Sous Vide - how to eat a raw vegan

in #sous-vide6 years ago (edited)

sous-vide-cooker.jpg

I am super happy with this Sous Vide cooking method. Sous Vide is French for "under vacuum", you put the food into a bad, squash or suck the air out, submerge in water and then slow cook it at about 55-60 Deg. Celcius for about 2 hours. After that you can pan fry in butter or ghee, to give the char grilled flavour and look, but I prefer to use a blow torch as this is zero mess.

I have been eating about 1kg of grass fed beef a day, once a day and nothing else. I am not a great cook and cooking steak can be kind of messy. Also, the fat is actually a super food, so It seams a pity to have to wash it off the walls, frying pan, plate and floor instead of eating it all.

This is not a cheap way to eat, it costs about 680THB per day or 22USD/day. I only go food shopping once about every 10 days though and hardly ever eat out or snack. My body weight is about 58kg, so I am basically replacing my body weight in red meat every 2 months.

As a bit of a bio-hacker and minimalist, it is very interesting to eat in such a simple way. When I add plants back into my diet, I either notice zero benefit or it get itchy skin, sleep badly or get mild to explosive dioreha.

This is not a religion, sometimes I will eat normal food like pizza or ice-cream, very rarely I enjoy some bread, but often go for weeks with nothing but beef or fish. I do like to eat Ghee (clarified butter) and I do put Himalayan Salt on my food, otherwise I get cramps in my toes and feet.

I enjoy a coffee in the morning and Soda water in the evening, sometimes I add freshly squeezed lime juice from the garden, but I don't seem to need the vitamin C and do not get sick at all any more since I started eating like this over a year ago. I actually notice everyone else getting sick, but I don't. I also keep a six pack even when I dont move for weeks, this is truly an amazingly easy high performance way of eating.

sous-vide-preburn.jpg
Pre-charring the all the fat is caught in the juices, I just drink this, cut the fat cap off and eat it before using the burner to char the meat. Lately I do not bother to char the meat, it tastes great with out it and I'd rather not use up disposable gas canisters if I don't need to.

sous-vide-finished.jpg

This was the first one I cooked, and I over cooked it. The flesh was still moist though. Now I only cook for 2 hours or 2.5 if the meat is frozen when I put it into the water.

sous-vide-lid.jpg

I was able to use this old ice-box that had a broken lid. I leave the water in the insulated box after use for next time.

sous-vide-lid1.jpg

I used this very cool vibrating "craft-tool" to cut a hole in the lid for the immersion heater.

This Sous Vide machine is basically an immersion heating element with a thermostat, timer and a very basic touch interface. It has a small propeller on the bottom to circulate water. It has a removable clamp so that you can attache to a pot or deep pan. Some of the more expensive devices can interface with your phone via bluetooth or wi-fi, but this one was not super expensive at 3,700 THB or 120.00USD

It has a high and low water level mark, it is important not to run it dry or use it for boiling water. I usually pick up my beef, already cut and vacuum sealed into the bags I cook in. Otherwise I can use a food safe zip lock bag and push it under water with the food in it, but leave the open top of the bag dry, this squeezes all the air out, so I can seal it.

sous-vide-steak.jpg
This one I finished in the frying pan, though I could of cooked it less, perhaps at 55 degrees C for 1.5 hours, then even hotter in the pan with butter or ghee.

Bon appetit!

=8-P

Sort:  

Thank you. Good article. I am a supporter of a healthy diet. I really do not like fat. I always remove it from food. Meat without fat, the presence of vegetables and fruits - a pledge of health. In our family we eat only these foods.

Well we eat what we can, I am very fortunate to be able to experiment with eating only grass fed meats. Many, perhaps even most people will never be in that position, even if they were curious and crazy enough to try it.

Thanks for sharing recipe and food looks delicious. Once i tried eating 150 gram of meat, but it started paining in my stomach.
Any suggestion for making it easy to digest?
Its great that you can eat good quantity of meat. Thank you once again.

If your stomach acid is low you will not be able to digest it well. That may also inhibit the ability to dissolve calcium also. I like to eat meat on its own with no fibre from vegetables or fruit.

It did take me about 6 weeks to switch over to using fats for fuel after a lifetime of using plants and carbohydrates. Then another 3 years of playing with that to get to how I eat now.

Yes, this can be the reason for improper digestion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03