Overwhelming myself with positive vibes

in #spirituality5 years ago

After #thebeast ended (or probably since halfway through it) I felt I was in deep need of some "me time" where I shut the world off and could quite my mind. This is something I always feel I can put off but the sooner I do it the better off I am.

So for two days I didn't really talk to anyone as I dug deep into my inner world. There was a lot I needed to look at.

About two years ago when I was working on the Optimism at the End of the World posts, I was the master of my thoughts. Rather than let my mind run wild and get me into trouble, I could cut off negative thought patterns before they begun. I'm not sure what happened but at some point I slipped.

So now, before I get back to my music and writing, before I get back to heavy engagement with all of you, I'm going to take a week to focus on getting back to this mode.

Checking for bugs in my code

I've decided to do a thought experiment. For one week I'm going to micromanage my thoughts. If negative thoughts come up I'm going to treat them as old programming that needs to be fixed. I won't pretend they don't exist, and I won't force myself to change my stance, but I will look for a more positive way to frame it or I will look for something more positive that I feel comfortable focusing on instead.

A good example is when I started this article, I immediately wanted to say "After #thebeast ended (or probably since halfway through it) I was starting to feel out of my element and desperate for a chance to gather my thoughts. "

Can you feel how that might have changed the whole tone of the article? Do you think that would not have had some impact on my day? So I sat for a moment and thought "How can I say the same thing without being so negative?"

Different from ignoring the issue

(I just wrote "problem"and changed it to issue) compare what I said with what I could have said. I essentially said exactly the same thing. I didn't ignore the issue. I just changed a few words that didn't change the meaning, merely the vibe I was tuning to.

So I'm going to try two weeks ago, as I was inspired to do by a friend who I am trying to bring to the platform. I wanted to share this with you so you may notice the change in my overall mood and productivity as well as how my posts make you feel and maybe it can inspire you to do the same thing.

I've done this before so I know it works. I'm looking forward to seeing how this changes things! Thanks for joining me for the ride!

For more, check out I+Everything

P_20181224_200701.jpg

Sort:  

Well... this here is a deep subject.

The way you see things, what you see as a problem, what you see as hindrances all are rooted in the words we use... when talking to ourselves.

Like TEOTWAWKI. Depending on which words you associate with it, it could be either really scary, or really exciting.

I wish you luck on your inner journey.

It always helps me to remember that positive and negative are merely definitions that I give. It's fine for me to give those definitions, but then when I define something as negative or wrong that already exists in my experience, I'm essentially giving myself a challenge. I need to ask myself is this really a challenge I want? If not I have two choices and my desires and the conditions collaborate to inform me which is the best way for me, I can stop defining that thing as negative, or I can take my attention away from it. Dwelling is no longer an option. Sometimes the challenge is something I'm up for though.

I simultaneously think I understand where you’re coming from and do not really understand the semantics but I don’t always pay attention to how something is being said 😅

Downtime is always good 🙃 how’s the refactoring going so far?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well I've been busy as hell I don't think much of my down time can be considered down time. I move from being busy in my physical life to being busy in my digital Life and then back again

Hi @whatamidoing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.999 which ranks you at #1119 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #96.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17