Well that was fun!! Another 1/2 marathon complete.

in #sportstalk4 years ago

Screenshot_20191006_162550.jpg

So, yes... I managed to finish the Cardiff half marathon! I actually rather enjoyed it.

Now I had already expected to finish much slower than I planned. This was because I promised to help a "friend" complete his 1st half.

IMG_20191006_093132.jpg

And just to prove "my friend" existed, here we both are at the beginning of the race.

Let's not confuse this race with your average everyday jog. There was a few casualties along the wayside, and I hope they are alright.

Me, I did suffer my first half marathon injury:

IMG_20191006_134157.jpg

Once you realise that's the inside of my t-shirt, and once you realise that that is blood, and once you realise where the blood came from!!! You'll understand I was in agony for the last 4 miles... The constant rubbing of the t-shirt caused friction and made my nipple bleed.

So has this put me off?? Oh heck NO!! sign me up to the next one

IMG_20191006_164248.jpg

This years finisher medal and t-shirt are one of the best, glad I picked mine up. You'll probably see me out rinning in it later this week.

download.png

Sort:  

Wow! Very inspirational, congratulations!

Oh no, that injury!! Vaseline next time?
Congratulations btw!

Definitely something! It's the first time I've ever suffered from this affliction!! Hopefully the last Hahaha 😂

Congrats man. A marathon effort :)

Never heard of bleeding nipples though. Damn, that is some hard core chafing! You better get some better protection for those delicate man boobs next time.

EDIT : Apparently it's quite common and many runners put bandaids over their nipples. Who knew?

Well I clearly didn't.... Well I did, but never thought it would happen to me.

Imagine constant sandpaper + pin pricks constantly for the last 5 miles. Some people pay lots of money for that kind of crazy shit.

WOW, Great Job @welshstacker Blood and All !!!

Appreciate it buddy. I've got 364 days left to grow a new one, ready for next time!

Congratulations @welshstacker! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79