The Current State of the Tennessee TitanssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports5 years ago

Tennessee-Titans-logo-4.jpg
Source

I like to be a positive person so I try to write about the Titans during their good moments, also known as wins. In my probably biased opinion, the mainstream media does enough ragging on the Titans without me, a diehard fan, to add to the negativity.

I don't expect praises for a team that is 5-6, so I definitely understand. I just enjoy spreading positive Titans content.

But despite everything, occasionally, I just want to be honest. With this post I am just going to share some thoughts about what is going on with my favorite team.

It has been another average season for the Tennessee Titans. Despite wins against some very good teams this season, the Titans seem to be constantly shooting themselves in the foot and just overall prove that they are pretty inconsistent and so they are stuck in mediocrity. It seems like the Titans may be on their way to another 9-7 season, I sure hope not worse, but of course that is certainly possible. Sigh.

I watch every Titans game and honestly I believe that Marcus Mariota has enough ability to lead the Titans deep. He just probably can't be our best player on he team. He needs a good offensive line and playmakers around him, plus a good defense (As every good team needs DUH LOL). But what I am saying is, is that Mariota could definitely thrive in a good situation, he won't usually be the reason we lose. Mariota is solid and the Titans should stick with him and try to really keep building the roster around him.

mariotahawks2jpg-fe83dba7afbe353f.jpg
Source

I haven't had this much hope in the Titans' ability to have steady solid QB play since Vince Young, and then his career went down the drain. So really I haven't been this excited about a QB in Tennessee since Steve McNair, and I'm only old enough to remember the second half of his career.

The Titans had a couple of decent years at QB sprinkled throughout the past decade but those quarterbacks were past their prime and people knew because of their age that their was no future in those guys. Matt Hasselbeck and Kerry Collins for example gave the Titans solid seasons at QB but they were both on the back end of their careers, in their late 30's.

The Titans defense this season has been good. The biggest flaw is probably in the secondary yet again. They could also be better at stopping the run sometimes. But all in all the defense is actually pretty good mostly. Not that many complaints.

I believe the Titans biggest two problems might be the the running game first, and secondly, the offensive line.

RB Dion Lewis is pretty much being forced to be the number one back and I honestly don't think that role benefits his skillset fully. I believe in an ideal situation he could thrive as the number two back, catching screens and just playing in space as much as possible.

I don't believe that the plan going into the season was for Dion Lewis to be the feature back. I believe he was meant to compliment RB Derrick Henry. Derrick Henry, the running back I anticipated would be the starter and more of the in between the tackles back. Henry has not always shown the ability to have enough shiftiness or quickness to be a number one back. I also don't really believe the Titans coaches have given him a good enough opportunity to play enough and get solid reps in the game to get in a rhythm.

I knew these two backs were going to share carries coming into the season, but now it seems as if Dion Lewis is more of the primary back and Henry has taken on more of a second option role at RB. The running back position has just been rocky in general. Totally out of wack.

Another aspect of the team that has been struggling is the offensive line. Mariota was sacked 11 times against the Ravens. Like what is that? The o-line can't really seem to even be able to open up any kind of holes for the already struggling backs to run through.

Mariota would be much better off with a better running game, as most QBs are. It is a shame too, that the offense isn't more balanced because Mariota and WR Corey Davis have shown really good signs together. If the team was more balanced I believe the Titans could have a much better record.

Wide Receiver, Corey Davis
Tennessee-Titans-Corey-Davis-2.jpg
Source

The Titans need to draft a stud running back next year, or something.

But before I get carried away and talk about next year, I should still talk about this season, because the Titans are still clinging onto their playoff chances.

At 5-6 the odds are slim, and the Titans really need to run the table to really have a chance. I don't think a 9-7 record will be good enough this season to make the playoffs.

The playoff chances for the Titans get even worse considering that the Texans are almost certainly going to run away with the division. Also, the Titans have losses against three key teams that are ahead of them in the wildcard race.

The Ravens, Chargers, and Colts. The only silver lining there is that the Titans play the Colts again, as they are in the same division.

But the crazy thing is, the Titans could possibly run the table. The Titans have a rather weak last five games of the season. As long as they play well enough and don't get lazy, it is certainly possible. The MUST take every single game seriously.

Every NFL game is difficult but I can dream...

The Titans play at home against the Jets today at 4. The Titans certainly SHOULD win that one.

The Titans play at home against Jacksonville on Thursday. A Jacksonville team the Titans have beaten three straight times. A Jacksonville team that looks like a shadow of its former self. The Titans SHOULD win that one.

On 12/16 the Titans play the other New York team, this time they will travel into the city to play the Giants. The Giants are mostly struggling this year. I would like to assume the Titans could pull that one out with a win.

On 12/22 the Titans play the Redskins at home the Redskins are somewhat tough but they have been hit with injury bug HARD and have been struggling a bit. That is definitely a winnable game.

To end the season on 12/30 The Titans are in Nashville to play the Colts. Well sheesh, out of these final 5 games this team gives me the most stress and reason to worry. The Titans really got beat up when they were in Indianapolis a couple of weeks ago. There are a few silver linings with this game. It is in Nashville where the Titans tend to play better. The Titans hopefully will be motivated after getting torn apart by them last time. IF IF IF the Titans end up 9-6 by the time they play the Colts, hopefully there will be chances for a playoff birth with a win and that could be even further motivation.

In an interview recently LB Wesley Woodyard expressed his desire to win out the rest of the way. He brought up the year Aaron Rodgers lead his Packers team to his Super Bowl Championship. That year the Packers got hot to finish the season and made the playoffs and obviously the ended up winning the Super Bowl. Woodyard said everybody fears the team that gets hot to finish the year.

Its easy for me to say they could win out, it is not easy to win 5 straight games in the NFL no matter how easy or difficult the schedule may appear on paper. Being a football fan is brutal, anything can happen. The hopes for my team could be crushed as soon as tomorrow.

But all I can do is watch and support the Tennessee Titans, as I have done since I was 8. As I will always do until the day my heart stops!

LETS GO TITANS. GET FOCUSED FOR THIS FINAL STRETCH OF THE SEASON. FOR THE BOYS.

Sort:  

Being a giants fan a 9 and 7 season sounds pretty good.
I agree with your assessment of Marcus Mariota.
Getting a quality running back would help him out immensely.
The franchise looks to be in pretty good shape if they can make the right moves in the next couple of years.

Yes I suppose I should be grateful my team is ok. I sure hope this team is closer to greatness than I think. I am nervous for today! Thanks for commenting :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by adhammer95 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98