Doing Your True Soul Work

in #spirituality6 years ago

I believe that we were all put here on Earth for a reason, to serve a purpose. We were given natural gifts, talents, and abilities that are different from the people around us specifically to help us on our journey.

We have a choice whether or not to develop those talents and/or to discover what our natural talents are but that doesn’t mean that we have to take that first leap of faith towards developing them.

Some people spend their entire lives in the dark about what talents they were given. And that is their right, as sad as that is for me to say. One of my greatest desires in life is to convince as many people as I can to focus on developing their talents and sharing them in a way that brings them light and joy to their life.


Photo by Kyle Wong on Unsplash

Many people share a belief that we are given one life to live and then our souls are taken from this world into the afterlife. If that is the case, then why would anyone choose to live a life of mediocrity? Why would anyone choose to live a life that they didn’t enjoy waking up to each day? I just don’t understand it and I mourn for the souls that leave this world having not lived their purpose.

Learning My Own Truth

I never realized until a few years ago what it means to love what you do so much that it feels like you haven’t worked a day in your life. I get to wake up every morning and do what I love to do most and get paid for it. I get to sit and write all day, every day. I’m a full time writer for financial publications and get to work from home when I choose to do so. I don’t really answer to anyone because I pick and choose what I write and for whom.

Unfortunately, not everyone can say that their work is fulfilling and what they feel they were put here to do.

We are taught as children that we need to get good grades in school, go to a good college, and then go out into the world to get a good paying job so we can support a family.


Photo by pan xiaozhen on Unsplash

Once we are out in the world, we likely take a job that puts us in a cubicle for at least 8 hours per day working under fluorescent lights for a boss that probably doesn’t know our name.

We are told to ask for permission to go on vacation and get shackled with a bunch of debt that was accumulated buying things that we thought would make us happy but they don’t. Essentially, we end up on a wheel that is ever spinning that we cant walk away from because we have bills to pay and mouths to feed.

What If It Could Be Different?

What if it could be different? What if?

What if you could wake up every day knowing that it was going to be a good day and knowing that you were doing work that you were called to do? What if you could do your true soul work?

There are people all over the world that have chosen that path. Not all of them have the fancy car or huge house that we were raised to desire but that is perfectly ok. I’m one of those, I don’t have everything in life that I was raised to think that I wanted.

The funny thing is that once I started to do my soul work and live my own truth, I no longer desired the material things that I once wanted. In fact, I live a simple life with very few physical possessions because I have learned to appreciate smaller, uncluttered spaces. The possessions that I do have are good quality and I buy what I need when I need it.

But, I no longer feel the need to buy unnecessary stuff in an effort to make myself happy. Because I AM ALREADY HAPPY!


Photo by Fernando Brasil on Unsplash

And I have no one I want to impress so I don’t need the fancy house or nice car. I prefer to spend my money on courses to learn new things, craft materials for my hobbies, and travel. I love to travel and to have new experiences!

Choosing a Different Path

The opportunities that I have been afforded haven’t just fallen in my lap. I had to go out and seek them. Then, I had to build my reputation as a writer and I still do need to build my rep in order to maintain it.

But, I happily worked the dead end job as a manager in a company that I didn’t believe in because I knew that I was building my escape plan. I knew that one day, if I worked hard enough, I would have the life that I wanted and would be able to live life on my own terms. That motivated me to keep going.

If you aren’t happy doing what you’re doing, then build an escape hatch. Push the reset button. It may take years and you may stumble (I know I did). I can honestly say that I have never been happier.

Thanks for reading,

Ivy

The @helpie community is growing! If you are a community-centered person and want to be part of a great community dedicated to helping others grow then follow @helpie for more information.

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Nice thoughts, and your message resonates. There's a book that nicely supports what you're saying, called The Big Leap. This book literally jumped off the shelf one day, when i walked away from a job. It gave me the courage to follow my heart into a new occupation, where I could put my passion into my profession. Lifechanging!

I'm so glad this message resonated with you. I have heard of that book before but haven't read it. I will have to check it out. I'm so glad that you are working in a new occupation that you feel passionate about, we all deserve to have that. And that experience sounds amazing for you. Thanks so much for sharing! I hope that one day everyone will have this same experience :)
Ivy

Again, we find ourselves singing the same metaphorical tune using different words! Kindred spirits!
Great post (AGAIN!)!
I love that you're sharing these gems!
Blessings
in joy
Nathan
NK

Thank you, Nathan. That means a lot to me! I actually wrote this two weeks ago in my spirit journal and figured it was good message to share :)
I share this message with my friends all the time and try to show them through my own actions that it is possible to live a life of passion and soulful work. I can appreciate that you share a similar message in your own work, it helps to spread the message to more souls that need to hear it. It's wonderful to come across others that really get it and are kindred spirits.
Blessings to you as well!
Ivy

Glorious post. Not so lovely as that first moment of scheming to escape, but after you get started on your path, it never really ends... So more glories yet to come.

Something is happening in the world. Things, places, people are waking up. I'm seeing it everywhere, in all sorts of friends who have never even heard of each other. Oaths taken, and quietly shared, to never be quiet again. It's a grand and lovely day, for bravery.

This is so getting resteemed. Lol.

I agree that it can be difficult to get out of the rat race at first and out of a work environment that you don't want to be in. But it is so very worth it! It is worth it to do work that you feel called to do and to wake up every morning looking forward to getting to do something that you enjoy and can be life changing.

It's beautiful to see people starting to wake up and the energy is shifting all around us. I am constantly meeting so many new people that get it, that just understand what we should all be doing in order to move forward and find others. I am grateful for your comment and for your resteem. Here's to finding others that are awake!
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73