Should Transgender Women Be Able to Compete in Athletics?

in #sportstalk5 years ago (edited)

This is a touchy subject, and one that is quite polarizing. My goal in writing is not to offend anyone, but my opinion may not suit yours. However, I do believe everyone should be able to celebrate who they are.

People seem to fall into one of two categories and there does not seem to be an in between for people.

The first group believes that transgender women should not be able to participate in women's athletics, even if they have adopted a policy of keeping their testosterone at the appropriate levels for the preceding 12 months. They claim that the person still maintains some of the benefits of years of elevated testosterone that cannot be eliminated by reducing testosterone in the future.

The second group suggests that transgender women who receive testosterone treatment for 12 months lose all their androgen-derived advantages. Therefore, join women's sports at much the same level as they left men's sports.

Or I forgot a group.

The third group who hollers about how they should be able to compete because they want to sound politically correct.

Scientific evidence to the extent that I have been able to find has not come to a conclusion as to which of these positions is correct. However, looking at how competitive many of these athletes were as males compared to after their transitions leads me to believe that they are approaching these sports with an advantage over many other females. Yes, their performance does take a hit due to lack of testosterone, but I do believe that some of the genetic advantage they have is not erased.

D7dgMLLXsAA2Xex.jpg

Source: NCAA Division II @NCAADII Twitter Page

The first example is that of CeCe Telfer, who participated at Franklin Pierce, a Division 2 University. CeCe Telfer ran at Franklin Pierce as Craig Telfer for 3 years and was at best, mediocre. He never qualified for nationals. However, in her first year CeCe won nationals in the 400 meter hurdles and took 5th overall in the 100 meter hurdles.

Factors like her height would have been an advantage, particularly in the event of hurdles. For females, the hurdle height is lower than for males and CeCe was physically taller than many of her female competitors and had a benefit from that (in my opinion).

Listed to the right I've got his and her best times, from what I could find and CeCe had little to no slowdown in many of the events she'd taken part in. The hurdles are smaller, as a reminder, and this could make a difference. Nonetheless, I've had a hard time believing that she didn't have an advantage because she'd never been close to qualifying for nationals and then wins the 400 meter hurdles two years later. I also have a short clip from one of her races from this past year.

The next example is June Eastwood, a cross country runner at Montana University. She hasn't dominated and most likely won't be a national champion. Nevertheless, she is more competitive this year as a female athlete than she was when she was on the Cross Country team as a male athlete in 2017.

Johnathan regularly ended many of his meetings between the 30th and the 60th. Nevertheless, her first year which allowed her to compete with the women she placed 7th, 2nd and 1st respectively. Two years have gone by, and yes, improvement is going to happen. Yet looking purely at how successful she was, it seems that she may have retained some of her biological advantages.

These are a few examples as to why I think it is not fair. If you disagree with, or agree with me please let me know! I would love to have a discussions about this topic so that I can get a better understanding of why people believe in the position they choose. If you want more examples of why I don't think it is fair let me know and I can provide quite a few more.

Sort:  

I’m tempted to side with forgetting to be PC and say this sounds a touch unfair. Lower hurdles and no todger to knock them over with 😁

Have there been any women making the switch and wanting to compete against the boys?

The only person I know is Chris Mosier. I don't know much about him prior to his transitions. He is a triathlete, fairly good, as far as I know.

That's exactly what I was going to say.
Competitively its unfair, thats a simple fact of life and perhaps a skeleton in the closet but it's unfair not just because of the advantages they have physically but because it's unfair that female to male transgender athletes are at a disadvantage in their chosen gender of races. Why should one TG have competitive advantage over another?

The only answer to this is to have races for TG athletes m to F and F to M. Problem solved, everyone happy. I really don't buy into this testosterone measuring nonsense but I also see the need for equal opportunities.

On a similar vein, I would never have let the South African Sprinter Oscar Pistorius compete.

I fully agree. People worked for years to have a protected space for females to compete on a level playing field and now so many people are willing to toss that level playing field aside in order to try to not offend a portion of the population.

I agree with Oscar Pistorius as well, he competitive disadvantage(his start) but was able to obtain a much high top speed then others. How we measure if that was overall disadvantage or advantage for him?

Whats the fastest way to a million quid. Get rid of your willy and beat the girls at their own event. Wouldnt be for me but I know some people that would sell their right nut for a couple of grand. This is just taking it to extremes. In future there may be an event of their own like the para-olympics. Think the world is getting too PC. If you wanna be a woman fair enough. But womens events should be off limits. Compete in the mens . You will be more streamlined without the mickey.

You don't even have to get rid of your willy!

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations @dzboston33! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10