Silence and Stillness: A short story

in #spirituality6 years ago (edited)

🌟 A Story on the Power of Silence, and Stillness 🌟

buddha-buddhism-statue-religion-46177.jpeg
Photo Credit

On day 6 of my Silent Vipassana meditation retreat, I was sitting in meditation one afternoon, focusing on each breath, in and out, in and out; attempting to quiet the mind and observe what is…

Suddenly, out of nowhere, part of a poem was downloaded into my consciousness.

Now, I think it is important to note that I have never been a poet. In my 29 years of life I have written a total of 3 poems, two of which were an assignment for my high school English class. So when these words started flowing to me, verse, after verse, after verse, I sat back and watched in amazement. I was so anxious to write them down, so afraid I would forget, but also so committed to staying in the meditation. So I changed my concentration of focus, from my breath to the lines of the poem, and it just continued to flow. When the meditation was over, I grabbed my notebook and furiously wrote down the words.

When I was finished, I was amazed at what had just taken place. I felt as if I had accessed a new dimension of myself, and I felt so much clarity, and so much gratitude in that moment.

Over the next 4 days, I ended up writing about 10 poems, and continued to find clarity expressing myself in this way and through journaling. (Check out some of the poems I wrote while on the retreat here and here )

Quotefancy-786908-3840x2160.jpg
Photo Credit

Later, I was reading “The Seven Laws of Spiritual Success” by Deepak Chopra, and in the 1st law, The Law of Pure Potentiality, he talks about this occurrence of creative ideas coming to you suddenly. He explains that, when you are in the space of silence and stillness long enough -- when the mind has settled and the majority of the turbulence is gone from you psyche -- it is not uncommon for creative ideas to just come to you spontaneously. He explains that the field of silence and stillness is the same field as inner-connectedness; the field where everything is possible and everything is inseparably connected. He says that once you are in this space, you remove resistance and new ideas will continue to flow to you.

A quote from The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success: "As you gain more and more access to your true nature, you will also spontaneously receive creative thoughts, because the field of pure potentiality is also the field of infinite creativity and pure knowledge.

Franz Kafka, the Austrian philosopher and poet, once said,
"You need not leave your room. Remain sitting at your table and listen. You need not even listen, simply wait. You need not even wait, just learn to become quiet, and still, and solitary. The world will freely offer itself to you to be unmasked. It has no choice; it will roll in ecstasy at your feet."

Since this space of silence and stillness is also the same space where all things are inseparably connected, it is also the space where manifestation of anything is possible. You can compare your intentions to pebbles being tossed into water... first, imagine throwing a pebble into the roaring ocean. With all the splashing and the chaos of the waves, your pebble will barely even be noticed. This can be compared to trying to manifest when you mind is full of turbulence, and there is chaos all throughout your field and space. On the other hand, if you throw a pebble into a still and quiet pond, even the tiniest of pebbles, that pebble (aka your intention) will create ripples that continue outwards and outwards into infinity. This is the power that is behind your intentions when you manifest in the space of stillness and silence.

drops-of-water-water-nature-liquid-40784.jpeg
Photo Credit

So, if you’re finding that you’re creatively stuck, confused, or experiencing a blockage, my suggestion to you is simple. Step away from what you are trying to figure out, go into nature, and be silent. Be still and be one with the intelligence of nature. Practice letting your mind settle and become quiet, and in that space of quiet, do not be surprised if you are visited by clarity and by genius.

IMG_2819.JPG

Until then, I hope you have a beautiful and joyful day. Know that you are loved, and that you are exactly where you need to be.

Thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog. I greatly appreciate any comments or questions, and of course, greatly appreciate every UPVOTE.


If you enjoyed this post, please don’t hesitate to follow
me here on steemit at @rainbowrachel 🌟 🌟

Feel free to follow me on
facebook.JPG and on instagram.JPG

I appreciate all your support. 💙 💙

Sending you my love and light:
🌈 Rachel

33020016_10156129444712419_2090004538764296192_n SMALL.jpg

IMG_2819.JPG

QmTu9wkt59AtjptdMSsohv6jf1zagGv7KpapgGkzbwgPyt.png

I am a proud member of @tribesteemup, a beautiful community of people working together to help make the world a more peaceful, positive, free place. Among us are healers, free-thinkers, teachers, and high-vibe people who are creating great content to help make the world more positive and better for us all. Please stop by the page to check out the group and support the work being created. 💗

IMG_2819.JPG

I’m also a proud passenger on the @ecotrain

Check out the hashtag #ecotrain for more high-quality, high-vibe articles from people working to bring more positivity and forward movement to the world.

Supporting People Who Help
Make The World A Better Place

etrain.png

IMG_2819.JPG


Promo-Mentors Discord Link

Asapers.gif


#silence #stillness #spirituality #meditation #manifestation #story #blog #ecotrain #tribesteemup

Sort:  

Hi Rachel,
That was nice and calming to read, thank you.
Checkout my free Navratri puja guide! https://steemit.com/tribesteemup/@wombloom/fifth-day-of-navratri-puja-with-guided-meditation

Thank you! Glad you are back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84