When You Move Beyond Labels, Rules, and Guidelines

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

blackwhite.jpg

I remember when I labeled myself as a Libertarian, and I found a local group of Libertarians and Anarchists. Except most of them self identified as Anarchists. Well, I wasn't quite comfortable with that label. It took a good little while to grow on me. I remember asking all them why they felt such a need to identify so strongly with that label. And before I knew it, I was calling myself one. It wasn't something I worked up to. It wasn't something I made a decision about. One day I was writing, and I just called myself an Anarchist. I was a little surprised by it. Was I ready for that? Sure, whatever.

And then came the time of proudly identifying. I was very proud of my Anarchist label. I was very proud to be in the company of others who self identified as Anarchists. I thought they were the most brilliant people on the planet.

Before Anarchist, Libertarian was the only label I had ever really felt comfortable identifying with in my life. Before that I guess I referred to myself as a Liberal - but only in the stark contrast to all the Conservatives all around me. I knew what I was not, didn't really know what a Liberal was, and just thought that I must be the opposite of what I'm not, which was a Liberal. When I really learned what it was, I was outta there.

I never was totally gung-ho about Capitalism. I researched the other pronouns and didn't think any of them made sense, so by default I said well I guess I'm a Capitalist. Makes the most sense. One of my favorite things about using that label was to bend the minds of the young milennials who were dead set against Capitalism and yet had no idea what it was. All they knew was they didn't like our system.

Moving Beyond

Fast forward. There came a time when I opened up. I noticed that there were intelligent people around me who had other ideas for how we move forward. Maybe it didn't mean that they were ignorant if they didn't call themselves Anarchists or Capitalists. I decided to allow myself to not be rigid and to just listen. What I came to is that these are all limiting. Who was I to say what would really work? After all, humanity is evolving an changing, and maybe in the future another system entirely will really work and benefit us all.

See, I lost the need for those labels. They're constricting.

Labels bring out the very worst in people. Whether it's yoga or Anarchy or Anarcho-Capitalism or Liberalism, people are going to try to out-Liberal each other, out Anarcho-Capitalist each other, out-yogi each other. And it is very tribal. These groups are very constricting even if the ideals they uphold are about the opposite of that.

5dd31ba4009904d0a4813f6ebfc84d53.jpg

The Next Tier of Consciousness

But that doesn't really matter. My point is: it's ok to not have a label. You know what? It's better not to. A moral code doesn't come from the heart. People who are coming from the heart don't need Anarcho-Capitalism or any other label to dictate how they operate in the world. This is simply an advancement in consciousness. To evolve beyond these labels and moral code is to be in touch with our pure awareness. It means the ego is having less and less hold. It's losing its grip, and our consciousness is more and more identifying with what's beyond the ego.

The world is very rigid. And people aren't going to break out of that until they're ready and it's time. Some people jump from one ideology to the other. They need that label, that ideology to tell them how to think and behave. Which is all a mental construct and isn't even real. All it is is a set of words and ideas and duality.

You either understand that, or you don't. And it's not a mental understanding. It's not a logical understanding. It's awareness that can't be constricted into tiny human made constructs. It's an open-ness, an expansion. It's not a rejection of any of the labels. It's a moving beyond them.

Transcending good vs bad, black vs white, this vs that isn't a rejection of those things. It's a moving beyond and the sign of a healthy, expanding awareness. A healthy expanded awareness can accept paradox.

Human consciousness will be expanding more and more in this direction at a faster and faster pace, and in the coming years black vs white systems will be deteriorating at the rate of the acceleration toward this next level of consciousness.

8c4.jpg

"When your consciousness is limited through patterns of overstimulation, the nervous system deletes from your perception anything that contradicts your most stringent beliefs. As consciousness expands, engrained beliefs dissolve. In their absence, your nervous system relaxes to welcome the arrival of greater possibilities."
-Matt Kahn

Image 1 Source

My work on Steemit is possible because of @kennyskitchen, his project, @tribesteemup, @adamkokesh's support of that project, and @whatamidoing. Thanks to my supporters @indigoocean, @movingman, @becomingwhtur, and @vincentnijman. You can support, evolve, and expand my work empowering Steemians to have massive impact by adding @brightstar to autovote. ❤️


What is Steemit?
Steemit is a social media site on the blockchain. The blockchain is a revolutionary technology which decentralizes power and money. Steemit is the hottest new blogging site where we reward each other with cryptocurrency for contributing valuable content by upvoting it. Each upvote gives the content producer Steem, which is a currency on the blockchain that can be held as an investment or traded for US dollars! Accounts are free, and when you sign up you're given free Steem to begin upvoting content you like. You can also start earning Steem yourself!

How do you become part of this vibrant, leading edge community?
Go to https://steemit.com and click "sign up."

Sort:  

“When you call yourself an Indian or a Muslim or a Christian or a European, or anything else, you are being violent. Do you see why it is violent? Because you are separating yourself from the rest of mankind. When you separate yourself by belief, by nationality, by tradition, it breeds violence. So a man who is seeking to understand violence does not belong to any country, to any religion, to any political party or partial system; he is concerned with the total understanding of mankind.”
― Jiddu Krishnamurti

labels only serve to divide us which is opposite of what is needed
all you really need to know is the difference between right and wrong based on natural law.

Somebody commented with that quote to me here on Steemit before. Was it you? :)

ooh.. a memory test... I don't THINK so but I won't guarantee it.
The key word is "call".

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

If I would put any label on myself, it would be that of a storyteller.

The good thing is, that we all have our (own) stories to tell
so it's a general label
and, besides that, it sound positive and creative

Great post, well written and so true

C ya! :>)

@brightstar You have received a random upvote from @transparencybot for not using bidbots on this post and using the #nobidbot tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71