Climbing Stairs on a Chinese Ghost Festival Night....

in #sportstalk5 years ago (edited)

9atp2ehv4x.png

Yes, you got that right!

I came home late last night after work, only to realise that all the lifts in my block was not working!

Taking the emergency staircase and realising that some of the stairs the lights were not working, and finally decided to walk the other open air staircase (that God for that) and went all the way up to my floor which is almost at the top of a 21 storey building!

Yes... of all days, on the Chinese Ghost Night Festival... this happened.

The Chinese Ghost Night Festival is like Asian Halloween that falls on the lunar month of 7 and the day of 14; where the Hell Gates will open and all the souls will lurk out and visit their relatives and friends.

It's like a New Year Festival for the underworld.

And most of the time, horror stories will come out from it. haha.

How was the staircase climbing experience?

It started when I parked my car at lower ground and then realising that the lifts were not working. I checked with the community chatgroup and they confirmed it was out when the thunderstorm came.

Somehow it got the lifts in trouble? Not certain on that.

Anyways...

Stairs has less trouble for me ever since I hit the gym as much as 3 times a week on the treadmill and steps-machine, and half of the time I am less bothered by the darkness.

So it wasn't really a problem for me, to be honest. It was a good time to see how I do with my computer bag and packed food bag on me (that added another 2kg on my back)

I detoured away from the open staircase that was at the other side of the hallway as there were some young punks (they look like early 20s) smoking at the other side and grumbling about the faulty lift since I didn't mind the lights... until I came to the 7th floor, which I thought it was only just one light bulb gone...

I passed through 2 floors just with the flash light on the darken emergency stairs, and then came to realise that 11th floor onwards it was even darker (which means more lights were gone)

And then, when I wanted to exit the 10th floor... the emergency door will not budge...

I looked down and wondered did I have to go back down through the darkness...

And God came to the rescue when the 9th floor's door was fine.

Only to realise I have never come to this floor before and some of the lights were out too...

at 1030pm....

... which gives a bit of an eerie feeling as the wind blow through the very quiet hallways.

But it doesn't matter. The outer staircase is airy with its fresh air...

Until I came to the 17th floor of the outer staircase lights were gone too.

Interestingly that the opposite building was perfectly fine. haha

Good thing is that because it is outdoors, the opposite building's light were still on. Imagine if it's cross midnight and most of the tenants are asleep with their lights off.

Imagine the total darkness and quietness of my block...

On a night where it is told especially the lost souls will lurk around looking for "food" presented at the streets....


By the time I reached my floor I am relieved to reach home. I did sweat but I wasn't dead tired...

Which means gym is doing good for me, and my body is adjusting. Time for more workout because the muscles are starting to feel complacent.

So that's all for today's sharing.

What I learn from all this is:

You got to stay fit, and be ready for the stairs if you live in a multi-story building.

And of course, don't work late on a Ghost Festival night. You might scare people walking pass their home like the angel of death on a Passover...

haha.

Hope you enjoyed reading this workout experience I have last night.

Until then

Thank You for Your Time

mini-jess-smile-128.png

Sort:  

I was going to go out late last night and know I am glad I did not! This is one holiday I believe in. You have some very creepy photos in this post. Good for you to make it to your destination safely!

Haha. Yeah. I knew it can creep some readers out but we'll it served a really good (experienced) story to tell 😝

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, very eerie. Great job with it :)

Ah ha ha... This post has served its purpose then

Posted using Partiko Android

Good alternative cardio exercise💪💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha... And what a way to motivate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I never knew about this day the Chinese celebrate! actually, I know very little about Chinese holidays and traditions, would love to know more. I bet they have accumulated a lot thru their 3 thousand year history!

and God came to the rescue when the 9th floor's door was fine.

this was the best part!

and packed food bag on me (that added another 2kg on my back)

this looked like the worst part for me. see, I have no lift at all in my building (thanks God, I live at the 4th floor). so, instead of a gym, I have an everyday up and down transportation of my bike. it is 13 kg. some days are worse - when a bag with food from the store (2kg) is added... so I do understand you!

ps. you have absolutely beautiful watermark on your pics. I think I should steal this (idea, not the actual mark ))))

Haha. 4 floors is becoming a norm for you as my office is only 3 storey up.

But 20 storey is another whole different ball game all together.

Probably I can do once or twice. If I do it daily I can climb the tallest mountain in South East Asia anytime haha.

The watermark is my business logo, @craftsofluv 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Hi @littlenewthings!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.041 which ranks you at #3808 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 124 contributions, your post is ranked at #78.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You've received an upvote from SteemXP Community.

SteemXP Curation Guild is dedicated to the growing Southeast Asia steemit communities. To support and promotes new and promising authors, original and good content from Southeast Asian Nations Member Nation. Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Philippines, Myanmar (Burma), Cambodia, Laos, Brunei.

Check out our Website, Join our community on Discord and support our mission by following our curation guild.

Vote SteemXP Witness @bitrocker2020 using this link

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71