Mixed feelings about changes to @sportsvoter delegations

in #sportstalk5 years ago

There have been several posts written on the economics of SportsTalk recently, in particular with regards to the payouts to @sportsvoter delegators. With the incredibly high payout of SPORTS tokens to delegators, it has contributed to a decline in the value of SPORTS tokens. As a result, @patrickulrich issued a change to the parameters of the delegation from liquid SPORTS to powered up SPORTS.

Mixed feelings about this change

On one hand, I'm happy about the price of SPORTS recovering since this change. I do believe this should have been the approach from the start, or at least something like 50% liquid and 50% powered up.

However, it does concern me as an investor that the economics of the system wasn't clearly thought out from the start and changes are being made on the fly without clear communication and without warning to delegators. Personally, I withdrew my delegation from @steemmonsters (which took 5 days) and just put my delegation to @sportsvoter expecting to receive what was communicated by the original post. And with the powered up SPORTS, obviously the delegation isn't as appealing now, considering the 9 months power down. I don't mind too much as I'm active here and on the Steem blockchain, but I do think the process is very unprofessional and communication should have been better. As changing delegations is an opportunity cost of 10 days, for removing delegations to and from @sportsvoter.

I just hope we learn from this situation, and changes are better thought out in the future, with some feedback from the community, and if there are to be changes to existing systems, that these changes are communicated more clearly in the future and with some adequate warning prior to new changes taking effect.


Fluz is a new app that gives you cash back when you shop. But unlike most other cash back apps, you ALSO EARN EXTRA CASH when your friends + their friends shop. You can download the app here


Binance, the best exchange to buy and sell Steem and other cryptocurrencies


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

I can understand why delegators might feel a bit hard done by, but if the current market is anything to go by the change is a good one.

It's got to be tough to get the economics of these new environments right from the start.

Yes, hopefully the market responds, but I feel it’s more than just the delegations. The price of SPORTS has been driven up due to the high inflation and post rewards. It’s a pretty high market cap for a tribe. But hopefully there will be more innovations to sustain the price.

Posted using Partiko iOS

there are issues but a lot are just doing their own thing and not communicating with peers so it loses a "team " feeling , consensus is a thing O.o
I agree with a lot you say

Yeah, hopefully communication improves.

Posted using Partiko iOS

If whales are making multiple accounts then I'm advocating for smaller people to self upvote at times without fear. It's been a free for all with little rules other than those of the jungle and that being said I'm uv my comment. I have one account on here but seeing nobody cares how much you get out I'll probably do another one too. Thanks so much for the upvote and sentiment :)

Yes, I don’t see anything wrong with self voting. Voting our own posts that we’ve put some effort into compiling is totally fine in my opinion, as long as it’s not hundreds of spam posts.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75