A Tantric Black Yogini Weighs In On The Wisdom of Experience: The Blessings of Dhumavati

Who is Dhumavati?

In my Vulva Wisdom Oracle© , this is the Tantric Wisdom Goddess Dhumavati. Embodied she is a powerful mature single wombn, possibly “widowed” or without a partner which is a stigma in many cultures even today.

Note: The words Woman and Female don't give the feminine it's own identity so I will be using the word wombn




divider-1024.png

She is the veil that separates waking reality from the world beyond the physical. Many fear her because she is wise and sees through deception.

She reduces the ego by seeing through it. She sees through phoniness in social mores and chooses her lovers, she may have her own money—but regardless knows how to take care of herself. Many of these wombn make up her own rules if she allows herself to be blessed by Dhumavati. She knows the power of her womb and may be a long practitioner of tantra and/or Taoist yoga, which are strongly sexual yoga based and focus on rejuvenation practices. She is in fact very sexually active with or without a partner(s) and enjoys the finer things in life including an active social life.




divider-1024.png

These wombn are either working through consciously and deliberately or have worked through and resolved their own emotional bitterness, jealousies and envy—or at least recognizes it in herself and does not feel ashamed or project it on others, she owns her shit. She ages with her wellbeing and health as a high priority and has little time or patience for nonsense. Her more mainstream counterparts wonder why she has the energy and appearance of a younger person and probably relies on natural healing as a first course of action in her own health plan. She understands that many ills and ailments are centered in the womb, liver, and kidneys due to aging without addressing emotions of bitterness, regret, and jealousy and recognizes that engaging in rabid competition and envy of her younger and in demand sisters is a futile practice. She knows how to physically take care of herself during the “change of life.”




divider-1024.png

She is often depicted as ugly, “haggish”, toothless, unkempt, etc at worst and a "cougar" at best—all patriarchal labels.




Unconscious, she often does not know the power of her womb. By the way, Dhumavati's amrita (spiritual power) is illusion/smoke and mirrors. The cosmetic industry both surgical and chemical has a huge stake in goddess wombn of Dhumavati in her unconscious phase. She is a wombn of “emptiness” meaning nothing can “hold” her she is free. Dhumavati also is associated traditionally with the experience of suffering; mentally, physically and emotionally. The purpose only your soul knows and you have to connect with this more knowledgeable part of yourself to understand what is going on. She is the wisdom of knowing when to let go—final acceptance of death and change. She is an aspect of Kali but does not have the regenerative force of Kali. For Her death is final.
divider-1024.png



The reason for this introduction is to acquaint the reader with the part of Tantra that is an essence teaching. The definition of living a tantric life is this:

  • Tantra is a path of living in harmony with the natural world and the larger multilayered universe; the organic alkhemy which comes from weaving personal and spiritual energies is the magic that is tantra.
  • Why "tantric black yogini?" It's who I am and have been for 30 plus years is the simple answer. My experiences are definitely not that of the younger yoginis of any race.
    divider-1024.png

My experiences as a Black wombn in the yoga community is definitely different as even the way hatha yoga is practiced is different now than it was when I first started which was in 1978. My second yoga teacher was a wonderfully eccentric Black tantrika who I studied with for many years. Her classic hatha yoga style of teaching was under the same teacher from a yoga center in Cleveland, Ohio I studied with although we didn't take classes at the same time. My tantrika was a wild cross between Kali as Chamundi, Lalita, and Oya! A beautifully destructive Kali yoga witch if ever there was one.




divider-1024.png

She was a practitioner of 'dark chaos magick' i.e. Aleister Crowley and Abermelin.
I now know these men and their cults are very vampiric and are practicing chaotic aspects of Afrikan magic—specifically the Kemetic traditions. They will never know the real deal because it is one of those things in the dna that cannot be duplicated or cloned. The portals for these teachings must be opened to you. Otherwise there is a great deal of deception, false teachings, imposter spirits, etc.



divider-1024.png

I do know a strong hatha practice does help to ground you and gives you discernment if you choose to enter initiation into the deeper mysteries. Mother Kali led me simultaneously to the Dakinis, ShriVidya, Lalita and Kemetic initiation. I've come to love Mother Kali as a result of my teacher's introducing me to Her. That was my main takeaway with Shakala, my teacher.

It was through Kali as my teacher I came to know myself as a daughter of the Black Mother. It was the Black Mother as Kali who led me to deepen my yoga practices to become more
'kundalini, less hatha. These are my yoga roots.




divider-1024.png

After researching the "tantric" movement which is more 'neo-sexual tantra, the yogini/yogi/yoga movement, and the more recent Black yoga movement I see there is a real need for more experienced yogis/yoginis to stick around. Though no longer on Instagram, while there I saw it flooded with beautiful young yogis and yoginis in various asanas showing what is possible with a well-tuned body. It is important to be flexible (in mind and body) as that is the original purpose of hatha yoga (all of the different schools where the emphasis is on flexibility and bringing the body under the control of the mind are hatha yoga schools no matter what the creators call them). Hatha yoga prepares the body for long periods of meditation—clears the nadis—which is a part of the subtle nervous system, strengthens the entire glandular and nervous system as well as calms the emotions. But, asanas and pranayama are only a small part of the whole picture and on the tantric path, asana or "seat" becomes the entire being; it reveals the inner condition of several layers of your being.




divider-1024.png

I often wonder how many yogis and yoginis of Instagram meditate, know their inner conditions, do mantras, etc. What I'm saying is not a negative against what is happening in the yoga community only a meditative observation on what the younger ones want from their yoga practice; there is so much more potential for a deeper, richer personal experience.

What I have seen is that without an experienced and grounded teacher and/or support when all of the "stuff" comes up as a result of the clearing nature of yoga all hell breaks loose in the aspirant's life. Even in hatha yoga. Emotions can be out of control, trigger points are heightened, desires can be uncontrollable. And that's just the practitioner's stuff. Yoga can also work on the ancestral cellular level and astral frequencies. Old wounds, experiences, and unresolved relationship issues will often surface sending the person down confusing paths. A reliable, supportive lineage is a big help in keeping somewhat centered when the going gets really tough.

From time to time I will blog about my journey so far as a Black tantrika. I've built up a legacy from the years of practice, teaching, magical unfolding, working through my own delusions, deceptions, self depreciation anger, rage, insights, love journey, resolutions, etc. My experiences can be either a cautionary tale and/or pathway of healing for those who embrace the yogini/dakini path. The jewels here real and I invite you, for those interested, to journey with me.


Head to the sky, feet rooted in earth - Awakened Oracle


Sort:  

@awakened-oracle Terrific write-up. Certainly This is often truth in each individual state. Upvoted.

@awakened-oracle, I loved the article and the content of the history shared. I admonish you to speak more and lend your voice and wisdom in the area of the comment you made in this post ..." how many yogis, yoginis meditate, know their inner condition, do mantras. Could you please give us more post and speak on this on this Steemit platform. In my brief study (and I do mean brief) of mantras what I found to be a practice that could be highly beneficial could also be to one's detriment if not practiced properly, therefore I chose to leave my pursuit of 'mantras - doing until' I could be properly guided into the practice. Overall what I know as a student and teacher in the realm of wholeness is my work with affirmations has proven to be powerfully beneficial and also know that the words we speak hold power mainly because of our intentions behind them. I truly would like to know more. And much success to you, I will be following you and when my steem builds up I will send you upvotes.

Thanks for your input. I've been doing mantras since 1989 and the only ones I've found that can be a bit dicey are the ones dedicated to harming or selfish purposes--some call dark magick primarily using the ten Wisdom Goddesses aka Mahavidyas. They all have bhakti mantras which are devotional and totally safe and Tantric mantras which should be done after being guided how to use them and for heart centered reasons. I will be posting more on modern yoga as time goes on...

I dedicated my life to the Morrigan years ago, sending me into a Celtic Spiritual journey. I've come into a new world of seeing the Dark Mother in all of her aspects, all of her forms. It always makes me happy to find like-minded souls. While I've not worked with Kali extensively, she's been with me many times; especially in facing my ego. I've begun studying Kemetic beliefs as well as I've always had a strong pull towards Ancient Egypt since I was a child. Come to find out, Anpu has been with me all along as well. Anywho...I enjoyed this post and I look forward to hearing more about your journey!

I'm glad you enjoyed the article. I've found that the 'dark mother' calls (sometimes silently) when someone is entangled in heavy shame, guild, sexual power confusion, etc. She makes you face your fears head on so that you can fulfill your destiny. Anpu is the business! He's led me out of some tough situations and revealed so much about what is really going on. I love Anpu...

Awesome article!!! I think your going to find some likeminded individuals on here who will enjoy your work.

Thank you, I'm looking forward to meeting them...

Congratulations @awakened-oracle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @awakened-oracler, this post is the ninth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1515 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2832.79. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Nice article! I love Yoga! Follow you

Yoga in all its form is a wonderful practice thanks for following!

Great blog thanks for sharing - Jai Kali Ma 🕉💖😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99