To almost die is to live.

in #spirituality5 years ago

Again and again a main theme comes to me: that man seeks a substitute for missing something in life. I think that we humans are deeply spiritual beings who need to be in resonance with the spiritual.

We like to scientifically explain the events of this world, but that is not enough. I notice it from the fact that, as science is perceived, it soon becomes a kind of superknowledge itself, because we no longer know exactly where we are supposed to go and where our striving should be directed.

In fact, I think that high technology and our lack of spiritual experiences have led us to accept a cheap replacement and seek compensation experiences.

Literature, series, cinematics

This can be clearly seen in films that tell fantastic adventures, use strong symbolism and emotional enhancers so that we experience a world we don't have for at least these two hours. The immaturity of us modern humans I justify with it.

From what I think: it is not enough just to have experienced a virtual danger in order to become a mature personality. The danger must be experienced physically, one must have a kind of awakening experience so that one can emerge from it purified. This must be accompanied by the meaning and the field it creates. This field is people who give meaning in a group. Young boys had to take a maturity test to join the group of adult men. This test consisted, for example, in putting one's life in danger.

The fact that boys really died and some did not, was the meaning of this rite. It was made with consciously generated fear by the adults, for they were aware of what they had experienced because they had passed such a trial themselves. The passing on of this ritual can only be understood through personal and group mirrored experiences. Young people moved out to come back after a few weeks or months. Only then were they full members of the clan. With the scars and adventures they got and had on the way.

Drowning was a real act, not a symbolic one.

What was the baptism of St. John about?

The baptism included the real immersion in water and the feelings of fear of death and drowning during this process. Only when the experience was strong enough did a baptized person really understand what it was about. The symbolic action is therefore only an "as if", a meaning-reducing one, but it cannot replace the real experience.

The act of giving birth to an expectant mother cannot be simulated. A child will be born when the pregnancy has come to an end. The whole act of giving birth is one on a knife edge, the danger that mother and child can die in the process is real.

The tales and acts of substitution are so present that I am surprised that "no one" pays any attention to it. Films like "Vikings", "Lord of the Rings", "Doctor Strange" and many others show brutal fights, fears of death, defeating fear, dying for a meaningful cause. Warriorism and the archaic can be found in it. Rituals still and still.

The intellectual modern man is consumed by this form of sight. One may say what one wants. That none of the television viewers would be able even in the slightest to spend a night alone in the forest, because it would be true. Fear of nature has civilized us. At the same time, we have declared a distanced fight. With machines and technology.

A kind of indirect sadism is spreading,

a pathological exaggeration of death and dying brutally revealed in stories of a cinematic nature that cannot sufficiently examine the serial killer.

To be honest, can anyone explain this epic longing, the sheer mass of movies and series produced and consumed?

Not to confuse the content with pathology, but the never-ending want of it. When people have their awakening rituals, each at its own time, the need and necessity is no longer so strong to desire a continuous repetition of a thing, precisely because we have not yet had it.

What is not in balance here?

The adjective "matric" means: from matrical, after such pairs as English anatomical : anatomic; matrical from Late Latin matricalis, from Latin matric-, matrix womb, uterus + -alis -al

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/matric

The English-language Wikipedia spares itself the description of the word origin of "matrix". In contrast to the German version, where it says:

Matrix ([ˈmaːtrɪks], [ˈmaːtriːks]; lat. matrix "uterus", actually "mother animal". The majority of matrix is called - depending on its meaning - matrices [maˈtriːʦeːs]

Now, what is your interpretation of this?

Have you ever thought of the movie "Matrix" as something like a "womb"?

I didn't. For me, it was all mathematical, machines, computers, guns, power, war, mental processes. Nothing of a kind which could point to the notion of a womb.

Honestly, it didn't even occur to me that the incubators in which humankind was stored could symbolize a uterus. But of course, this association was clearly recognizable, if you knew how to pay attention to it in the noise of the movie. This naked Neo, who lay in a liquid nutrient solution, just like a fetus and dreaming. My consciousness didn't give me this interpretation immediately, but I perceived it unconsciously.

But the fact that very little is said about this translation and the circumstance probably has something to do with the fact that, just as in the English wiki version, the origin of the word - growing in the womb - seemed to be somehow secondary to the film itself. In any case, I was so fascinated by the fantasy of such a possibility to influence the Matrix in my thoughts that I saw nothing else. Neo with his black loden coat, the constantly threatening danger of Mr. Smith inside and the machine beings outside the Matrix didn't give me time to calm down.

One could almost believe that I was a bit slow on the uptake, just as I did not identify the boxes in which people were trapped as energy sources as wombs. But now that I am investigating this again, I notice that I don't need to be surprised at all. The incubators have nothing to do with a mother's womb. Nothing at all. The whole thing is a technical fantasy, an aberration creation of human life that has nothing to do with being born in real life. There are no machines at all that abuse us humans as energy cells. The whole thing is a pure imagination of technical feasibility. That's why I didn't immediately recognize the place where Neo was to dream as a "uterus", because for me it wasn't a "uterus".

When I think of the scene in which he decides to take the revival pill and then slips out of his prison - again a strong birth association - I feel uneasy, just like when I first saw the scene. And that was related to the fact that such a tall person, a man like Neo, is born like a little baby. It just doesn't fit. It's basically like an unnecessarily inflated version of birth. A missed experience that doesn't mean the birth itself. Because we all got out of this world after all.

Have a real party

Neo plays to us all the time what we missed ourselves. To escape death by a hair's breadth. Not once, but many times. And just look how the homecoming are celebrated. That you get dizzy from the welcome culture of the Zionists, who celebrate a big party after the danger seekers are back. That's what we call real fellowship. That's what we all want to have and that's how we want it to be.

As we are not having the real thing, we continue into having the unreal thing.

Talk of "risk minimization" and "safety" has got us where we are.

I was already proud of myself when, at low tide, I walked through the sea - the Baltic Sea - in almost four hours, from Amrum Island to Föhr Island. The power of the water felt my legs tug when we crossed a pril. My aching soles, scratched by the shells. It is a strange feeling to walk along where the deep water usually is. Where big ships sail. The short period of time in which one uses the low tide to make the hike drives one to hurry, makes one aware that one prefers not to stay there too long, to admire a marine creature or to dig up the lugworms. The water will come back.

But was this a ritual that made me feel as if I belonged to a community of people waiting on the other side of the island to put a wreath around my neck because I had managed to overcome my fear and give up my comfortable life for a while? Have we wanderers in any way taken time for ourselves to honor and reward ourselves? Arriving on the other side, we quickly went to a cafe in the pedestrian zone to order cocoa and ice cream. It all seemed so strangely meaningless to me. No one was awaiting us. No one gave a welcome and honored what we had gone through.

I did not feel like a pilgrim who had gone out to face a danger. It was just a tourist excursion where no one wanted to be embarrassed to say a few words of appreciation. As Rupert Sheldrake said in one of his lectures (not literally but how I remember it): "We are still nomads who compensate our nomadic existence by traveling to precisely those places that should give us a ritual experience, but do not. When we visit the monuments and holy places of the past, we cannot stay there, say a prayer and receive a blessing. Only tourist guides lead groups and unwind their knowledge there, they feed us with mere data. The blessing that we could actually take back with us and pass on to those at home does not happen."

I find this very true. Once I decided to visit a chapel on top of a hill during a vacation on an Mediterranean island. It was a quiet place, I sat alone on a bench and tried to say a prayer. I was desperately seeking for something I could do or use as an act of meaning. I did not succeed. It felt weak and I found myself isolated in a sea of a place somehow abandoned in its greater sense but still showed some remnants of formerly proceeded rituals. It gave me just a hint of what could be possible.

But of course: even the Sunday service is nothing but a substitute for something that the churchgoers have long given up. Praying and singing is a good thing. But the songs and prayers lack the real experience in advance. If we experience nothing awakening from a secure civilization, why should we come collectively together? The man himself who had been on the way as a pilgrim in order to have had trouble, hunger and thirst, will rather feel like a singer. As someone who, through the ritual of reflection and return, has to communicate something that is of substance. But how can we find a common ministry useful if from morning till night we don't really take control of the shaping of our lives? No, I better should say: To let go of control.

What is wild to us?

In the film "Wild" the leading actress and producer Reese Witherspoon says about her role:

By far, this is the hardest movie I've ever made in my life. I didn't hike a thousand miles, of course, but it was a different kind of physical rigor. I'd run up a hill with a 45-pound backpack on, and they'd say, 'Wait, that backpack doesn't look heavy enough. Put this 65-pound backpack on and run up the hill nine or ten times." We literally didn't stop shooting in those remote locations—we wouldn't break for lunch, we'd just eat snacks. No bathroom breaks. It was crazy, but it was so wonderful. It was complete immersion, and I've never felt closer to a crew. We literally pulled each other up the mountains and carried each others' equipment.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wild_(2014_film)

She talks of "complete immersion".

This full immersion, the close-up physical experience, is what we are looking for.

"Wild" is a good film that shows how broken we can be and what can help us to heal. Only a few have the courage to venture into the wild. I have long failed to see what this could bring me except painful bones, torn skin, a troublesome plague in a world where exposing oneself to it seems completely unfounded. Why do we want to make a pilgrimage? To experience an adventure and then to tell at home how exciting it was? Basically it can hardly be put into words. And it is also not necessary to do this excessively.

Nothing can prepare you for the fear and panic that we stand alone out there at night in the dark. It is one of the greatest trials a person can face. Not knowing whether it will have a good or a bad end is the reason for such a journey.

People have changed when they return. What they bring with them and shine lies in them, has gone into their flesh and blood. You can see it in their eyes. Something is different, something was not there before.

Even the three weeks in which my son went on a scout trip brought him back changed. All of a sudden he seemed leaner, emaciated, was filthy and exhausted. And yet he radiated for a short time and made a completely self-satisfied impression. Three weeks without any mobile phone or media on cobbler's rap through a foreign country. It's not the biggest of all courageous rehearsals, but it's something I wouldn't want to deny him under any circumstances.

What's all this for? To mature, of course. It makes people more responsible people. They gain in self-worth. All who know their own value are better companions, brothers, sisters, parents and grandparents. Better friends and colleagues. If people have had a life-changing experience, the chances are much better that they will love and be loved. This is still not a real guarantee. But a start.


Photo by Cristian Palmer on Unsplash
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash
Photo by Emanuel Hahn on Unsplash
Photo by Malcolm Lightbody on Unsplash
Photo by Dori Szigeti on Unsplash

Sort:  

A great post, Erica! So deeply thought. I have been finding myself annoyed with the latest series like Walking Dead, Vikings, Game of Thrones, etc. I just find it somehow offensive that these movies present death like it is not a big deal. Now, reading your article, I realized that this endless thirst for blood with no consequences is what annoys me.

You are so right that we are too far away from our "meaningful" existence and from our spirituality, that we hunt for it in an exaggerated semi-pathological way. I wonder how I haven't seen it till now?! It is so obvious!

Your post here helped me give an answer to myself why do I love hiking so much? Sleeping in the wilderness with who knows what animals around (we have bears, wild boars, and wolves here), walking with a 20-kilos backpack for 10 hours in the slopes, cooking on fire, seeking water, freezing with temperature hitting 1 degree Celsius at night, facing a thunderstorm in a tent, praying to stay alive (not that I want to experience it again). Why do I anticipate all this every year?! Now I kind of get it!

Hugs from me!

P.S. Greetings from my backpack and me :D
IMG_5385.jpg

Thank you from heart, Valeria, for this photograph of yours. It so much fits the expressed.
I admire that you go hiking and that you appreciate this. I never was a camper myself and actually disliked it very much. I had only little "adventures" (I'd prefer to say pilgrimages but then I'd lie) in nature (mountain, river, ocean).

My most powerful experience was pregnancy and giving birth.

Yes, one does not love the experiencing itself when it comes to get tough. It is nothing one longs for on purpose. But exactly the moments of anxiety and despair do change something... You describe it very vividly.

I am so glad that you feel the same way. This gives me hope that I am not "the only one" who has this thoughts and who misses often what one calls "spirituality".

My most powerful experience was pregnancy and giving birth.

These are quite experiences, though. Unfortunately, I couldn't give birth in a natural way and had a c-section. I was preparing for the birth of my baby during all pregnancy: exercised every day, went to a breathing technique lessons, read books and so on.

In the end, my doctor said that the baby was too big for my body to deliver and she didn't want to put me at any risk. So, I had a c-section.

I was very disappointed and got the feeling that they delivered my baby for me and I didn't play any part of it. I feel like I just went to the hospital, took a baby from there and got home :/ I think it is messing up with my mother identity to some extent. For example, I never say "I gave birth" because the truth is that I didn't :/ Just recently I even had a dream that baby Ru is adopted.

You are right that something changes when you have these experiences and something doesn't seem right when you miss them for some reason.

Anyway, I couldn't agree more with you that we are symbolic creatures and reality has many dimensions to us.

My heart feels with you. I can understand very well how you are. To let the child "be brought" and not having born it, is a missing thing that you share with many women in this world.

However, I would like to congratulate you once again on your motherhood. For nine months you have carried the life in the process of becoming within you and made all the changes and experiences that accompany it. You took on the risk of pregnancy. That alone is a courageous act and I respect this as a woman and mother in your name. That is why we are sisters in spirit and recognize our experiences. And now you are a mother and everything happens after birth as it happens to all women.

Your dream is like a message. It is a good thing. Something comes to the surface and wants to be looked at. Perhaps you asked yourself the question whether you should not have rather decided whether a normal birth should have been risky instead of your doctor. Maybe you were less happy with it than you felt or still feel? Since this matter cannot be cleared up afterwards, it hangs in the air somehow, doesn't it?

Such incomplete experiences want to be completed and I have often wondered how it can be accomplished.

I think part of it is the exchange we are doing right now. An authentic and honest communication among us women of the world.

It has happened to me in such a way that I could not feel completely that I gave birth to my child myself. Despite normal birth. But I had had a PDA laid for me (I would never do that again).

My biggest misfortune happened during the expulsion phase, when I had the emergency handle ("Kristeller"-handle after the doctor). This is now forbidden in some countries, but it is still used here and there in Germany. I suffered in these minutes a great fear of death and was afterwards severely depressed.

The worst thing was that I hadn't even known myself that I had suffered a trauma and nobody talked about it, not even my husband at that time. It was simply ignored and so I thought that everything was normal. And that fear of death was not a big deal and that I had survived. But if one does not hear this from the others, then it is as if it had never happened. My subsequent illness was then also a taboo and it is still in parts. My family doesn't want to talk about it. None of my friends ever speaks about the subject on their own, except when I give it the initial spark.

Today I see it this way: I was a completely healthy pregnant woman and would have had my child normally if the staff hadn't had some form of haste that has remained incomprehensible to me to this day. I never had the impression that I or my baby had been in danger and the only ones who disturbed were the hospital staff. Until shortly before the clinic stay I felt vital, healthy and confident. After that it was all different.

Basically, I don't blame anyone, because we live in such times. My sad story nevertheless made the rounds in the family and it at least led to a relative of mine living through a natural birth and not even having a perineal incision. I had talked to her a lot and made myself unpopular, explained the dangers of modern standards and the benefits of low intervention births.
She was quite annoyed by me. But for there to be any sense in my suffering, it has to be shared. For other women to gain this knowledge and decide what to do with it.

Sorry, this has become a long answer, because I am still very moved by the subject.

Thank you very much for sharing, Erica! I appreciate it a lot! You are right that we women share these experiences in common. I would say that similar to your situation my family members cannot fully understand what bothers me and just ignore it.

Fear of death... I completely understand you. Facing the unknown when you are in pain and have little control over the situation... this is so scary! It must have been very difficult for you to go through this alone with no support from friends and family!

Kreissler is still used here as well, although there is a big movement against it. The other thing is that we are at the top of the list of c-section frequency in Europe. C-sections are something like 40% of births or even more! I chose my doctor because she was pro-natural birth, but she recommended a cesarian after all. Even though I had my doubts, I didn't have the guts to oppose the doctor's recommendations (and don't think that I would ever have). And she had good arguments. Your relative must be a very brave woman after all!

Anyway, as you said, what's done is done. I just have to work on my mother integrity by integrating my other experiences as a mother :)

Yes, we are all brave women. I think I myself would have liked to undergo a more spiritual education and witnessed more women in real life being pregnant, giving birth and nursing babies. This for women is still the best learning field to become confident mothers ourselves. It was a bit late to start learning that after I gave birth. But to live with this reality in a more conscious and mature way. I must admit that I was immature the moment I decided on having a family. And that the tests of which I should have undergone earlier in life came parallel with the birth of the baby.
I overestimated highly my abstract ability to deal with giving birth and the after. I underestimated the power of living experiences or better: was not aware of it at all.

So I in a way stretched my puberty way into adolescence and had to learn then what I had not learned before.

All the best for you and Ru, Valeria! Let us stay connected and share our experiences.

Erika

Thank you, Erica! All the best to your family, too! See you soon!

Excellent writing. You explained very well one important reason for the superficiality of our epoch.

Thank you very much.
Do you have any suggestions which you found out to overcome superficiality?

It's difficult, but there are still ways to find some things that are true and meaningful.
Artistic endeavours are a powerful way to connect with our innermost self, were there are powerful emotions and perceptions we are barely aware of in ordinary life.

Love, all the forms of it, is also a potentialy infinite source of meaning, sharing something with others that goes beyond the ordinary aspects of life.

Most importantly, what you wrote is applicable to physical danger, but also to danger to the ego, ie. ego death, brought by meditation (and/or psychedelic drugs). Realising we are not a disconnected organism but really a part of the all-inclusive universe that is somehow experiencing itself is indeed a profound and rejuvenating experience.

Do you have any experience with that? With the death of the ego?
With me it is the case that my ego "dies" when I consciously part with it. I succeed better in my work than in my private life. When I notice that anger, rejection and judgement form, I say goodbye to it and immediately the difference in the relationship between me and a person is clearly noticeable. This shows that a conversation can develop much more benevolently than when the ego jumps on every sentence and wants to contradict, fight or manipulate. It makes working more fluid and a day is far less strenuous. :)

Yes, I've had many psychedelic experiences in the past which, for some moments, shattered the concept of the ego. This incited me to practice meditation regularly, and while the ego never "dies" completely, it is liberating to feel it lose its grip on our self.

I've had the same experience that you describe! Indeed we are more in control of our emotions than we usually think. When I get angry with someone, I try to act even more kindly than usual, which usually diffuses the anger and makes the situation more agreable for all persons involved.

I remember a very ludicrous moment of truth when in such an experience with psychedelic substance I said perfectly and absolutely honestly to a friend that she should immediately stop chattering stupid stuff. I saw that she was stressed and somehow twitching around and it seemed unnecessary to me to spread such excitement. I had a feeling of absolute sincerity and affection. In a normal ego state, you can't say something like that without endangering your friendship. On the same night, I was with all the people whom I looked behind their masks and felt a little sorry for, but to whom I felt at a silly distance that had nothing to do with pity but rather with compassion. In between I gave myself up to a stream of tears. But I did not feel the need to be comforted. ... Hard to explain.

Such experiences may help or be an initial spark for everyday life. After all, you can't change your consciousness all the time with a little remedy. That must succeed even without it. And some people aren't receptive at all or don't want to be, no matter what they take. They feel ashamed afterwards or make it small and ridiculous. Too bad about the experience ;-)

So happy, that you can confirm in the everyday experiences too.

I quite understand your experience. In such moments we are painfully aware of all the masks that we and others wear, and of the anxiety that is associated with preserving these masks (which includes the pressure of doing small talk to seem like a cheerful person). It's good that you were able to be honest with your friend, this is the basis of deep relationships.

A rare experience like this can be a great inspiration for how to handle "regular life".

A very good post, there is not much to add in fact. Rituals are only important if they represent a reality, just as appearance is important only if it hides the essence. At the moment when people stopped understanding that the ritual was simply a part of something else, and they began to believe that the ritual was in itself something independent, they did not understand it, and finally, they left it. It's like when people began to confuse the personification of gods and demons with the gods and demons themselves.

Drowning was a real act, not a symbolic one.

However, I see that there is a certain inevitability in what has happened. Civilization, as we now conceive it, is simply a desperate attempt to escape from nature. All these constructions, buildings, and material wealth have as their objective to distract us, as children, in the game of people, besides creating a safe environment in which we don't fear. The problem with security is that it is an enemy of liberty, and the proof of this is that we believe that locking ourselves in brick jails is better, because we are safe.

Security eliminates exposure, and the lack of exposure makes man weak, rather than physical in spirit, since he has never faced a challenge, has never been put to the test. And as we know, it is of little value to be strong when there is no danger and to run when strength is needed, or to be intelligent only when testing on paper and not in actions, and so on, since, as I said, when the essence of things is lost, only the appearance remains, and the appearance is useless.

Thank you, @vieira,
yes, you are right. I see the inevitability, too. For men it is even more difficult than for women. At least, when we become mothers, the greatest test lays ahead in giving birth. There are still enough women who give natural birth and midwifes who do not let themselves be fooled by modern medicine.

Physical strength means nothing nowadays, it only is important for a career in the sports business. Or to enhance the outer appearance without a deeper meaning.

I am glad that people do see this and that traditions do come back when it comes to pilgrimage.
In Europe, the pilgrim routes are being resumed and there are designated hiking trails and inns that offer pilgrims overnight accommodation and food. The longing for true experience and spiritual meaning is strong in man. Completely unreligious people or atheists set off to have a revival experience and to open up a space of experience away from modernity.

How is it with you in Venezuela? Are there traditions that are still alive or those that are being revived? It gives me reason to hope that a small part of humanity is not completely satisfied with security (and non-freedom).

You know what they say, you can put lipstick on a pig, but it will always remain a pig. (or something like that)

I usually have, in many areas, true hopes with respect to Latin American, because never went to the march with globalization and cultural Marxism is not so dispersed, so there is still something like a Latin American cultures.

But in Venezuela, and in some other countries like Argentina, culture is being completely destroyed, and with it, all kinds of traditions or symbolism, and of course, what such things symbolize.

People don't eat cultures or traditions, eat bread, and when there is no bread, then nothing matters.

On the other hand, there is something bad and something good in everything. The crises provoked in the whole region, at least, are making people more aware, both of politics and of their vulnerability (something that does not happen in Europe), therefore, I believe that the generations that are forming right now, are being much stronger and more mature than the past.

There is nothing that strengthens a person more than a true exposure to reality.

Thank you for giving this impression of yours. Much appreciated and I agree on what you say.
Always - I repeat myself - a pleasure talking to you.

Though I saw the Matrix, it's been many years and details elude me. However, I do agree that many would prefer to substitute the movie with the real adventure and that w/o outer awards or fanfare for having completed such journey's, many young people don't see the value in the hardship. At the same time, many adults don't push their children towards these kinds of experiences either. I love that you saw that glow in your son after his scouting adventure!
Great wrap-up points that those who've experienced the life-changing are at greater capacity to love and be loved, to have greater empathy and fortitude.
We are a society starved of ritual, or as you've mentioned the rituals are watched safely on a screen. Your article makes me want to get out and experience a challenging outdoor adventure!

Dear Kimberly,
thank you for giving your impression. I think it was a good decision to apply for the Boy Scouts four years ago. My son participated in already three journeys abroad and every time he came back a little changed. To walk with heavy backpacks is often no fun. He was so proud having faced the challenges. First thing he said when I picked him up from the bus station, was: "I need a bigger back pack next time". :)

As for us who became mothers (you in particular) we went through the process of pregnancy and birth which is in itself a challenge and life altering experience. Though it also can lack meaning if it's not supported by the group.

Do you have own experiences like hiking or river rafting or any of that kind?
yours E.

A thoughtful post. An exploration of the need for ritual, which has been part of socialization since the beginning of recorded history. Ritual does not always involve danger, but it does involve challenge.
I remember reading about Rabindranath Tagore's (Hindu) adolescent rite of passage, which is called Upanayana, I believe. This can be quite a simple affair, but his father made it into a life-altering experience. He took Tagore with him to the Himalayas and imparted lessons about values that mere lectures could not impart. This passage explains something of what they went through together.
As you know, I've no interest in faux terror. I enjoy exploring the imagination and wondering about what might be that we don't know, but actually simulating torture and suffering. I don't get it. And I don't think it's psychologically healthy.
Edit:
I was thinking, after I walked away from writing this comment, of something my mother told me many years ago. When she was in her 20s she nearly died from pneumonia. She had one of those so-called near death experiences. It was a profoundly religious experience for her. I believe it did change the way she lived.

Dear friend,
glad that you join here and thank you for the link and your example from your mother.

Records and interviews of those who had a near-death experience mostly say that these people are no longer afraid of death. Just recently an acquaintance received a pacemaker and he also referred to it and it seemed to me that he was doing much better than before. It may be that the experience is weakened again. But I believe that being close to death helps to reduce the fear of dying.

I think the original purpose of rituals was (and is) to endure pain and consciously face a challenge. But the whole thing loses its meaning if you don't know why you are actually getting a tattoo, for example, and there is no uniform group dynamic that supports it. By this I mean in particular the dynamics of not only peer groups but all age groups that belong to a community. If the young people are cooking their own soup and no adults or younger people are taking part in a ritual or being witnesses, it makes little sense.

To have survived death or danger it necessarily requires a positive and appreciative reflection by other people, otherwise the experience can be reversed and prove to be bad, terrible, cruel, and absolutely to be avoided. This is probably called "trauma". If a life-threatening event is marginalized, concealed, suppressed, it can lead to severe depression. The soldiers, for example, experienced this when they returned from the Vietnam War and had to endure how they were insulted and criticized by their own compatriots. It must have been incredibly difficult for these men to face all this and many, I think and read, became social victims in their own communities.

Mothers, who got their babies through c-section often report that they want to give birth next time naturally under all circumstances. There is a great need to be witnessed that it should be a challenge consciously and willfully chosen.

The whole theme touches me deeply, actually it seems one of my main topics in my life.
Yours E.

My mother's religious devotion gave her peace. She was smiling at the end and had prayer beads in her hands. I think not many are blessed with that experience.
As for children, I love mine dearly. But I felt like a prisoner throughout the process of giving them life. I'm sure my response is a reflection of an ornery, stubborn personality. I always wished there was a more efficient way to get the job done :)
I'm 100% in agreement with your appreciation of community as an important aspect of trauma. Trauma experienced alone and in shame, as was true of Vietnam vets, inflicts lasting wounds and does not ennoble.

HaHa! I am cheered by your answer. Stubborn and ornery personality. That is really funny.

The more efficient way - like caesarean section - would that have been a choice for you? One can enter this date beautifully in the calendar, it fits super into the concept of the hospital, is temporally exactly limited and makes no annoyances. Many cesarean sections can be performed one after the other. A very efficient thing, one might think.

Sorry, I am deliberately a little provocative. Because I think you might be quite content to have given birth to your children the old-fashioned way. Correct me if I am wrong. And if we were asked if we think giving birth is great and would like to remember this pain, the answer would be obvious: No.

But that is not the point, right?
;-)

I didn't like the nine months :) far too impatient for that. And you know, once the decision has been made, once the baby is coming, it is definitely coming. No changing your mind :))

:)) Oh, THAT! Yes, impatience about the last four weeks I felt myself. Gosh, I badly wanted to give birth, I can tell! My doc told me: "You should accept more what pregnancy comes with." I wanted to kill him. LOL!

Loading...

I see you're a man of culture as well.jpg

woman*

Interesting analysis on Matrix, and the rest of the films, I did not notice those details before. For the rest, I must say that I agree.

Thanks, @martinmcfly (I wish I'd know your real name),
I had a little thought of you while I was writing about the movies. It's interesting how we all see different things in novels and movies. Thank you for understanding the message.

My real name?.... mmmmm ...

Michael J. Fox ... I guess ... lol

Thanks to you!

Had to copy this into a word document, so I could highlight and take notes to fully understand as well as respond adequately! Can just see, how you were hissing at my last comment 😜

Of course, your first sentence already makes me want to contradict.. ahm sorry.. 😇

I can't believe, that everyone seeks a substitute for missing something in life. Actually, at least in our western world, most people probably don't. Many out of ignorance. For me, it is because of a sort of "acceptance". It is what it is, I don't question it. And that is, why I can define my "religion" in just a few words too.

Good is.

I think, particularly because we are trapped in a physical existence, our mind is not capable to even coming close to understanding the answers. Its far more, than a three year old trying to understand quantum physics... so why ask? Because a three year old would? Actually, it would be ok with me, but still there is no answer in eternity, that would be both, correct as well as understandable to the toddler 😳

That doesn't mean I haven't had my fair share of so called spiritual experiences. Or even those life threatening. I don't know, if being out in the sea on a tiny submarine or facing German traffic on a motorcycle count as one of the "rituals" you are referring to, but I have sat there many times thinking: "more luck than brains!" And I do hope, my (imagined) guardian angel will continue doing an awesome job!

I'm no big fan of the matrix trilogy. OK, entertaining. But the concept is ludicrous. I can't imagine an AI stupid enough, to make such an effort to get the energy needed, when there are much better energy sources available. By the way, I never thought the "breeding" aspect was for any more than creating more "batteries". Thing is, I'm sure every organism needs more energy in the end than it might produce..

In a much better story, I think H. P. Lovecraft wrote back in the 1930s, brains feed with sensory input in a laboratory supposedly had no way of telling they were not actually living a real life. The question remains, if such a brain, with all the experiences real to it, has a survival instinct or any sense of spirituality. I would think (always find it a bit absurd, when I use this word) yes. No different from a brain living in an organic body, who's job is to gather energy (food), oxygen for the brain and to reproduce.

What I totally agree with is what you say towards the end. Whenever we accomplish something outside our comfort zone, it does change us in the way you describe. Nevertheless, I'm not sure, people take risks for spiritual growth. Quite often its most likely just for a thrill, an adrenalin rush... Had you challenged the North Sea and you would have actually been trapped in the water rushing in, your perception and (spiritual) experience would certainly have been different, but then again, you would no longer be in a "position" to tell us about it. Which I would find very sad, by the way 😘

Plus, why does something have to be dangerous to make us feel this "immersion" after all? What about creating art or being lost in love?

Still, for me the why is insignificant. Its like riding my bike... I'm fine feeling the power (without knowing how exactly that piece of steel produces it) and the sense of freedom. Although I admit... that it does have the element of danger included. Which I no longer long for, the older I get... becoming more and more aware of my own finity anyways 😎

Dear friend,

no bad thoughts from my side. :)

Life is not a problem to be solved, but a reality to be experienced.

The best answer to your comment cannot be given by me, but by Alan Watts: from minute 30 to about minute 41. Listen to it, it is worth being heard in any case. Even after that, his speech will be really gripping:

I had the utmost joy listening to him. Gives me cheers & peace & inspiration.

To live - to really live - means to lose the fear of dying by learning to fully accept death. An experience close to death is something that can cause it. Rituals can do this.

But if we already become liars on the deathbeds of others and pretend as if father death is not already directly in front of you, we also distrust each other in other matters.

Perhaps you are not meant at all with my article. It is possible that with you "everything is already good". And that is already everything. ;-)

P.S. a curious question: what have you felt after your submarine-experience? And how did others respond to it?

Still trying to concentrate on a difficult part in my current artwork, so I'll listen to Alan Watts later. If it had been a recording by you, of course I wouldn't have the patience to wait ;-)

We had some tricky moments on the sub, but then I guess you pretty much just function. You have a responsibility for your comrades and you are trained to do your job accurately without having to think about it much. Afterwords, there is a feeling of relief, but also of confidence, that we could do what it takes. No actual near death experience, as for us it was normal to stay alive ;-)

I don't think I'm afraid of death per se. Its more of an unsettling thought, that I might not have enough time left to do and create all the things I still want to do...

Interesting what you say. I think it has it in it:

you pretty much just function. You have a responsibility for your comrades and you are trained to do your job accurately without having to think about it much. Afterwords, there is a feeling of relief, but also of confidence, that we could do what it takes. No actual near death experience, as for us it was normal to stay alive ;-)

In order to "simply function", something must precede what you have called "training", which through repetition and reiteration makes fluent action possible without having to think long and hard about how to act.

"responsibility for the comrades": That's a good one. Now, from where do you get this sense? Is it something that you learned there alone? I suppose not, it's a concept you knew already through other occasions but there it all of a sudden becomes real and significant. Where life could be endangered as you approach unknown situations: you'd better be prepared to trust und to be trusted. Then this whole experiences also adds on to be another preparation for your future life events.

"confidence" through this experience. It's a good feeling.

Thanks for bringing that on.

For the unsettling part I guess, you have an answer on that yourself ;-)

And here, you have my voice - a short story written by me two years ago or so:)


Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 195 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @erh.germany! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85