Body Glove Performer 11' Paddle Board SUP from Costco ONLY $399 Review

in #sports6 years ago (edited)


Body Glove Performer 11' On Amazon

Body Glove Performer 11' @ Costco

The past few summers I've had the pleasure of renting Paddle Boards while on vacation or at the beach. I love Paddle Boarding and have been wanting to buy one, however wasn't sure I wanted to spend $1,000 or even $1500 on a paddleboard.

This summer I noticed Costco had some good deals on boards. They had a hard board for $299 that I was about to buy, however after looking into getting a roof rack and realizing that was gonna cost a few hundred bucks more I decided to look into inflatables. I was initially kind of skeptical of how firm and sturdy an inflatable board would be, but after buying this one I was very impressed, very little difference between this and a hard board.

I bought mine from Costco for $399 which is a steal for an inflatable board, most others start at around $700 and go up to $2,000. Body Glove is a good name for reliability and quality and because Costco is so good about their returns, I knew even if I was unhappy with this board I could just return it and buy a hard board. I bought this from Costco online as this was not available in stores.

The board comes with pretty much everything you need to get started, you get the board, a 3 piece paddle, a leash, and the pump. The only other thing you really need to buy is a life jacket and you may want to buy an inflatable pump as this thing is a bit of a chore to pump up. The only real complaint I have about the board and a complaint I've heard from others is that the pump is kind of cheap. When buying a pump make sure your pump has a "Boston Valve" which is the type of attachment you need to attach the pump to the board. I'm planning on getting an electric pump just to make pumping the board up and deflating it a bit quicker and easier. I took the board out on my cousins boat this past weekend and it was a pain in the butt trying to pump up the board on the back swim deck of her boat while it was rocking.

Overall I'm very happy with my purchase. While there is a little teeny bit of sacrafice in getting an inflatable board ie it doesn't track quite as well, doesn't turn quite as well, and may be slightly less stable, the convenience of being able to pack this thing up in a backpack and throw it in the trunk of a car is worth the sacrafice to me. Also at home it's very easy to store, you can throw it in a close or under the bed.

If you have questions about this board feel free to drop a comment below...

ORIGINAL VIDEO POSTED HERE

Sort:  

Love inflatables. Have inflatable kayaks for the river here and still prefer them over hard kayaks. Be aware they may start leaking in about 2 years if they are like my kayaks from seyvlor.

I'm actually in the market for a kayak. I saw menards had them on sale for like $149, they aren't the best kayaks and are a little heavy but for the price thought it wasn't too bad. an inflatable would help me not to have to get a roof rack though

That setup looks really convenient in a lot of ways. If I lived around the water I would probably get something like that as well.

Yeah the whole backpack setup is really convenient. I go to this one beach called Grand Mere State Park, its about a half mile walk through the forest preserve, then you pop out of the woods at the base of a giant sand dune. YOu have to climb about 4 enormous sand dunes for about a quarter mile and then get to this awesome beach. the hike is a fairly tough one especially with this but its doable and a great beach once you get there

That sounds pretty epic! I miss lake Michigan and the dunes.

You ever come back to Indiana to visit? If so let me know next time your comming back, I'd take a drive to meetup and hangout if your down.

I was supposed to be going on a trip out to Arizona late summer early fall but looks like its getting pushed back to maybe next spring.

This summer I'm gonna try to hit up Charleston SC later this summer, then had an unexpected trip to Aruba pop up, my gf's friends family sold a property in Chicago, used to be their family house a 3 flat and used to be a shitty neighborhood, now its yuppie central so they got a couple million for it. They gave the daughter ie my gf's friend like 450k and stupidly rather than investing it or putting any away or buying a property she quit her job and has been pissing away the money traveling for the past 8 months one trip after another and basically taking along people who imho are kinda using her.

Anyhow, she rented this over the top house with its own caves and grotto, each bedroom has its own wading pool, the place looks insane. I guess she rented it and was like whoever wants to come your welcome to. It happens to be the day after my girls brothers wedding so I think a bunch of us are gonna fly down there for a few days

I'm hoping to be back to Indiana sometime this year. I'm actually selling this property in Arizona so are sort of caught up here for now with that situation.

That is pretty crazy with the whole Aruba situation. Sounds like your gf's friend is ball'n out of control for the time being.

Where you moving to? Staying in the area and just moving to a different place or you looking to shake things up and move somewhere?

Don't mean to get too personal but do you have a day job or are you completely independent and hustle? Reason I ask is I'm looking to kind of change what I'm doing and maybe sell out my portion of my business and do more independent stuff. Feeling kind of rushed to make a house purchase while I can still show my business and income as opposed to leaving my business and then trying to buy a house showing like 100 different 1099's from Youtube, various affiliate programs, etc imagine that would make getting a mortage a huge headache so just curious your experience on that front.

If you wind up heading back to Indiana to visit this year I'm sure you have a ton of stuff to do catching up with family and friends but if you wanna meetup lemme know

I'm planning on spending some time back in Indiana for a little bit and then I might spend a month or two out in Seattle with a friend. Then I really want to focus on traveling the world. I have wanted to do that for a long time.

I don't have a day job. I just hustle and work on my own businesses. As you know it is can be really tough. My mortgage is $1,570 / month and it is just me so especially when stuff isn't going as well it can be stressful for sure but I almost have this property paid off.

I thought you just bought that new property that you did the liner in the crawl space?

So what I actually did on this house purchase was something non conventional. I did what is called a mirror wrap around mortgage. There is something called an agreement of sale in Arizona where you can wrap someone elses existing loans so you don't have to originate new loans. Mortgage amortization is basically rigged to chew people up in interest at the beginning of the loan so wrapping existing loans can be one way to get around that. It is harder to find someone who would be willing to do that now. I did it when there was a high percentage of people getting foreclosed on here and the people I bought this place from were 13 months behind.

Yeah I would be down to meet up for sure once I get back there. I would actually like to go up to Lake Michigan and check that out again.

Your a fascinating dude @brianphobos . I really have to give you props for supporting yourself off hustling. I think I'm sometimes a bit too cautious, my business was doing really well for years and I was still to chicken to make the plunge to go fulltime until 3 years and the business was doing 6 figures so I really admire you having the balls to do your thing and live your life on your terms.

That's interesting about the mirrorwrap mortgage. Do they still vet your credit and go through underwriting or do you literally just take over the loan? I know when I was buying my house here it was a big headache providing proof of income for the mortgage. Fortunately my business has been around a few years and I had a few years of tax returns but I make a decent amount off youtube and they didn't wanna count that which i kinda understand because its a 3rd party thign, because income isn't super consistant, etc.

While I am an "entrepreneur" I honestly feel more like an employee or a worker. I don't really live the Entrepreneur lifestyle or at least what my image of that is. I'm pretty much in the office 9 to 5. Because I worry about teh business and because I dont want to put a burden on my partner I probably wind up taking less time off than when I was working a job and I have a hard time leaving work at work.

I did buy a house somewhat recently. My first house was a duplex I bought in my early 20's moved in with a couple buddies, a few years in my folks moved to Charleston so I rented my house and moved into their house and rented it when they were away to help them out. DId that for a few years and then about two years ago bought a new place.

I'd like to build up a portfolio of rental properties so currently I have one rental and also have a home I live in. I'd like to buy a house in or around Charleston SC rent it for the next year or two and then eventually make the move down there. Real Estate down there is appreciating so fast A. I see an opportunity to make some money and B. I feel like I need to buy something before I'm priced out of the area which is already happening to an extent.

It's really amazing 5 or 6 years ago when my folks moved down there it was a relatively cheap plaec to live in terms of real estate and cost of living. Now, shit man for like 200K your lucky to get a 2 bedroom condo and were not talking luxury condo, think your average mediocre suburban apartment complex ie ugly exterior, cheap finishes inside etc, your lucky to find a 2 bed 1 bath for 200k or even 230k. The area I'd like to live Mt Pleasant I'll do a search on Zillow and you cant find a SFH under like 400k maybe even 500k. For 250K you'll get a trailer in some swampland if your lucky lol.

I try to spend most weekends out at lake michigan. 2 of my favorite spots are Weko Beach in Bridgman Michigan. Less crowded than chicago, sand dunes in the background, some great places to hike a campground and they have a dog beach a ways down.

Another nice spot is Grand Mere State Park in Stevensville. I'll occasionally hit up Indiana beaches but it just kinda turns me off being in the water and seeing the gas refinery and all that stuff nearby, I do love hiking the dunes nad stuff in that area or even just going and sitting at the beach there but not my favorite area to swim.

Geeat experience. I also like paddleboard so much.

This post has received a 5.85 % upvote from @boomerang.

You just planted 0.07 tree(s)!


Thanks to @rulesforrebels

We have planted already 4180.26 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18882.81
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34