World Cup - We Have First Semi-finalist

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

Uruguay 0
France 2


Russia-Football-World-Championship-World-Cup-2018-3373558.jpg
Source: Max Pixel


This was kind of expected, in my opinion.

When you look at both teams' rosters...

It's obvious that France has better players.

No one can deny that.

And also when you consider Uruguay's best player got injured last game.

It's obivous why France was a big favourite in this match.

But, I cheered for Uruguay.


Go_Uruguay!_-_Arriba_Uruguay!_-_140619-6398-jikatu_(14307280607).jpg
Source: wikimedia commons


I watched few of their games...

And I liked them.

They don't have that much stars, but they play tough and with "heart".

Before this match, they only conceded 1 goal.

And it was a lot because of their great defence lead by Godin and Gimenez.


U03_Diego_Godín_7525.jpg
Source: Wikimedia commons


Two great centre-backs from Atletico Madrid.

And behind them, there was Muslera.

Who played a great tournament.

I'm really sad he made that mistake on the France's 2nd goal.


France_national_football_team_2018.jpg
Source: Wikimedia commons


Game was pretty even, to be honest.

It's interesting that France had only 2 shots in the goal frame.

And they scored both of those.

Statistically, they were pretty even, too.

I wish Cavani hadn't injured.


20171114_AUT_URU_4550.jpg
Source: Wikipedija


The game would've been a lot more interesting, imo.

First goal was scored by Varane after a free-kick.

He scored a header at the end of the first half.


Raphael_Varane_-_France_v_Armenia_(2).jpg
Source: Wikimedia commons


2nd goal was an unlucky one.

Pretty unusual, but Muslera made a bad mistake.

Griezmann shot from 20+ meters right into Muslera.


27915311980_648cb7b4f2_z.jpg
Source: flickr


And the ball changed direction a little bit, and Muslera couldn't retain it.

It went behind his back, and sealed Uruguay's faith.


France is procceeding in the semi-finals.

They are awaiting for the winner of Belgium - Brazil.


Belgium_National_Team_vs_USA_2013.jpg
Source: Wikimedia commons


That game is being played right now.

And the score is 0 - 1 for Belgium.

This part of the bracket is loaded with great teams.

I excited to see who will get into finals.

We basically have 3 teams that were favourites for the gold medal.

And now, they are fighting for one spot.

It'll be really interesting, in my opinion.

If I had to make a bet, I'd say Brazil will go to the finals.


Brazil_men's_football_team_2016_Olympics.jpg
Source: Wikimedia commons


But first, they have to pass Belgium.

And Belgium has been one of the best teams so far.

Sure, they almost lost to Japan.

But, they have a great team, and have been playing great so far in the tournament.

Sort:  

First game is starting now.

I think France will win.

Congratulations, your post received 21.93% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @johnz14! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

HI @johnz14, as we know semi final match is how much important of any tournament,Semi final means one step towards champions but in FIFA
all match are most important.
congratulation to France and Belgium to play a wonderful previous games.

Super proud of my South Americans, they left everything. I have nothing to reproach, I think that they faced the possible champions of this cup, very complete teams, France vs Belgium I think that from here comes the next world champion

Brazil played great, but you need a little bit luck to win in games like this.

I agree that Belgium and France are great teams, but I think Sweden/Croatia can make a surprise.

Messi,Ronaldo,Neymar shop are closed now . France is a good competitor
team spirit looks good , remind me 2014 German squad . But how Belgium won with Japan and Brazil looks time is in their favor . If any new team win world cup 2018 in my option that will be Belgium

I agree with you.

They are in a momentum now after beating Brazil.

It's not the same when you beat the favourite for winning and beating injured Uruguay.

They can beat France for sure.

yes yes yes , belgium will be champion of 2018. It was my prediction before WC start

They are No.3 in in FIFA ranking

LOL!

I'm so happy Brazil lost after they were cocky after the match against Mexico.

Germany was my favorite when the world cup started but now I will bet on France and Belgium

I will bet on those two aswell.

I was really disappointed by Germany.

I really thought they would play better than they did.

France for me are playing with the venom of losing out Portugal at the Euros final. They're motivated and have a very good young squad.

Croatia is playing like that, too.

They lost to Portugal in an unlucky fashion, and they are really motivated.

They want to repeat success we had in France 20 years ago.

But, I can't deny has a great and talented team.

I definitely can see them winning this tournament.

Good to see You guys win tonight. Rooted for you against the hosts. A great team you've got to emulate the 1998 Golden Boys.

Not sure if I'd stick with you guys against England. Lol

But my heart always for Luka Modric 😍 ♥

Before start FIFA WC , I predicted belgium will win WC and belgium is going to forward. what is your prediction?

Belgium was one of my favourites, too.

But, since I'm from Croatia, I have to be subjective and say that Croatia will win.

Croatia won against Rusia, what a game, Ivan rankitic 😘and Luca modric 😘best midfielders in the world.

@johnz14 Was an amazing match last night. Great played by France but Uruguay was a tough competitor

You got a 56.75% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @johnz14!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25