Chuck Liddell Announces That He’s Coming Out Of Retirement

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

So it is official folks, "The Iceman" has announced that he's coming back to MMA, and no surprises here, he wants to fight none other than Tito Ortiz again. Many people have mixed opinions on this as Chuck is now 48 years old, and when he did retire originally, it was because his chin had deteriorated rapidly and he was getting knocked out far to easily, which ultimately led to him walking away from the sport for good, or so we thought.

At first I was strongly against the idea of Chuck making a comeback, but after listening to him on the MMA hour the other day, he may have changed my mind, he assured Ariel that this was not a decision taken lightly and has gone through, and will continue to go through multiple medical evaluations before stepping into the cage.

He also mentioned that if CM punk who is 0-1, can fight Mike Jackson (Also 0-1) in the UFC, why cant he compete again? It's hard to argue with that to be honest.

After warming to the idea of seeing Chuck fight one more time, he then goes and drops the Bombshell that he wants two or three more fights, and that if he were to win the first two, he would want the third fight to be none other than Jon Jones, which is absolutely insane.

Unfortunately this is where he loses me, I think if he thinks he can beat Jones at his age he has to be delusional in some sort of way, which makes me think maybe he shouldn't be fighting at all, I'm firmly on the fence yet again.

Chuck on the MMA Hour (Full Interview)

Thanks for checking this out, I'd be very interested to hear everybody else's thoughts on this, everyone I have spoken to has mixed views, some for and others against. Let me know what you think below.

MMA News

UFC - https://bit.ly/1NjwknG

MMAFighting - https://bit.ly/2xGscQC

Sherdog - https://bit.ly/1ehRJg8

MMA Junkie - https://bit.ly/NDhm3D

Bloody Elbow -  https://bit.ly/2r6tpfn 

MMA Youtube Channels

MMADigest - https://bit.ly/2GVjH6y

UFC - https://bit.ly/1OPuIoL

MMAFighting - https://bit.ly/1Gl4Gr8

MMA Junkie -  https://bit.ly/2rchsWH 

BellatorMMA - https://bit.ly/2HAFYel

UFC Pay-Per-Views  - http://www.ufc.tv/events

UFC Rankings - http://www.ufc.com/rankings

Upcoming events - http://www.ufc.com/schedule/event

UFC Fight Pass Free Trial - https://www.ufc.tv/packages


Sort:  

This should be very interesting...hope he doesn't ruin his legacy as many fighters have done in the past... #goodluckICEMAN @blockchainherbal

If Iceman is medically cleared and understands the repercussions of sustaining more concussions then I say let him go for it. I would tune it for sure. What if they started some special events like a UFC legends league where only vets or fighters 40+ could fight..?

Chuck cant hang with Jones, that's a joke. Sure it's fighting and one good strike can finish a match but Jones..lol

That would be wild, although I feel like Bellator is already the UFC Legends league haha.

Haha so true!

It's a mistake for someone that old to be fighting professionally again. If he fights someone his own age, that mitigates the risk, but the fact is that MMA is a young man's game and Liddell is no longer a young man. I hope he's not coming back because he needs the money.

Yeah man same, I hope he just has the Tito fight and maybe Chael, but only if the Tito fight goes very well for him.

Yea man it’s absolutely crazy, I listened to him on the MMA hour a few days ago, I couldn’t believe it. I’m actually excited though, I shouldn’t be, but chucks my favourite fighter and I remember staying up with mymate 15 years ago to watch chuck vs Tito 1!!! Crazy how time flies. But he’s been retired for 11 years, that’s so long.
I would still love to watch him fight Tito again I’m not gona lie, I’d watch it and it will be so exciting for me as I was so it’s the ufc back then during the chuck and Tito era.
It’s madness! Chuck vs Tito 3.... who you got?

Also, let’s just say chuck looks great, knocks out Tito again, fights chael and knocks him out, the. Calls out jones, who says yes (he’s already expressed interest in fighting chuck) how can it happen? I mean, can it happen? Not in the ufc? Or maybe.... ahhh the thoughts are going wild!

Man I'm completely with you on that. I mean if he goes out and knocks out Chael and Tito, why wouldn't the UFC give him a crack at it, It'd sell for sure. I almost feel guilty for getting excited about it all hahah.

As long as it’s a competitive match up I’m cool with it, just please PLEASE do not ever fight Jon Jones

I concur, nobody wants to see that...

Absolutely, Jon Jones is way to much competition for him at his age.

I am a newly converted UFC and MMA fan and I know I'm not yet qualified for an opinion about the particular case, but this as a phenomena is one of the reasons why boxing has lost so many fans in the last decades. Why do the same mistakes.

Awesome man, welcome to the best sport on earth ;) it's extremely addictive.

Thanks man. I figured it out already the addictivenes thing ;) In fact Ilir Latifi brought me to this sport. Back in the 70s street fighting was really popular in my hometown. Old school guys use to call it "fair fighting".

Even if his medical tests come back perfect I would still be against him coming back. He carried on fighting a few too many years as it is.

And the whole business with him and Jones is nuts.

Loved Chuck at his peak, but hopefully we don't see him in action again.

I'm on the fence, I feel if he wants to he should be aloud, but I think him fighting Jones would just be insane, it'd be so dangerous.

I am definitely against it, I don't see what it will achieve. Who'd be up for watching a Chuck fight? Yes the Tito match up will probably cause a stir because of their history but I doubt too many people would actually go out of their way to watch it?

.

Hey man, I was moving into a new place so was super busy, it was so hard to find motivation haha.

That Karate kid kick was wild, we'll see that in highlights for years, I think it's only the third ever one landed in the UFC. Looking forward to getting back to action, gonna try get consistent with my articles again.

Dear where are you i donot catch since a week you are busy?

Hey man, I was moving into a new place, been super busy, thanks for noticing ;)

Ohh that's nice dear

Totally ridiculous.

The disappointment of watching two very-much-former greats making a shitshow of a match will dwarf any nostalgia that would sell the tickets in the first place.

I'm sure they are in great shape for 50 year olds, but that doesn't mean much when you are comparing to peak condition 20-35 year olds.

Speed, power, sight, reflexes... it all declines as we get older.

Agreed, and their chins are super weak now too, I think if he fights Tito i wouldn't mind to much, but anyone young I think would just be ridiculous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97