Dave Mirra: A great dude I knew with a tragic end

in #sports6 years ago

Maybe the name doesn't ring a bell because he wasn't famous in just all circles. But he is likely the best BMX vert ramp rider of all time. He held the record for most X Games medals in BMX freestyle. He also got a medal in every single X Games from the year they started. He had multiple video games made about him, had his own Adidas shoe, was on the Tonight Show and the Dave Letterman show, hosted a couple of MTV series, and was even featured in an episode of "Punkd." So yeah, people knew him.

He was also my friend.

index.jpg
not a bad looking fella either

The special thing about Dave, other than the obvious things like being the best at something that is already awesome is that he was a really nice guy. He was famous and yet he spent a lot of time hanging out with normal people... like me for example. I was never involved in the BMX circuit, i wasn't rich, i wasn't famous, i didn't even grow up with the guy and therefore he felt obligated to hang out with me. I was just a guy that happened to live in the same town as him and he never let his fame go to his head. I found that very cool about the guy. He was actually very shy.

In Greenville, North Carolina, there isn't much in the way of international things to get excited about. It has a medium sized college that used to be good at football (they are frustratingly bad now) and the population is too small for any real concerts to come to and there isn't even a big enough airport to really fly anywhere. Just not much happens there.

Dave could have left us all after becoming the best at BMX. He was rich. He had A-list celebrities inviting him to parties in Hollywood, the world loved him and all he wanted to do was hang out with us in pokey little Greenville.

max_mirrasuperman_124569.jpg
he is credited with inventing many moves. This is called "superman"

I was a bartender at a local pizzeria and bar that was quite popular with college students. Dave would come in there just like any other customer, often times he would come in alone. There were some instances where he would have a massive entourage of fellow bikers but for the most part, it appeared as though he didn't want to be treated differently because of who he is. He would often try to conceal his appearance - frequently wearing hats and pulling them low and he NEVER wore any biker stuff to give away his identity.

I'll never forget one night that he was at the bar and tried to start up a conversation with a girl next to him. She was rude to him and blew him off (it's a college town, it happens to all of us,) Dave was cool about it, and embarassed like anyone would be, he never blew his cover or said something douchey like "don't know you who I am?" He just took it on the chin like all of us that have ever faced rejection.

74a02f6515aeb76c3b7f274c24b2264f--got-milk-ads-print-advertising.jpg
he was extremely shy about this photo shoot, and was embarrassed about the advert

He was also incredibly generous. He would routinely just pay for everyone in the bar... food, drinks, everything. He would just tell me to "clear everyone's tab" and i would do so. He didn't make an announcement, he didn't want recognition, he would just pay, get up, shake hands with his pals and the staff, and go. He later donated one of his bikes that he had competed on to the bar... It was displayed with pride in the bar for many many years next to a signed poster.

Speaking of which. There was one year that i was having financial problems and Christmas was coming up. I needed gifts but had no money. No, i didn't ask Dave for money, i never even mentioned the financial problems because I am sure he would have immediately given me cash... not what i was looking for and I am not that kind of person....

I asked Dave if I could get him to personalize some posters for me. He invited me by the bike shop the next day and provided the posters and personalized every single one. I don't know if any of the people I gave those to still have them, or if you did what you should have done and framed it, but that is probably going to be worth some money if it isn't already. It now occurs to me that Dave would just hang out at the bike shop, with the staff, talking about just whatever. It wasn't a promotional event, he wasn't being paid, he just wanted to hang out at the bike shop and talk about normal stuff.

05c736235f7fe1052af343a5213bf4de.jpg

He donated a lot of his time and money into building the BMX scene in Greenville. There are now massive training parks with some of the best gear in the world because of him. Greenville is now home to over 20 pro BMX riders and is referred to as "protown" in the BMX world.

The world needs more people like Dave. I mean, to just be kind to everyone.... why can't more people be like that? Why can't I be like that. Maybe i should be

I think if i was to strike it super rich, it would be tough for the fame to not go to my head a little bit. It never happened with Dave. He was just an incredibly kind soul. It is just so tragic how it ended and I am sure there are many people that knew him that feel a tinge of guilt for not helping him or even knowing that he needed help.

Dave committed suicide on February 4th, 2016. I couldn't believe the news when i heard it. I had already been overseas for a long time and hadn't spoken to him in years - we weren't best buds or anything but that was what was so special about Dave. You didn't need to be best buds for him to be nice to you. He is certainly a lot kinder than I am.

I can't believe there was a sad person on the inside of the always funny, happy-seeming, generous, exterior that he presented to all his friends. I hope that people can remember the good things about him because he was truly a great dude.

maxresdefault.jpg

Sort:  

I had only heard of Dave through some information presented by Jimmie Johnson a while back. He was on this CTE kick. Otherwise I don’t follow the sport. Such a tragedy for him and his young family. Something I pray I never have to fully appreciate. I came across an article that I am sure you have read. Very interesting back story. Lauren, his wife, had his brain tested for CTE after his death. Positive for it. I suppose there is still many discussions about wether or not CTE is linked to this kind of stuff or not .. but how can’t it be? My opinion. Anyway here is the link to that article:
https://www.outsideonline.com/2056326/last-days-dave-mirra

Sorry for the loss of your friend. :(

thanks pal. and yet. there is a lot of discussion about precisely what you posted and i've read lots of it. Thanks for responding and thanks for reading.

No problem. It’s always a pleasure reading your material, it’s sparks my curiosity. This is a topic that definitely needs more chatter in blogs. Sometimes I wish my superpower was knowing these tragic things would happen before they happen so I may be able to stop them. But I don’t have any superpowers. Just a mouth and ears for any of my depressed friends.

My soul touched this story, the truth deserves to be shared thousands of times, I have always thought that good people like Jesus Christ are going so fast from the earth, so young, that great guy, without a doubt debiting us, or rather, deserved to live longer, to show us that he could be the best of all, although it was for many

I'll never forget one night that he was at the bar and tried to start up a conversation with a girl next to him. She was rude to him and blew him off

Whaaaat? He has a great deal of self control and humility i give that to him

He was also incredibly generous. He would routinely just pay for everyone in the bar... food, drinks, everything. He would just tell me to "clear everyone's tab" and i would do so. He didn't make an announcement, he didn't want recognition, he would just pay, get up, shake hands with his pals and the staff, and go.

Awwww...He is so my kind of guy

The world needs more people like Dave. I mean, to just be kind to everyone.... why can't more people be like that? Why can't I be like that. Maybe i should be

Actually why cant we all be, why cant i be too,though i try,but i can still do better, and no i dont think i will let the girl leave without knowing who i am(covers face)

Dave committed suicide on February 4th, 2016

Wow..im sorry for your loss, the worlds loss

Im sorry i just lost my words i rather stop here

R.I.P to Dave

I hope that people can remember the good things about him because he was truly a great dude.

I hope so too...

P.s(edited)
I did not see the title well when i started to read, so i was a bit excited, but along the way i met that...

Oh, but why now! The story started well, it shouldn't have this kind of ending. Why suicide?

Actually I don't know him, but reading about his type of being when he was with us has imputed in me some kind of love for him. I love people that value people more than position. I love natural giver like him...

I can't believe there was a sad person on the inside of the always funny, happy-seeming, generous, exterior that he presented to all his friends.

People like him are always like that, they want to be good to everyone, but it is always difficult for them to find someone who is genuinely good to them. They want to make others happy, but they don't always find that one friend that would make them feel the same

So, they end up carrying their burdens all alone, with no one to share with. It is not always easy to be a celebrity, because nothing kill faster than it. Everybody sees you as someone without problem, whereas, you have your issues to deal with.

I'm sure, he would be remembered for long, he has sacrificed all to give Greenville a name, a recognition even in the map.

Now about you

You are rich and you are already creating your own story too, we cannot all be Dave Mirra, but we can still touch lives no matter where we find ourselves.

You are one of the reasons why someone like me have hope of a better tomorrow in steemit, so you are super rich too.

Thanks you for sharing with us such a touching story....

Wow...Dave really was a nice guy. It is very cumbersome nowadays to to be rich and famous, yet remain humble. The rejection part with girls is kinda inevitable, he probably didn't blow his cover because then the girl would be into him because of his money and fame. It's actually a smart move. However, it's sad how gentle souls like Dave sometimes end their own lives abruptly. Similar case happen in my community, a funny, friendly, and petite lady who always smiled and helped friends like Dave also committed suicide in her room on university campus. No one really knows what pushes them to these extreme situations. May their souls find peace.

That must be a very good guy.... Why does the earth always swallow the good guys and leaves us the bad ones. If Dave lived such an examplenary life, he should be one to look up to for his good deed.

Most times, people tends to hide their sorrow and just want to be happy. Life is more difficult for stars than normal people. People expect so much from them. RIP to that great guy, Dave.

Dave was a really cool and nice guy. The kind of personality I will like to have even if I was the richest in the world. It then got me asking, what later happened to such a nice man? Why do good people even die?

Only God really knows what his reasons were for this action. But lesson here for all is that ‘it is not only to think it is all well with others. It is also very important to actually ask how they feel’.

Rest on Dave. I really hope people can remember the good things about him.

First of that Im really very sorry for that to heard about him and I'm so sad for him, and for you too because he was your Friend, maybe he was a friend all of us as good sports man, and now he is left us, we and you should be pray for him, and I'm also wondering how can he suicide because he is famous and rich was related to high figh society then why? Why he did that? Why he gone to left us? Why why why? Well sorry for that, well i like your feeling for him and you wrote a article for him and share with us, I especially thanks to you for this

I’m so socked about the tragic end, you see the good ones don’t last , but his good deeds lives on . I noticed the usage of {was and that has kept me wondering why}

The world needs more people like Dave. I mean, to just be kind to everyone.... why can't more people be like that? Why can't I be like that. Maybe i should be

Awww this part touches me and make me wanna be a good person, I’ve been but not enough. Only people like dave could make the world a better place. I must say he’s a real G as we say in my country.

Why can't I be like that. Maybe i should be

Believe me you’ve been a good person likewise myself, maybe you only need to do more. I can categorically tell you’re a good man cause I’m a living witness of your daily impact , both in knowledge and financial support through upvotes of comments. You might not know this but you’re putting food on my table. So you see you’re a good person afterall

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85