📀🎸 The Dark Side Of Love


Sometimes relationships suck, and the fallout from breaking up can suck even more. For today's entry, I realised that there was a story to tell. So here it is.

Following on from this post about the 30-day #song-challenge by @connecteconomy here is my entry for today.


DAY 4:

A song that reminds you of someone you'd rather forget.

Back in 2012, I separated from my wife after seven years. It was mutual. The hardest part though was being separated from my daughter, as I was a very involved dad, and I love her to bits. She was only six then, having only just started school.

I started seeing someone a few months later, she had two boys and had gone through the whole divorce thing a few years back. She was always giving advice to me about how to handle the separation, the divorce, the financial settlement, and how to become a co-parent.

My ex also re-partnered around the same time, and was highly reactive to my pro-active requests to sort everything out and make a clean break. But the dynamic there wasn't quite as good as it could've been. And this began to create a strain in my new relationship.

It got to the point that I found myself dealing with two women who wanted something different from me, and I felt I was being pulled in two different directions. And all I wanted to do was raise my daughter and get on with my life.

I got a copy of this album during this period, and this song is the soundtrack to those moments.


Birds of Tokyo
The Dark Side of Love
from their 2010 self-titled album
268x0w.jpg

Listen to this track on the STEEMIT SOUNDS: SLIGHT RETURN soundtrack

 
Birds of Tokyo are a great Australian rock band, and this album became a huge hit for them. I highly recommend the whole album, there is not a single track on it that is a dud.

They originate from Perth, Western Australia and are a collaboration between members of two different bands, Tragic Delicate and Karnivool (another very awesome act, but a lot heavier. Check them out if you like Tool or Helmet)

After several months of fairly stressful life, and about six months after the divorce finally was settled, I broke up with my (new) partner, as I discovered that she had been cheating me out financially, as we had opened a business together. Not only that, but she had started to refuse my daughter to be around her, and she'd also begun to spread rather nasty and untrue gossip about me amongst others in my professional field. I also believe she had begun to cheat on me with someone else, however I was never able to get anyone to confirm that (in that they wouldn't confirm it, but never also denied it).

Breaking up with her was difficult, and it was more like the bitter divorce struggle that you see in films or hear about than what I had gone through with my ex-wife.

It was this next song which helped me gain some perspective of all of that in the darkest moments.

Free by Primal Scream
from Give Out But Don't Give Up (1994)
Listen to this track on the STEEMIT SOUNDS: SLIGHT RETURN soundtrack

R1009192414914654643246.jpeg.jpg

Got a sad destructive feelin'
Creepin' through my soul
When i'm awake and when I'm dreamin'
Just won't leave me alone
I know you've got another lover
I know you've got something to hide
You've been acting kind of nervous
You can't look me in the eye
I can tell, I can tell
I can tell you're cheatin' me
You're cheatin' me
Cheat, cheat, you're cheatin' me
Oohh, Baby,
I'm free of you
Oohh, Baby,
Free of you

 
I'm still very fond of these songs, even though they remind me of those dark times. I certainly don't feel attached to the memories of how I felt back then. In many ways, both these songs are celebrations of making choices that have made my life subsequently better.

Yes, I'd rather forget those day, and I'd rather forget those two people. However, my life would be very different had it not been for their involvement in my life. I think those experiences have helped shape who I am today.



MADE FOR STEEMIT
Soundtrack for this post can be found on this month’s STEEMIT SOUNDS playlist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94