My Wedding Speech Fail

in #speeches6 years ago (edited)

I'm the grooms favorite child (I'll fight you!) and also a bridesmaid. Based on family tradition, I may have procrastinated on this speech- so don't judge me.

This guy isn't just my dad, although it's pretty awesome that he is. Ever since I developed the ability to reason, my dad has challenged me to question and solidify my ideals. If you have ever seen us together, we are usually in a corner somewhere, debating politics or philosophy. He asks the hard questions. This is the guy who read encyclopedias at the breakfast table, who took me to museums and taught me way more information than any docent ever could. He's uber creative. Put a task in front of him and he can make something killer to fulfill it. We made so much cool stuff together- a suit of armor out of nothing but cardboard and paint, a doll replica of Cleopatra, a wood burned map of Missouri. He taught me how to learn a new skill before YouTube and google were a thing. My dad taught me to safely use a knife at a young age, and trusted me to use it wisely (or suffer the consequences with a minimum of tears and a complete lack of sympathy. Dad is merciless when you make a stupid mistake. Especially if he already told you the right way to do it). He might drive you crazy with his hard fought opinions, but he is ridiculously generous with his time and resources. Not everyone gets a dad, let alone a great one, like I did. However, everyone should be so lucky to have a person like him in their lives.

When I first met Katrina, our family was going through a crisis. A good friend that we grew up with committed suicide- not an easy situation to meet your future daughter in law in for the first time (she didn't know it then, but I did). Katrina handled it with the grace that would characterize all our future interactions. She was a major comfort during a terrible time. I am eternally grateful to her for being our steady rock in the middle of a raging sea- for being a part of our family that we didn't even know we were missing.

I knew Katrina was perfect for Dad when she showed me her books. Dad has wooden ammo boxes full of books- Katrina has shelves. Much like their relationship, they might store things a little differently, but in the end, what's at the heart is the same.

Welcome to the family, Katrina. I am proud to call you Mom.


So this was a fail for a couple of reasons. To start with, I picked up a monster cold from my niece, Piper, right before the wedding. Like, I looked like Rudolph and the skin was peeling from around my nose, everyone-avoided-me-like-I-had-leprosy sick. Also, I was super nervous. My hands were shaking so bad I couldn't read the speech off my phone. This is the third wedding speech I have given (seriously, why do people keep asking me to do speeches?) and probably the worst one out of the bunch. Also, the bride and groom caught my cold and spent half their honeymoon sick.

Interested in how one of my other speeches went? (Hint: It was also a disaster) Check out That One Time I Called My Best Friend a Mutant at Her Wedding



Words are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

You just received a RockyMtnSteem Community dividend in the form of 0.01 SBD for being awesome! We suggest you spend this one by sending it to @steemitboardpool with the memo “worldcup2018” in order to get registered for the first Steemit World Cup Contest! These dividends were generated by selling @rockymtnsteem votes via smartsteem! If you like these community dividends, upvote this post to generate more which will be distributed evenly to the active community members!

Hey Kara, I was so touched by the speech and the photos. What a happy couple there. Their eyes say it all. You and Katrina look like you had a very nice spoiled morning at least. The robes are a perfect match with the wedding colors.

I'm sorry you weren't feeling well and that it got started that way. Good thing their actual beginning has been so solid and that you've had so many ways for them to speed right into the "in sickness" part of the vows.

May that be an auspicious omen of forevermore good health for them! (Flipsies are good.)

💘

I have a feeling I would have done worse... I can put words onto paper but read them aloud?? you gotta be jokin.

Beginning to understand why you are so awesome, Kara. Your Dad sounds and amazing as does your new mom. Everyone looked so beautiful. I think the speech was lovely and real. Too bad about the colds but I think stress probably had a lot to do with that. Pass on my congratulations:)

Congratulations to the happy couple!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82