Avid newbee SPEARO

in #spearo6 years ago

I’ve been going over and over, in my head for quite a while; say more than a month (5 weeks), since joining the ‘steemit’ community on what I should bring to you; especially for my first post.

I’m thinking I will tell you about my first ever spearfishing trips 3 weeks back. So I carefully plan what to write, oh well, I began writing then realised I didn’t have much images or photos to show for.

I will certainly not repeat this and I assure you I’ll bring to you great photos. For now, though, I’ll make do with what I have and with Google’s help, I’ll show some images for reference or convenience.

Enjoy.

I have recently (since Feb’18), become an avid spear fisher or spearo, as is called these days. It’s a very interesting fishing method and is (in my novice opinion) a very sustainable fishing practice. I’ve been hearing myself tell friends that of all fishing methods or practices, spear fishing has no wastes or by-catches.

When spearfishing, you get to choose what to shoot at. There is close to zero chance of any by-catch. I have come to experience the lifestyle, enjoyment and stoke that Spearo’s experience. By the way, “Spearo” is a common way to refer to a person that practices spearfishing.

Anyway! Enough of the lecture…

Being a newbee to spearfishing, I’ve been watching videos after videos on YouTube and other related blogs, reading articles online and others. And… I sorta made a speargun myself. The trigger was something. I just couldn’t replicate from my countless reading or watching online so I decided on some changes.

So, now I have a gun to fish with and 3 weeks back, I’m heading out on my first spearfishing trip. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The coral, the different colours, life underwater…, simply awesome. After almost 3 hours of diving, half the time catching my breath, I ended up shooting only one; a 4.2kg Surgeonfish. It was as big as my arm; just about my elbows.

Not bad for a first timer…

Surgeonfish3.jpg
This isn’t the actual image but just for your reference.

Our first stop was a village called Salamaua

Salamaua.jpg

Then onwards to the dive spot, Mindregutu island.

The shore. Once inhabited.

Beach.jpg

The images below are not from my diving trip but I’ve been surfing through the net and these look similar to the reefs we were at.

The reef lifefish_diversity_surgeonfish et al.jpg

Man! I tell you... the reef was literally crawling all over with these Blue-lined Surgeon fish and the Triger-Fish.

I don't know; but I seemed to be approaching them the wrong way; I guess? Just couldn't even get an aim. It was hilarious to my swim buddy.

The Blue lined surgeon fishBLUE LINED SURGEONS 2-S.jpg

The Trigerfish
triger-fish-attack_1.jpg

Apologies again…, I’ll make sure to get plenty of shots on my next trip.grouper-reef-species.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @alqo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @alqo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75