Vintage Sports Illustrated & Golf Digest MagazinessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports5 years ago

I have been cleaning out a guest closet using the philosophy of the best selling author, Marie Kondo. I ask myself, "Does this item bring me joy?" For many things, I can comfortably say, "No joy."

image

I came across a stack of magazines that I ordered with some magazine miles that were about to expire. I am not a sports fan, but I decided that I needed to brush up on some sports information. In addition, I had recently purchased some golf clubs because I had taken some free golf lessons at a resort and I really enjoyed the game.

image

I subscribed to Golf Digest as well as Sports Illustrated. I never read any of the Sports Illustrated magazines and I flipped through a couple of the Golf Digest magazines. I was more interested in the Southern Living, Readers Digest and Better Homes and Gardens magazines.

image

As I was placing the magazines in a box for me to take to my local thrift store, I thought about whether any of the magazines might be valuable to a sports fan. I googled a couple of the issues and was surprised to find that one magazine was selling for $149.00 "if" it was autographed. Many of the other magazines were also selling for various amounts of money that was nothing to sneeze at.

image

I realized that I have old books and magazines that are valuable to me that I would never sell because they are collectibles and have special meaning to me.

I let one of my sisters know who sells different things on Ebay, Etsy and Amazon. I am going to mail her the magazines so that she can make some money with them rather than gift them to the thrift store. I still have plenty of other things from clothes to household appliances, that I will be gifting to the thrift store.

Moral of this story is, check before you throw it away or give it away. One man's junk is another man's treasure.

kfz7b6l754.jpg

Sort:  

Excellent review @jluvs2fly, you are right, for whom a certain thing is simply not needed, but for someone it can be very important in life!

Totally agree with you, we may have a lot of things that may be worth something and I already remember what I have! Thank you @jluvs2fly

I think you are right there are things that can not be parted, they keep the memory

This is for sure. For someone, this is rubbish, and for someone, joy for life.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I used to absolutely love SI. Was nothing like the feeling of buying a new edition with your favourite team on the front cover.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70