A Day At The Races

in #sport5 years ago

My hometown of Clonmel have a race meeting every month and myself and my family decided to go as we are on holidays and a few drinks and an old flutter never did anyone any harm......... Oh wait Larry down the road lost his arse after an old flutter putting his house on a horse but apart from him and the thousands addicted to gambling, an old flutter never did anyone any harm.
I never have been to a race meeting in Clonmel. I live around the corner from the course but I was living abroad and in Dublin for most of my adult life so I never really got the chance to go to the races. I do really like the whole industry. There is something really good about Ireland and horses. We treat them like royalty. Watching them go around the parade ring is a sight to behold. Their carers know their personalities, feed them, water them and groom them. Coolmore is nearby which is the one of the worlds most famous stud farms. They have heated stables and the hay that they eat is the highest grade. It is awesome how well they are looked after. Any animal rights activists need to have a look around Coolmore to realise that these guys are the best looked after animals in the world. Some horses look nervous before a race. Some are fine and look excited. Race horses are small in stature and are like supermodels in the horse world.
2q36r1e1p2.jpg

ws5eut4dec.jpg

The scenery around Clonmel racecourse is beautiful. Slievenamon mountain in the background and the Comeragh mountains are behind us. I don't live in a bad spot.

4306gxmwfc.png

The first race the favourite was odds on so I did not back him purposefully. I wanted bang for my buck but the favourite won and that is why he was the favourite I suppose.
The second race we won. My sister bet on a horse who threw the jockey off. He stopped right in front of her as if to say, you shouldn't of backed me. So I recouped my losses from race won.
Race 3 and 4 we broke even. The last race of the evening I was looking through the guide. There was a horse in the guide called Treasure Island. Seen that I am in the middle of a Treasure Hunt with @steemclan I said this was the one for me. The horse was given bad reviews but a trainer called Aiden O Brien owned him and he is not the kind of trainer to own bad horses. Okay ten euro to win. It was 12 to 1.
Treasure Island won easy and we celebrated like we won the lotto. This horse racing lark is good fun especially when you have a few drinks in you. With the race admission, all the bets and drinks taken away I would say we profited 50 euro. No bad for a day out.

8cyrciwpij.png

Treasure Island romping home. You really get into the shouting and roaring to bring them home. It was great!
4ptpowitfw.png

I am looking forward to the next meeting. It is a stones throw away so I might mosey up for a flutter.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi, @blanchy!

You just got a 25.46% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @blanchy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.022 which ranks you at #3412 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 20 places in the last three days (old rank 3392).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

haha! howdy sir blanchy! great fun the races, are all the tracks over there turf? I don't know why Ireland has decent horses, they ain't got nothing else worth a hoot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71