Werder is back after been laidoff by ESPN

in #sportstalk5 years ago

Ed Werder who is 59, was one of the big names that was involved in ESPN's mass layoffs two years ago. The company announced on Monday that he has been called back to cover Dallas sports for a variety of programs, such as SportsCenter and NFL Live.

We’re happy to bring werder back in this new role, where he can continue his wonderful work on the NFL and spread his wings in other sports as well.
ESPN executive vice president for event and studio production Norby Williamson said. "To have a journalist with Ed’s experience and storytelling ability join our outstanding group of bureau reporters makes us immediately stronger."
Ed-Werder-e1565623381457.jpgsource

In an interview with NBC Sports' Peter King, Werder said he believes his return to ESPN signals a journalistic commitment for the organization.

"It says they’re emphasizing good journalism," Werder told King. "I really feel relaxed and good that we’ve striked a deal, and it’s final, and now it’s just the gladdness of doing the thing or work that I know I can do best and justifying the expectations that I have created for myself. I intend to.

"When you were somewhere for 20 years, and you have allies in the building, and you never lost your love of the place, and you have dialog with a lot of people there over time, I hoped there would be an opportunity to return."
ew-780x405.jpgsource

I am looking forward to being back on the team where I feel I most belong,” Ed Werder said in a statement. “I’m grateful for this great opportunity once again and also thankful to all the people who have made it a possible. It will be tremendous to again be covering great stories and events with an ESPN press credential.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90