The First Sign of Spring

in #spring5 years ago (edited)

image

These yellow flowers are the first sign of Spring in Korea.

They are called Gaynari in Korean. I like to call them golden bells. My son and I took a walk through Ewha University where we saw these flowers today. Although it is cold the air has been clean the past few days . It makes me feel like going outside and exercising so that's what I did. It beats having 504 blues.

image

My son drew this picture when we came home.

He based the drawing on one of the buildings in Jongro we visited. When we took the elevator to the top floor a security guard followed us out. My son thought the security guards were cool so he drew a whole bunch of security guards on his building.

image

image

image

I would have no idea what was going on in his mind if he didn't draw these pictures. I recommend a big drawing board for everyone especially kids.

Love
@mineopoly

Sort:  

Yea, glad you have signs of spring! I love you son's picture! I recommend drawing also. My little 4 year old great niece only draws pictures once in awhile when I am babysitting her. She has a great imagination and an oval can be just about anything! Perhaps in the future she will be able to draw what she really wants it to look like or she could be a mathematician minded person like me who can't draw much! :)

The kids need as many ways to express themselves as possible. Whether it is speaking, reading, writing, drawing or math the same rule applies for parents and teachers and caregivers to give the kids a safe environment to grow. When our kids first learn to speak we don't throw a bunch of grammar rules at them. We are just happy they can say something. The same should be with writing and math. But we have a tendency to say, "What are these scribbles?" My son comes up with some really interesting answers for math problems. Other people have a tendency to say, "No, that's wrong." So he gets frozen. Very few say, "That's interesting. Can you show me how to get that answer?"

Recently I read Lucy Calkins book about raising lifelong learners and found that I was trying to teach kids how to do math problems like I did instead of helping them to think. The book would have helped me a lot when my kids were in preschool. Still it is never too late to learn.

Oh I like that question! “Can you show me how to get that answer?”

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28