk


The Details

Screen Shot 20180915 at 22.55.23.png

The original 30-day challenge got extended to 40 days (last I saw). I've added the last two to make it an even 42 tracks.

Also, there is no need to try and do a post every day. You're creating your ultimate mixtape, and quality is far better than quantity - so take as much time as you need to do so.


What is SBI?

Steem Basic Income is a wonderful initiative to increase the upvotes on your posts. Every share of SBI you have will go towards providing upvotes on your content.

For more information, follow the @steembasicincome account, and check out their discord server


Guidelines

  1. Create a post about a track. Include either an audio or video link (or both) to the song. More importantly - tell us a story! What is it about this song? Why have you chosen it? What's the story or memory anchored to it? Feel free to use pictures (appropriately referenced) as well as words.
    You can choose any track to enter the contest.
    And you can enter as many times as you like, and create a post

  2. Use the tags #song-challenge and #hifimixtape for each post.

  3. Link back to this post so others can find it.

  4. To be eligible for the SBI vote, put link to your post in the COMMENTS for this post. That way I'll be able to check it out.

  5. More importantly... upvote & resteem this post. The bigger the reward pool for this post, the more I can give out to great content.

  6. Upvoted other peoples' posts in the contest, and leave comments to explain what it was about their post/track you loved.

  7. Have fun, and play your music LOUD!

Initially, I'm setting aside a total of 7 SBI this week. I'd like to be able to sustain this over 6 weeks, and be able to sponsor an SBI for each track totalling 42 SBI. If we can gather a large enough pool of STEEM, then we can make this happen.

My votes will come down to the quality of the post, not necessarily because I like the track.

I will announce the winners in a post at the end of the 7 days from this post.

Only posts which meet the guidelines will get voted.


Please don't stop the music
-Rihanna



Listen to the music
All the time
- Doobie Brothers


Enjoy, have fun, & turn it up to 11!
😊🙏🏽🎸


MADE FOR STEEMIT
Soundtrack for this post can be found on this month’s HI-FI MIXTAPE playlist

left.gifmetametheus.gif
Sort:  

What an interesting idea! Today my VP is feeling kind of depressed. I'll try to put up my first post for this challenge later today.

You’ve got 3 days to post your entry, hope to see it soon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

https://steemit.com/song-challenge/@riverflows/weddings-death-row-ship-songs-and-thunderstorms-of-creation-3-tracks-for-the-mixtape-3-42-songs

I did this a little differently I think but I hope it's ok. I could easily do it once and then do it again with totally different songs. I definitely don't think I could post about songs everyday as I have other things to write about but I am certainly loving doing it like this. It was such fun that I will have another one for you tomorrow

Hi guys, addind a song from a Czech music band to this contest. Hope you enjoy it!: https://steemit.com/song-challenge/@livadija/czech-traditional-folk-music-in-a-modern-way

Ha we just resteemed each other!!sounds fun... but very hard to choose!!! Oh, the mix tape days.....so many memories....oh and I have a great pic of my son walking across this crossing a few years back with my sister in law and her friends to make 4.. classic. I'll see if I can find it for you.

So I pick say side A track 4 and go with that, from the table? Or whatever track listing? Can i do a few tracks in one post?

Posted using Partiko Android

You can pick any track. Or even do as many as you can in the next 7 days.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't want to flood my blog with just one thing so I might do 3 this week and 3 the next and so on full stop can I do that

Posted using Partiko Android

At this stage, the SBI give-away is only for this week, but I’d love to be able to keep it going and be able to award a total of 42 posts... which could go for a few weeks I imagine.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @metametheus,
I like the idea of the mixtape, but I don't feel like repeating the song-challenge themes from 1 to 42. I already wrote a lot of lyrics for the song-challenge, for every theme. I don't want to repeat that, then I'd rather continue with Day52.

Hi mate. I didn’t realise you were up to 52.

The problem is I don’t read German, so I haven’t been able to keep track. I’d love to know what the ‘themes’ are beyond 42, as I’d love to keep that going also.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @metametheus! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Three very good entries so far from @riverflows and @livadija....

There’s the standard set.

3 days to go, get your entries in for SBI....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05