ALEX RODRIGUEZ and Yankee-statman's opinion on "The best Yankee Third baseman of all-time".

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

Welcome my fellow Steemians to this report on the Yankees greatest ever third baseman. Of course I write here primarily on "the markets" which was my profession, but it is baseball that is my passion. I write of the stars of my era and those I read of
long before I arrived on the scene.

I came across an internet article on this topic and it is an interesting one for true New York Yankee historians.

07arod-master768.jpg

Many "old-schoolers" just don't accept Arod. Is it the steroid issue? Is it his personality?

In Yankee history many of the 9 position spots have a clear number 1. Some do not, like second base and third base.
Looking at the stats, Alex Rodriguez is number one. He played better than half his career in pinstripes and hit 351 home runs in New York. He is the statistical leader at the position. But if you ask the fans, they say Graig Nettles, some even Clete Boyer.

Nettles was a real fan favorite as well as a terrific ballplayer.

34104803_10155790587744480_7815605327730049024_n.jpg

34184882_10155790588489480_7709048254268178432_n.jpg

Nettles above worked magic with the glove. He had great hands and great reaction. He could hit as well. He had about as many at bats with New York as Arod (Nettles came over from Cleveland in trade) and hit 250 home runs but only a .253 Batting avg.

Nettles was one of my favorites of all-time, a funny guy. He once said "I always wanted to ply pro baseball and join the circus. With the Yankees I've done both. That was the Steinbrener - Billy Martin era.

Nettles ( and I'm biased) is my choice. Those who say Clete Boyer of the mantle era was a lifetime .242 hitter, moderate power fabulous glove. Many pick him 4th. Then there was Red Rolfe of the Gehrig 30's. He is in the Hall of Fame! By today's standards he wouldn't be considered.

Thanks for the visit. Do you have an opinion? Why not share it. UPVOTE,FOLLOW,RESTEEM.

Sort:  

Always really enjoy your sports posts!the money related once are sometimes to technical for me. Went to the Yankees once

lol...That's what I enjoy the most! I'll do more of them, thanks..

Interesting post. I really like alex rodriguez cause its a great baseball player! @yankee statman

Great read thanks statman! Didn't know about Nettles or Boyer. As a Laker fan I know how it is to constantly come to bat for your polarizing best player on the team hahaha.

thanks man....and keep up your great posts!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75